Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 01:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-6.0 beta 2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 48 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2128
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:05    Post_subject: slacko-6.0 alpha
Sub_title: running internet apps as spot
 

When I first booted up Slacko one of the options in the first run
settings is to "run internet apps as spot", I checked that box.
After seeing James success with getflash I am now running firefox as
root and the flashplugin is working fine.

I first reported this back in Slacko64, problem is still there but not
as bad as Slacko64 because firefox runs well as spot apart from the
flashplugin problem, in Slacko64 running the browser as spot slows
connecting to web sites to a crawl.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:07    Post_subject:  

James

From CD, does it boot fast? That is.. is it reading the CD for the Puppy_slacko-5.9.1.sfs or the hard drive? CD=slow, HD=fast boot. Maybe the hard drive drivers aren't getting loaded in initrd. Is it a new hard drive or motherboard? (thinking along the lines of hard drive controller).

BTW, logs seem ok.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:11    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Not a save issue. Latest Tahr builds and this Slacko will not boot a fresh frugal install (no savefile). Immediate kernel panic. Will boot from cd with savefile though.
Yep. Edited my post. Left 'save' there as those logs are relevant for that circumstance too.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:18    Post_subject:  

Obligatory screenshot.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.37 KB
 Viewed   478 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:24    Post_subject:  

me wrote:
From CD, does it boot fast?


Just to add to this. Hide any save files made from slacko and make sure puppy_slacko-5.9.1.sfs is on the root of a partition. Boot of optical drive with no pfix= params. Does it load the main sfs of the CD/DVD or the HDD? Again, I should be able to tell from the logs so if you don't mind post them from that scenario please.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:26    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
James

From CD, does it boot fast? That is.. is it reading the CD for the Puppy_slacko-5.9.1.sfs or the hard drive? CD=slow, HD=fast boot. Maybe the hard drive drivers aren't getting loaded in initrd. Is it a new hard drive or motherboard? (thinking along the lines of hard drive controller).

BTW, logs seem ok.


Just copied the main sfs and zdrive to the partition (instead of a folder), rebooted cd and successfully booted.Seemed a bit slow.

Same old mobo and hard drive ...did add a second hdd but using sda only for Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 01:45    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
me wrote:
From CD, does it boot fast?


Just to add to this. Hide any save files made from slacko and make sure puppy_slacko-5.9.1.sfs is on the root of a partition. Boot of optical drive with no pfix= params. Does it load the main sfs of the CD/DVD or the HDD? Again, I should be able to tell from the logs so if you don't mind post them from that scenario please.


Moved the main sfs and z drive to different partition(Mint partition actually), hid savefiles and.booted cd with no parameters.

Looks like it picked up the puppy_slacko_5.9.1.sfs from sda2 and not the cd.
logs-puppypc21020.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  logs-puppypc21020.tar.bz2 
Filesize  1.79 KB 
Downloaded  25 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 02:08    Post_subject:  

Ok, we can determine that the driver for the hdd is loaded too late. That driver should be built into vmlinuz (and in tahr is probably missing from init.gz). Output of lsmod and lspci -nn will be handy now to figure out what module to make a builtin. Thanks.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 02:11    Post_subject:  

As an experiment, did a frugal install directly to the root of sdb3, quick fix of menu.lst and it boots no problem.

If i follow my normal procedure of putting all files in a folder ....immediate kernel panic.Root of the partition...... no problem.
logs-puppypc15212.tar.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  logs-puppypc15212.tar.bz2 
Filesize  1.5 KB 
Downloaded  32 Time(s) 
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.42 KB
 Viewed   436 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 02:13    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Ok, we can determine that the driver for the hdd is loaded too late. That driver should be built into vmlinuz (and in tahr is probably missing from init.gz). Output of lsmod and lspci -nn will be handy now to figure out what module to make a builtin. Thanks.


Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
iptable_mangle           897  0
iptable_nat             2596  0
nf_nat                  9469  1 iptable_nat
xt_conntrack            2338  4
ipt_REJECT              1502  1
nf_conntrack_ftp        3994  0
nf_conntrack_irc        2316  0
iptable_filter           769  1
xt_state                 796  0
nf_conntrack_ipv4       7221  7 nf_nat,iptable_nat
nf_defrag_ipv4           800  1 nf_conntrack_ipv4
nf_conntrack           38525  7 nf_nat,xt_state,xt_conntrack,nf_conntrack_ftp,nf_conntrack_irc,iptable_nat,nf_conntrack_ipv4
ip_tables               6897  3 iptable_filter,iptable_mangle,iptable_nat
mperf                    804  0
snd_hda_codec_realtek    41728  1
serio_raw               2986  0
pcspkr                  1248  0
k8temp                  2352  0
nouveau               592450  2
mxm_wmi                 1032  1 nouveau
video                   9539  1 nouveau
ttm                    36701  1 nouveau
drm_kms_helper         23699  1 nouveau
drm                   138938  4 ttm,drm_kms_helper,nouveau
i2c_algo_bit            3732  1 nouveau
shpchp                 18062  0
snd_hda_intel          17282  0
forcedeth              42067  0
snd_hda_codec          57223  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               3804  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            26252  0
snd_mixer_oss           9788  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm                47741  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc          4802  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_seq_dummy            912  0
snd_seq_oss            19048  0
snd_seq_midi            3117  0
snd_seq_midi_event      3633  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi            11986  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                32202  6 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_midi
snd_timer              11650  2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device          3589  5 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_midi
snd                    34220  12 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_pcm_oss,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_device,snd_mixer_oss
soundcore               3347  1 snd
i2c_nforce2             4009  0
i2c_core               12539  5 drm,drm_kms_helper,i2c_algo_bit,nouveau,i2c_nforce2
wmi                     5812  2 mxm_wmi,nouveau
thermal                 6132  0
evdev                   6295  0
button                  3391  1 nouveau
processor              22393  0
thermal_sys             9703  3 video,thermal,processor
hwmon                    886  3 k8temp,nouveau,thermal_sys
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 02:14    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Ok, we can determine that the driver for the hdd is loaded too late. That driver should be built into vmlinuz (and in tahr is probably missing from init.gz). Output of lsmod and lspci -nn will be handy now to figure out what module to make a builtin. Thanks.


Code:
#  lspci -nn
00:00.0 RAM memory [0500]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Memory Controller [10de:0547] (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge [0601]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 ISA Bridge [10de:0548] (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus [0c05]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 SMBus [10de:0542] (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller [10de:055e] (rev a2)
00:02.1 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller [10de:055f] (rev a2)
00:04.0 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 OHCI USB 1.1 Controller [10de:055e] (rev a2)
00:04.1 USB Controller [0c03]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 EHCI USB 2.0 Controller [10de:055f] (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 IDE Controller [10de:0560] (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device [0403]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 High Definition Audio [10de:055c] (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Bridge [10de:0561] (rev a2)
00:09.0 IDE interface [0101]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 AHCI Controller [10de:0550] (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 Ethernet [10de:054c] (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge [10de:0562] (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge [10de:0563] (rev a2)
00:0d.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge [10de:0563] (rev a2)
00:0e.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge [10de:0563] (rev a2)
00:0f.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge [10de:0563] (rev a2)
00:10.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge [10de:0563] (rev a2)
00:11.0 PCI bridge [0604]: nVidia Corporation MCP67 PCI Express Bridge [10de:0563] (rev a2)
00:12.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation C68 [GeForce 7050 PV / nForce 630a] [10de:053b] (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration [1022:1100]
00:18.1 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map [1022:1101]
00:18.2 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller [1022:1102]
00:18.3 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control [1022:1103]
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 02:17    Post_subject:  

Testing is fun........ Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 02:26    Post_subject:  

.
Screenshot(1).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   67.31 KB
 Viewed   413 Time(s)

Screenshot(1).jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5866
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 02:44    Post_subject:  

Other than the minor kernel panic problem things are working pretty well.....
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   66.17 KB
 Viewed   415 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2128
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 18 Jun 2014, 03:10    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Other than the minor kernel panic problem things are working pretty well.....


Just wondering, if you go to "/setup/QuickSetup first run settings" and
check the "Run Internet apps as spot" box, does it break the
flashplugin and cause Firefox to crash?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 48 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1032s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]