Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 02:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to configure DVD Puppy Save file to use the whole drive?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 15:42    Post subject:  How to configure DVD Puppy Save file to use the whole drive?  

Here I am with my old Dell 3000 (2GB RAM with a Celeron processor) desktop. I have tried several distros on it and for the most part they are slow. I can hear my internal HD chugging away.

At the moment, I have full install of Puppy Lucid 5.2.8 on my sda1 partition. Crunchbang is on my sda2 partition. I tried running puppy from DVD and it flies. It's fast and responsive. My only issue is that I keep running into low personal storage issues even if I create a 2GB save file.

I run Audacity, Chromium, Filezilla and Asunder and that's about it. I use the versions that come with 5.2.8. Is it possible to use my sda1 partition as my save file so that I never run out of space, or is there a better way to go about this?

I have my Audacity Data folder out of my Root directory. I don't want anything saved in my root directory if I am to go back to the frugal way.

With the Full install, is Puppy still running from RAM or is it now HD dependent like any other installed distro?

If I can overcome this frugal bottleneck I keep running into then I would be very happy using this old Dell.

By the way, my persistent shares are all working great with YASSM so at least I have that working.

Thanks for the advice and suggestions!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8160

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 16:12    Post subject:  

Lucid has the use a partition as a save option..might suit you.

2GB seems a lot...is chromium causing that?

software loads to ram to run... what's happening with a frugal (assuming enough ram) is that the source of the binaries are in ram rather than being read from the hard drive which is faster to do so. Also temp files in program use are also handled in ram... in short for the most part ram is playing the part of a hard drive removing a data bottleneck in data execution.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 16:27    Post subject:  

I think it may be chromium and audacity that are causing the save file indicator to always go into the red.

I'll try the use partition as a save file option and see how that goes. When I was running from a frugal install, my save file was originally 1.25GB in size. Almost immediately I started getting low RAM warnings so I increased the size to 2GB with the same result.

I still have the 2GB save file that I can start up from. What should I look out for when it comes to what is draining the save file? Should I be using a lower resource browser?

I'll keep playing around and see what I come up with. I would like to startup from the DVD and just use Puppy without having to worry about save files etc... It's fast and works for me if I can get these issues resolved. Smile

Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 21
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 17:01    Post subject: Save File  

Hi rmcellig when I mouse over my save file on the task bar of my full install precise 5.6 it shows 15 gb personal and free space 13 gb. When asked to make a save file I declined somehow. Then your free space is as large as the partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8160

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 17:13    Post subject:  

If running from a dvd either multisession or no save at all then your ram becomes the save space... that can run out quickly.

Bird Dog..that does sound like you chose save to partition option ......

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bird Dog

Joined: 15 Jun 2014
Posts: 21
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 17:23    Post subject: Save File  

Thanks mikeb.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 18:19    Post subject:  

My sda1 partition is about 55GB in size. Could I not just create a large save file? Something like 10 0r 20GB in size or does this not make sense.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8160

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 18:33    Post subject:  

Hmm you want sense do you.

Well sense comes in the form of the save folder which has finally been adopted for puppy but that would only be in new releases. Just tidier then the save being in the root of the partition which is not so clever for co existing.

Big save files....well big to backup and since they have been known to corrupt it does seem a lot of eggs in one basket even after going through the measures needed to create one.

Why not just make a save partition something to your liking..say 10GB just for the pup. I am not 100% if the present setup allows the pup_sfs to be in the same partition either.....

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 18:51    Post subject:  

Thanks Mikeb!!

I agree with you regarding pup save file size. Maybe another approach I can take is to see what is taking up all the space in the save file and how to fix that.

What should I look for that might be causing problems? Like I said previously, I tried saving the audacity-data folder outside the root directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 394
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 19:03    Post subject:  

rmcellig wrote:
What should I look for that might be causing problems? Like I said previously, I tried saving the audacity-data folder outside the root directory.


Look here, with Gdmap you'll easy find the guilty:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=62110

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rmcellig

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 922
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 19:34    Post subject:  

I tried gdmap before but what I mostly found was chromium related. I wasn't sure if I could just delete the files, most of which resided in the /root/.cache directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 394
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 20:10    Post subject:  

Ask Google if it's possible to change chromium chache location.
I don't use it so can't tell.
With Firefox and Qupzilla it easy.

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dk60902


Joined: 26 Sep 2010
Posts: 223
Location: In front of my computer

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 20:51    Post subject:  

I'm running 5.2.8 off a CD on an old Presario 2195us Laptop. I have a 512mb save file. I use Firefox as my browser. Initially, I was noticing the same thing in that I would get low storage messages. What helped me was limiting my cache size on the Firefox Browser to 4 mb or less. I'm not sure how to change it on Chromium. Next time I'm on my Windows Box, I'll see if there's a setting in Chrome to change it. Once I set the cache to a low limit, I don't get those low memory warnings.

Other than the native programs that come with lucid, I only have Firefox and flash installed. Anything I save goes outside my save file.

_________________
HP P6115y/AMDX2 2.5 GHz/8GB RAM/750GB/WinVista Home Prem SP2 64 bit Dual Monitor (Saluki23 w/ Compiz, Slacko533 PAE w/ Compiz on USB stick)
Compaq Presario 2195us 1GB RAM Lupu 5.2.8.5 off CD/Retired WinXP 4/8/14
Nexus 5 (rooted), Lumia 820 WP8.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8160

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 20:56    Post subject:  

apparently chrome cache size is a command line option I was told...user friendly stuff.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1512
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 20 Jun 2014, 20:59    Post subject:  

rmcellig,
Just a suggestion: Since you are starting fresh with lucid 528, why not begin with the latest version, for which there is some hope of continued support/maintenance. I am the person providing support, so "5.2.8.6" is the version that would get fixed if any problems arise. Look for its thread in the Puppy Projects section of the forum (Lucid Puppy Revitalized).

If the standard variants of it suffice, you can stay with them. However, the most comprehensive variant is "lupusuper2" which supports the same hardware as precise pup, including dialup modems, and also supports the recent developments on file compression options (xz). If you plan to invest a lot of your time in a lucid installation, either of these will be more satisfying than the older 528-005 or earlier.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [23 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0746s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]