Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 15 Dec 2017, 18:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
A workable way to install skype 4.3 in puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 18 [266 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1497
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2016, 01:10    Post subject:  

I have tested working skype 4.3 in slacko64-6.9.6.4 using the tahr pulseaudio-4.0, qt-4.8.5-i686-stripped_5.6.1.sfs, the 32 bit compatibility sfs and a few missing libs which you can take from puppy tahr 6.0.5 (libPNG12 needed,...).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 429
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Thu 24 Nov 2016, 18:57    Post subject:  

Try skype-4.3.0.37.sfs by loading it with SFS-Load-On-the-Fly. This version uses apulse, all components included. Works well on Tahr 6.0.5
Double check your audio settings (Capture).

here is more about the ALSA PulseAudio emulator :
https://github.com/i-rinat/apulse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3038
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 29 Aug 2017, 09:58    Post subject:  

skype-4.3.0.37-apulse-slacko14.0.sfs is still working despite MS warnings that it would expire end Jul 2017.....

I have a new webcam with a usb mic
Code:
# arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: VT1705 Analog [VT1705 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: CAMERA [USB2.0 PC CAMERA], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

How should I change /usr/bin/skype to use this usb mic?
Code:
# Uncomment and edit the next two lines to select your audio devices
#export APULSE_CAPTURE_DEVICE=plughw:1,0
#export APULSE_PLAYBACK_DEVICE=plughw:1,0
i.e. what value for APULSE_CAPTURE_DEVICE=?
_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1497
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue 29 Aug 2017, 10:30    Post subject:  

I would try:

Code:
# Uncomment and edit the next two lines to select your audio devices
export APULSE_CAPTURE_DEVICE=plughw:2,0
#export APULSE_PLAYBACK_DEVICE=plughw:1,0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue 29 Aug 2017, 12:01    Post subject:  

Skype as we knew it is dead. Microsoft bought it and no longer supports it for Linux. There is a Skype for Linux available but it is not a good substitute at all. Works though

EDIT - From the Slackbuilds site..."**Important notice**

All Skype for Linux clients version 4.3 and older will be retired on
July 1, 2017. To keep chatting, please install the latest version of
Skype for Linux -- the new 'skypeforlinux'"

Also, 32-bit is not supported anymore at all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 10:57    Post subject:  

I believe 32-bit Skype for Linux has just been killed off, finally. I can't even get it to launch any more: splash/login screen and then nothing. It was working last week.

No big loss but I'd like to confirm it's not just me: does anybody have 32-bit Skype still working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 12:43    Post subject:  

Skype just quits completely when I try to log in here, so unless it is a temporary issue I guess it could be the end. I never really used it much but it was handy to have it there if I needed it.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3228
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 13:11    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Skype just quits completely when I try to log in here, so unless it is a temporary issue I guess it could be the end. I never really used it much but it was handy to have it there if I needed it.


I don't think this is just the old Qt client, neither. Up until the release of the 'full' modern 'Skype 4 Linux' last week, the 'beta' versions were working fine in the 64-bit Pups. Now, when I try to launch the new release, you get the login window. You can login, get the user interface for perhaps 5 seconds.....then the interface goes blank, and....nothing. The app's 'framework' is still there; titlebar. menubar - the window itself - but there's just a big white blank in the middle of it all.

Launching from the terminal gives absolutely no errors, so I don't have a clue what's going on with it. And the final 'beta', 5.05, now won't log in either.

---------------------------------------------

Looks a bit like the old 1-2 from MyCrudSoft, doesn't it? This is why I started using WIRE earlier this year.....and it works brilliantly, too.

WIRE thread


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 20:24    Post subject:  

I don't usually boot 64bit Puppies but as a test I downloaded the latest SkypeForLinux.
Version number shows as 8.10.0.4
Made a few tweaks including adding libsecret-1
Not sure if apulse is needed but have added it inside skype which should do no harm. Might try to test this more later.
Tested briefly in Slacko64 6.3.0 and Tahr64 6.0.5
Appears to work but I am not sure if it is fully functional or if improvements could be made.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3228
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 21:01    Post subject:  

Hi, Oscar.

Do I take it you've extracted the .deb, tweaked it a bit, and re-packed it as a .pet?

Where does libsecret come into the mix (and where did you get it from)? What's its function? Were you getting any clues in the terminal when you tried this (I'm guessing you ran this from the terminal, yes)?

All I got from it was a few seconds of the user GUI, then.....boof. That was it. Nada. Zilch, mate. Just sat there grinning at me.....with a 'blank' expression on its face..!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 07 Nov 2017, 21:42    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

Yes, I did download the .deb and re-packed as .sfs
I don't know what libsecret-1 does, but it was flagged up in terminal as missing when I began poking around. I installed it via PPM in Slacko64. I then plucked the lib out of the save-file and inserted it in my package (inside the main directory /usr/share/skypeforlinux). This dir is given priority in my wrapper which is named skype so the program can be started from terminal with this command.

I will upload the .sfs for illustrative and experimental purposes to http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks
skype-welcome.jpg
 Description   Initial welcome and log-in window
 Filesize   39.81 KB
 Viewed   136 Time(s)

skype-welcome.jpg

skype-8.10.0.4.jpg
 Description   Main program window when logged in. Dark theme selected
 Filesize   31.71 KB
 Viewed   136 Time(s)

skype-8.10.0.4.jpg

skype-about.jpg
 Description   The about window showing version number
 Filesize   33.14 KB
 Viewed   136 Time(s)

skype-about.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3038
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2017, 02:56    Post subject:  

The more recent attempts (it's still VERY alpha quality) can be found at:

https://repo.skype.com/deb/pool/main/s/skypeforlinux/

latest is skypeforlinux_8.10.76.7_amd64.deb
it seems to solve the white window on amd cpu's debacle

You can follow the development disasters at:
https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/skype/forum/skype_linux-skype_startms-skype_installms/skype-preview-the-most-expressive-skype-ever-is/fc717d17-03ad-4946-bb24-08b131da1840?auth=1

also

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/skype/forum/skype_linux-skype_startms-skype_installms/upgraded-to-the-latest-skype-linux-version-but/34553112-f42c-4740-a435-a64ddf3ad89f

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3228
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2017, 06:02    Post subject:  

Morning Oscar, peebee.

Thanks for the info there, peebee. That'll enable me to keep an eye on things (hopefully!) I'm getting more & more of my acquaintances to at least try WIRE out.....but there's many stubborn 'hold-outs' who won't even countenance trying anything else.

("If 'twere good enough for me da - and his da - 'twill be good enough for me..." That kind of attitude... Laughing Rolling Eyes )

Jeez. Talk about getting in a rut.

So I still need to keep Skype hanging around, whether I want to or no.

------------------------------------------------------------

@Oscar:- I'll have a look at the SFS. I may do something similar myself, as time (and development) progresses. I can guarantee the Linux version won't get anything like as much TLC as the Windoze/Mac/Android/iOS versions..!

Cheers, guys.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 279
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2017, 16:08    Post subject: An Alternative  

Don't want to hijack the topic but I thought that some may find this useful. Whilst Skype is ubiquitous. There are alternatives which have the advantage that you don't need an account and anyone can join and they work well. This is one that I have found. The first web site is the actual site to start the call and the second site is the web site describing it.

[url]https://appear.in/ [/url]
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/move-google-plus-hangouts-appear-really-good/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3228
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 08 Nov 2017, 17:07    Post subject:  

We-e-e-elll.....

Okay, so 8.10.76.7 does appear to have fixed the big blank in t'middle of t'screen (sorry, I'm more in touch with me Yorkshire roots than usual tonight!)

Several other folks on that long litany of complaints on the user forums seem to have had the same problem, too.

Mm. I don't know..... I'm not sure as I like this new-style interface. I guess it's not such a bad idea having everything ID'd by icons.....once you get used to where everything is! I do wish M$ would make up their flamin' minds where things are going to be; they've moved things I don't know how many times since they started all this Skype for Linux crap earlier this year.

I guess everything will eventually settle down. Y'know, on second thoughts, it's all a bit smoother than the 'beta' version; softer, rounded corners. Not the sharp angles of 5.5, et al..... I guess I could live with it. Unlike one bloke on that MS forum; bitching because everything wasn't precisely where he was used to it.

It's amazing, isn't it? Friends 1000's of miles away in the States are more than happy to try out different VOIP apps (some of my US contacts have expressed quite a liking for WIRE).....yet family, less than 40 miles away, point-blank refuse to even look at owt else...!!!

Another reason I need to keep it hangin' around like a bad smell... Rolling Eyes


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 18 [266 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1221s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0157s) ][ GZIP on ]