Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 07 Dec 2019, 10:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Use old Skype version after 01.08.2014
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2014, 03:17    Post subject:  

mcewanw wrote:
Though it is in the about message, so must be somewhere, in some form, I suppose.

I'm afraid is more like skype.kit method explained from Anonymous user:
Quote:
Skypekit is not same thing as Skype, it doesn't contains single string with version.
It's version field, sent to server, combined from kit version itself, user_serial, user uniqie id and host token. So you cant just find and replace something.

But... skype.kit has working old version now and this means linux skype 2.0 - 4.1 also could be used similar way. But I just can't find it yet.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2014, 03:51    Post subject:  

Ah, OK, thought it might be something like that Toni.

I have now tried your patched 4.2.0.13 wheezy sfs in DebianDog and it seems to be working fine.

William

_________________
github mcewanw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2014, 20:51    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
I came across this fix, I haven't tried it but it may work.

Quote:
Problem

Not all people can upgrade because they're on an older Linux version that is not supported by the new Skype version.
The new Skype version also introduces all sorts of new problems to existing users, as the following posting illustrates:

Solution

You can stick with your old version of skype. I came across and tested (on Skype 4.2 on Ubuntu LTS 12.04) the following solution that spoofs your old version of Skype to version 4.3.0.37. The command below will output a replace command which you could copy and run in a terminal in order to change the version string in your old Skype executable. Your old Skype will then be allowed to connect again to the M$ server. First you have to fill in your current Skype version in the command below, which can be obtained with command: "skype - version".

ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sudo sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" /usr/bin/skype"


Might be able to use this to patch the old binary version Question


This works for me (using the Carolina-packaged Skype 4.2.0.11) BUT you need to make a few changes. The Skype executable itself is not /usr/bin/skype - that's a script. I believe that's the case for most Puppy Skype setups. And Puppy doesn't need sudo, of course, since we're already root. So the line should become:

Code:

ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" /usr/share/skype/skype"


Then run the sed command that this spits out.

It seems to work fine, logging in from scratch. Thanks to everyone working on this.

Edit: an all-in-one command that might work.

Code:
ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" /usr/share/skype/skype">/tmp/patch_skype_version; sh /tmp/patch_skype_version; rm /tmp/patch_skype_version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2014, 21:50    Post subject:  

ac2011 wrote:

This works for me (using the Carolina-packaged Skype 4.2.0.11) BUT you need to make a few changes. The Skype executable itself is not /usr/bin/skype - that's a script. I believe that's the case for most Puppy Skype setups. And Puppy doesn't need sudo, of course, since we're already root. So the line should become:

Code:

ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" /usr/share/skype/skype"


Then run the sed command that this spits out.

It seems to work fine, logging in from scratch. Thanks to everyone working on this.

Edit: an all-in-one command that might work.

Code:
ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" /usr/share/skype/skype">/tmp/patch_skype_version; sh /tmp/patch_skype_version; rm /tmp/patch_skype_version


Thanks for doing that, I was going to give it a try and if successful repackage skype-4.2.0.13-lina.pet and skype-4.2.0.13-lina.sfs in the repo, if you have Carolina the skype-4.2.0.13-lina.pet is a better choice as it don't contain the qt lib files as they are already installed, the skype-4.2.0.13-lina.sfs is better used with Carolite, I'll post on the Carolina thread when I have this done.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2014, 01:10    Post subject:  

ac2011 wrote:
Code:
ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" /usr/share/skype/skype">/tmp/patch_skype_version; sh /tmp/patch_skype_version; rm /tmp/patch_skype_version

Thank you, link added in the first post!
Since Puppy linux uses different skype binary location maybe someone will make later and attach here working skype-start scripts for already installed 4.2.0.11 and 4.2.0.13.
Such script can be used also to start any existing pet/sfs skype package (maybe as desktop icon or editing /usr/share/applications/skype.desktop file). It will be easier than rebuilding any existing skype pet/sfs.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2014, 02:03    Post subject:  

saintless wrote:
ac2011 wrote:
Code:
ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" /usr/share/skype/skype">/tmp/patch_skype_version; sh /tmp/patch_skype_version; rm /tmp/patch_skype_version

Thank you, link added in the first post!
Since Puppy linux uses different skype binary location maybe someone will make later and attach here working skype-start scripts for already installed 4.2.0.11 and 4.2.0.13.
Such script can be used also to start any existing pet/sfs skype package (maybe as desktop icon or editing /usr/share/applications/skype.desktop file). It will be easier than rebuilding any existing skype pet/sfs.

Toni


Yes, that's how I'm doing it - just modding skype on each boot.

Here's a hopefully more generic script. Call it 'patch_skype' or similar. You'll need to change 4.2.0.11 to whatever your version is (and it'll break skype if the string isn't the same length, because that's the length of the string we're replacing it with).

Usual caveats apply: may destroy your data and/or the universe.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
skype &
sleep 2
skype_exe=`ps |grep skype|grep -v grep|sed 's/.* \//\//'| sed 's/ $//'`
killall skype
skype_script=`which skype`

if [[ `cat $skype_script |grep $skype_exe` ]] || [[ $skype_script == $skype_exe ]]
   then
   echo "Found $skype_exe for patching."
   ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" $skype_exe">/tmp/patch_skype_version
   read -p "OK to go ahead (y/n)? >" yesno
   if [[ $yesno == "y" ]]
      then
      echo "Patching $skype_exe"
      sh /tmp/patch_skype_version
   else
      echo "Aborted."
   fi
   rm /tmp/patch_skype_version
else
   echo "Can't find skype executable. Sorry."
fi


That should locate the real executable (by seeing what actually appears in RAM) and patch it, hopefully.

If it works on your Puppy and you're using non-persistent storage like I am (re-loading a clean save file on each boot) you could just strip out the "OK to go ahead" bits and be left with this:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
skype &
sleep 2
skype_exe=`ps |grep skype|grep -v grep|sed 's/.* \//\//'| sed 's/ $//'`
killall skype
skype_script=`which skype`

if [[ `cat $skype_script |grep $skype_exe` ]] || [[ $skype_script == $skype_exe ]]
   then
   echo "Found $skype_exe for patching."
   ver=$(echo "4.2.0.11" | xxd -p | sed 's/.\{2\}/&\\x/g;s/^/\\x/;s/\\x0a\\x//'); echo "sed -i \"s/$ver/\x34\x2E\x33\x2E\x30\x2E\x33\x37/g\" $skype_exe">/tmp/patch_skype_version
   echo "Patching $skype_exe"
   sh /tmp/patch_skype_version
   rm /tmp/patch_skype_version
else
   echo "Can't find skype executable. Sorry."
fi


A bit ugly because it loads skype first and then closes it, but it would only need to be done once per boot - then you'd just run 'skype' as normal.

I did think about parsing the launch script to find the binary, but I think that's less reliable.

Edit: improved to trap non-scripted skype versions too... hopefully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2014, 03:00    Post subject:  

ac2011 wrote:
You'll need to change 4.2.0.11 to whatever your version is (and it'll break skype if the string isn't the same length, because that's the length of the string we're replacing it with).

It will work only for Skype 4.2.0.11 and 4.2.0.13.
All earlier versions like Skype 2.0 to 4.1 do not have such easy to replace version string. It is generated different way and can't be replaced so simple, unfortunately. The only way to run Skype versions 2.0 - 4.1 for the moment is explained in the first post and needs setting up autologin with Skype 4.3.0.37 (or pathched Skype 4.2.0.11 or 4.2.0.13) first and adding one line in shared.xml

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ac2011

Joined: 09 Feb 2011
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2014, 06:07    Post subject:  

saintless wrote:
ac2011 wrote:
You'll need to change 4.2.0.11 to whatever your version is (and it'll break skype if the string isn't the same length, because that's the length of the string we're replacing it with).

It will work only for Skype 4.2.0.11 and 4.2.0.13.
All earlier versions like Skype 2.0 to 4.1 do not have such easy to replace version string. It is generated different way and can't be replaced so simple, unfortunately. The only way to run Skype versions 2.0 - 4.1 for the moment is explained in the first post and needs setting up autologin with Skype 4.3.0.37 (or pathched Skype 4.2.0.11 or 4.2.0.13) first and adding one line in shared.xml

Toni



Yes, sorry: I didn't make that clear. The script is to help people who might have problems locating the real skype binary for patching. It doesn't add any magic to what's already been discovered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3384
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2014, 01:14    Post subject:  

saintless wrote:

It will work only for Skype 4.2.0.11 and 4.2.0.13.
All earlier versions like Skype 2.0 to 4.1 do not have such easy to replace version string. It is generated different way and can't be replaced so simple, unfortunately. The only way to run Skype versions 2.0 - 4.1 for the moment is explained in the first post and needs setting up autologin with Skype 4.3.0.37 (or pathched Skype 4.2.0.11 or 4.2.0.13) first and adding one line in shared.xml

Toni


Toni, just want to drop in to say thanks for your workaround in 4.2.xxx. I'm now using 4.2.0.13 (patched by CatDude based on your instructions). While 4.3 works, the PulseAudio it requires is a PITA to manage, so most of the time I use the 4.2 instead.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64 forum links: Latest version | Contributed packages | ISO builder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2014, 02:40    Post subject:  

Hi, Jamesbond.

Just for information if you use skype 2.2.0.35 sometimes instead 4.2.0.37 you can use patched 4.2.0.13 or 4.2.0.11 to setup the account to autologin and then start skype 2.2.0.35 (after adding the savepassword line in shared.xml as in the first post information).
I still use 2.2.0.35 because it runs faster on my hardware. The only problem (the important part) is after one month the creditentals key expires and I need to start patched 4.2.0.11 to setup the account again for autologin.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 594
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2014, 18:40    Post subject: False online  

All versions 4.2.x.xx onwards give me false 'contact is online' status. The 'tricked' 2.2.0.35 & 4.0.0.8 don't. Is there any way around that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 10 Sep 2014, 21:46    Post subject: Re: False online  

ozsouth wrote:
All versions 4.2.x.xx onwards give me false 'contact is online' status. The 'tricked' 2.2.0.35 & 4.0.0.8 don't. Is there any way around that?


The patched version of 4.2.0.13 seems to work ok for me, though when using Skype in windows there are only two options, Available or Invisible, so when I change my status using 4.2.0.13 they seem to be the only one's that change as seen by the windows version.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 11 Sep 2014, 03:00    Post subject: Re: False online  

ozsouth wrote:
All versions 4.2.x.xx onwards give me false 'contact is online' status. The 'tricked' 2.2.0.35 & 4.0.0.8 don't. Is there any way around that?

I don't know enough to try fixing this inside the binary.
If you already have wine installed there is portable skype for windows that works. Maybe worth testing.
You need also libwine-alsa installed to get sound working in wine. For video calls maybe DirectX also should be upgraded.

Toni

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...

Last edited by saintless on Mon 13 Oct 2014, 15:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 3882
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Sat 20 Sep 2014, 09:16    Post subject:  

Patched versions blocked from today.
The workaround on the first page setting up the account with 4.3.0.37 for autologin still works.

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Griot


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 131
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sat 20 Sep 2014, 13:24    Post subject:  

After latest infamous deeds of Micro$$$ I'm a bit confused about workaround procedure. So, which version of $kype installer should I use to get things work? I really need your kind support folks, because my employer insists on using dang thing to keep "flawless" communication between managers and employees. My PC runs precise 5.71 PEA i686/frugal install.Thanx!
P.S. With all due respect to potential adviser, NO, I'm not going to install any M$ O$. Thank you for your comprehension!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 [124 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0897s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0232s) ][ GZIP on ]