Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 18:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype-4.3.0.37 not working
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
takeya

Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 15 Aug 2014, 03:21    Post subject:  Skype-4.3.0.37 not working  

skype-4.3.0.37 working

http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/

But skype-4.3.0.37 will not be spoken,will not be working.
Because we will not chose 'PC sound device' at the skype option 'sound device'.


Please check skype support 'Skype for Linux supports the PulseAudio and ALSA sound systems. As of version 4.3, the ALSA sound system is no longer supported without PulseAudio.'

https://support.skype.com/en/faq/FA10964/how-do-i-adjust-the-sound-settings-on-my-computer-and-in-skype-for-linux


If this problem does not solve,we will not use 'skype-4.3.0.37'

I hope to solve this problem by anyone!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Fri 15 Aug 2014, 19:28    Post subject:  

Head to this forum post that will get you fixed up: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95202
I followed the instructions and it works fine.

I now started up Skype 4.3.0.37 with automatic login, and then i quit it from the taskbar area. From the console I type in the skype42 I setup per the forums instructions and my original sound card is available and works. now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 04:52    Post subject:  

Hi I got slacko 5.7.1 on usb key, and run on fujitsu lifebook ah531 laptop

Which skype must chose to work ?

Last night I got 4.2 and inpossible to login, than I install another version -I beleive this 4.3.0.37- and start work, make test call all OK. but then try login with diferent account and all go to hell, somehow got back 4.4 skype every time, and even when uninstall all skype versions and even check if is maybe load on the fly, but nothing there.
-I think must be something because I remaster whole thing to .iso and later use same iso for making that slacko usb key-

anyway now I work another remaster .iso and must be shure which skype will work ?

thank you

EDIT- I just install pet from here http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/skype-4.3.0.37-slacko14.0.pet

and login work, but sound not
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 934
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 05:54    Post subject:  

@ georg1
Slacko 5.7.1 ?
You will need to add pulseaudio for skype-4.3.0.37
No guarantees that it will work on all hardware.
For Slackware 14.0 Slackos I suggest you try pulseaudio-2.1-i486-w5.pet
(This version may change if we can build something better)
You may need to manually edit the file /etc/pulse/default.pa
Please spend a few minutes reading this thread for more details:-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94807

If you are unable to get this skype to work or if you prefer to run an older skype with alsa support there is a workaround explained in this thread here:-
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=95202

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 06:03    Post subject:  

Okay will try and report back what happen.

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat 16 Aug 2014, 10:23    Post subject:  

Okay I do exact this (install that version of skype and exact pulseradio) and work Smile yeeeaaah

thank you very very much

will decsribe what I do in my topic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
takeya

Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 17 Aug 2014, 06:32    Post subject: try and report
Subject description: try and report
 

Thank you for your following.
I tried pulseaudio-2.1-i486-w5.pet for Slackware 14.0 Slackos.
'Skype sound' has been output on my laptop speaker.

One question:

Can I use 'PulseAudio Volume Control'?
If not.I try to use the general output.

If I use 'PulseAudio Volume Control',I would like to change Input Device(hw:) ,as 'port:' on Skype support Ubuntu software.

If not,could you show me the way setting from terminal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
l0wt3ch

Joined: 23 Apr 2014
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 13:53    Post subject:  

Instead of Skype, you might be able to use this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
takeya

Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 21:33    Post subject:  MIC is not able to be used
Subject description: I am not able to chat by skpe 4.3.0.37
 

Skype 4.3.0.37 has been working.
Headphone(speaker) has been worked,but MIC has not been used,by my raptop.


Could you tell me the way to be able to use MIC?


I checked Mic bar on speaker icon 'Retrovol' of task tray.

I tried MIC test by Sound test of Skype option 'Sound Device'.
But Sound test has been finished 'NG'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 05:35    Post subject:  

Go menu/ settings / alsa sound wizard
select option 3 (multiple cards)
select which card you want make default (I chose analog, HDA intel PCH)
OK

and slide mic and capture to FULL

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
takeya

Joined: 15 Aug 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 08:39    Post subject:  Input device 'Mic' is NG
Subject description: Input device 'Mic' is NG
 

I checked 'IEC958,Mic,& Capture' on E Retovol,and I tried to call the 'Skype' Echo/Sound Test Service.
I tried Echo/Sound Test Service as well by the mic in my web camera,instead of my general headset 'Mic'.

Result

My general headset 'Mic' is NG
My web camera 'Mic' is NG


My web camera 'capture only' is OK


Could show me the way to be able to use input device 'Mic'?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 09:45    Post subject:  

Im sorry I dont have any external mic Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sat 06 Sep 2014, 14:48    Post subject:  

I got same problem now, I use logitech webcam for picture and microphone, and cant set bloody mic to work.



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
warunapww

Joined: 10 Sep 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2014, 00:02    Post subject:  

I got the same mic problem. everything else works fine.

EDIT: This post helped me to fix the mic problem - http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94807&start=20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sfs

Joined: 02 Nov 2013
Posts: 26
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Mon 22 Sep 2014, 06:14    Post subject:  

https://github.com/i-rinat/apulse
apulse skype

_________________
PuppyRus-Arch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0800s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]