Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 09:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to create a swap file so Hibernate will work?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
adam500

Joined: 06 Apr 2014
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu 21 Aug 2014, 15:52    Post_subject:  How to create a swap file so Hibernate will work?
Sub_title: Not sure how to do it in Carolina 1.2.
 

My Carolina 1.2 contains a program called 'Sleep Timer' which offers to allow both Hibernate and Suspend. But when i tick the setting to 'Enable Hibernate' it gives me a pop up message saying I need to create a swap file large enough to hold the contents of my ram (2Gb).

I've increased the size of my Savefile on the HD to over 10Gb ((the max).

I don't see any applications to do this...Is this something I can do, somehow?

I'm running the Carolina from a Live CD....could this be an issue?

I'd really like to get the computer to Hibernate.

Thanks
swap message.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.39 KB
 Viewed   309 Time(s)

swap message.png


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 21 Aug 2014, 16:09    Post_subject:  

Here are two of the many posts I found by entering swap AND file in the forum's Search page and limiting the search to the How-To section. I don't know if either of them will provide the answer you seek, but they might point you in the right direction.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=774464&search_id=1886449270#774464
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=620703&search_id=1886449270#620703

It might be easier to make a swap partition than a swap file, using Gparted, but I don't know if the Hibernate program will use a swap partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
saintless


Joined: 11 Jun 2011
Posts: 2652
Location: Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 21 Aug 2014, 16:11    Post_subject:  

Check out the attached in this post make-swap.zip and the instruction there (it is GUI Utility - just extract the archive in /usr/bin and start it by typing make-swap in terminal):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=792076#792076
It should work in any puppy.

Creating swap file from command line is explained here:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SwapFile

_________________
Farewell, Nooby, you will be missed...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4441
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 21 Aug 2014, 19:47    Post_subject:  

To address SWAP needs, See this earlier response.
@Saintless here, offers a neat "Presence" utility if needed.

Here to help
P.S. I have only done hibernate with one PUP distro ever and I think it was Pemasu's Precise..I think via a Shutdown-time utility.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adam500

Joined: 06 Apr 2014
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 11:57    Post_subject:  

Thanks for all the ideas. I will spend some time with them over the next few days and report back.

There must be a way to do it, otherwise why create a specific application using Hibernate?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 12:59    Post_subject:  

Is there enough free space to create the file?
Code:
df -h

_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adam500

Joined: 06 Apr 2014
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 13:19    Post_subject:  

Semme wrote:
Is there enough free space to create the file?


This is what I have. It is an XP setup. With the first Partition being the Dell Notebook info.

I was thinking of creating a 3Gb swap partition..once I figure out how to do it without complicating things. I can easily free up probably 10 Gb from the sda2 partition.

See attached file. (I don't know how to get an image into the post..yet. Hmmm, maybe I do know how.
drive.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   47.35 KB
 Viewed   224 Time(s)

drive.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 13:24    Post_subject:  

Your frugal's on sda2? Is that a data partition or does it also have an OS?
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adam500

Joined: 06 Apr 2014
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 13:38    Post_subject:  

Semme wrote:
Your frugal's on sda2? Is that a data partition or does it also have an OS?


That is where my XP is along with several years of accumulated data (of widely varying worth).

As the swap partition or file will only be used for hibernating and I only have 2G of ram I don't see a need for more than 3G. Although I'm open for input on this.
............................................................
# df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2 209G 144G 65G 69% /initrd/mnt/dev_save
/dev/loop1 10G 353M 9.7G 4% /initrd/pup_rw
/dev/loop0 76M 76M 0 100% /initrd/pup_ro2
/dev/loop3 24M 24M 0 100% /initrd/pup_z
/dev/loop2 299M 299M 0 100% /initrd/pup_a
unionfs 10G 353M 9.7G 4% /
tmpfs 505M 344K 504M 1% /tmp
shmfs 496M 0 496M 0% /dev/shm
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adam500

Joined: 06 Apr 2014
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 15:43    Post_subject:  

I tried the Suspend option, which worked properly.

Now I'm wondering exactly what happens to a Live CD session when the system goes into Suspend instead of Hibernate.

I know the system is still on after a Suspend, but how much of it is still on? Is it essentially shut down?

Is the info in RAM (the Puppy) still there?

Just curious, thanks. Maybe Suspend will be good enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 16:36    Post_subject:  

If you've got suspend working, great.. It may be good enough. If you resize, keep this in mind.
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
adam500

Joined: 06 Apr 2014
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 16:56    Post_subject:  

Semme wrote:
If you've got suspend working, great.. It may be good enough. If you resize, keep this in mind.


Yes. Suspend might do the trick. I can still see a blinking light running.



I'd like it to shut off 100%, but maybe suspend will be ok. With no need to create any swaps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4050
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2014, 17:36    Post_subject:  

No guts Smile No glory.
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11164
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 01:12    Post_subject:  

I think the main difference between Suspend and Hibernate is that if power is lost while the system is suspended (still in RAM), the state of the system is lost. Hibernate transfers what's in RAM to the hard disk (to swap memory), so that the power can be turned off. Hibernate reloads to RAM more quickly than rebooting, but Suspend starts with everything already in RAM. I think I have that right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 06:30    Post_subject:  

Standby/Suspend = state saved to RAM, machine does not power-off, recovers to previous state almost immediately when touching mouse/hitting keyboard. Typically the power light will be flashing. Hibernation = Everything in RAM is copied to hard drive before the machine switches off. You need to push the power button to restart the machine which is then suppose to boot to the previous state. Hibernation is slower (the power saving is more though) but it takes less than 10 seconds for me so well worth it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0782s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]