Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Sep 2014, 03:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
"Saving RAM to..." for over an hour and counting [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Haselrig

Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 13:52    Post subject:  "Saving RAM to..." for over an hour and counting [SOLVED]  

Hello all, I'm running precise Puppy 5.7.1 and have a question about "Saving RAM to..." I normally use Chromium as my browser, but today I was having trouble logging into an online game I play, so I decided to try using Firefox. When I loaded FF, I got a message that Firefox had been updated. Didn't think much of it, used Firefox for a while and the normal orange box that says the RAM is being saved to the save file on my USB drive popped up. It's still saving more than an hour later. Far longer than it's ever gone before. I was wondering if this was normal after a browser update, or has something frozen? Any advice would be appreciated.
Last edited by Haselrig on Mon 01 Sep 2014, 11:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Haselrig

Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 15:14    Post subject:  

Still going, so I think we can safely come down on the side of frozen. I just need the best way to shut down the computer so I don't corrupt the save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
solo


Joined: 14 Nov 2013
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 15:40    Post subject:  

Hate to be the one to brake this to you, but a system freeze while the system is writing the safe-file, will almost certainly make your safe-file unusable.

So, just to be clear, your screen has frozen, and there is nothing you can do anymore, right?!
I mean, you are no longer able to open any other programs or open a terminal, correct?!
Because if you are still able to open programs, you may want to go to your System menu, and open Htop to take a look at which processes your system is running at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 16:59    Post subject:  

I've experienced problems like this, and there were about the browser's cahe filling up the savefile.

It's necesary to tell the browser to put the cache outside the savefile, for example in /mnt/home/cache (you will have to create the folder cache in /mnt/home).

And yes Sad perhaps your savefile it's unusuable.

Always have a copy of it as a back up.

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Haselrig

Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 17:14    Post subject:  

Just the notification of "Saving RAM to..." was frozen. Everything else was working normally. There was a process that seemed to refer the save. I tried restarting X with no luck. Ended up being a choice between trying to kill the process or shutting down the computer. Ultimately, I did a hard power off by holding the power button until the system shut down. I restarted the computer, inserted the disc as I normally do. It booted with an additional line about the savefile that isn't normally there. System booted normally from there. Nothing seemed different or weird. I hit "Save" to see if the save RAM to would work, it went for a second or two and blinked off as usual. I shut down the system and rebooted it again, it booted normally and seems to be working normally. Just had a "Saving RAM to..." notification and it went off after a few seconds, Maybe I dodged a bullet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Haselrig

Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 17:42    Post subject:  

Galbi, I wouldn't be entirely comfortable adding directories without a step-by-step guide. Linux is definitely a second, or third, language for me Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3883
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 24 Aug 2014, 18:15    Post subject:  

It's easy, right Galbi? Wink From the directory you're in, rt-clk an empty area >> "NU" >> directory >> "NAME IT" >> DONE!
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 428
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 00:03    Post subject:  

Right for what we're talking about:

- Open Rox filemanager by clicking the Archive icon in the desktop.

- Click Up til you are in / (that is the root directory)

-Go to /mnt/home

-Right click in an empty place, then New >> Directory >> name it: cache

Now to tell Firefox where to put the cache:

-Launch Firefox and in a new tab type as the address
Code:
about:config


-Accep the advert.

-Right click in an empty place: New >> String and type this
Code:
browser.cache.disk.parent_directory

and the value for the string is: /mnt/home/cache

Restart Firefox and ready.

Note that this is valid for Firefox or derivatives, for other browsers is different, search with Google.

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 268
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 01:47    Post subject:  

Hello everyone,
When using portable firefox app, like @shinobar's one.
Do we need to do what Galbi suggests or it's not necessary. I mean do portable apps save cache files in it's own directory or in savefile.

Thanks.

- Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 08:22    Post subject:  

Simple answer ...disable the periodic saving in the bootmanager..whatever dialog... Its a pain in the neck and causes these problems with usb installs.

It will still save at shutdown or manually using the icon IF nothing it running.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Haselrig

Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 10:17    Post subject:  

Thanks Galbi, I'll give it a shot o/

mikeb, that's the one under "System", "Puppy Event Manager", "Save Session" right? You set the save interval to zero?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Mon 25 Aug 2014, 12:32    Post subject:  

Yes thats the one...deleted all that years ago so memory a bit vague.

It used to seize up whenever i used the GIMP

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Haselrig

Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2014, 05:45    Post subject:  

I might have to go that route. I'm guessing it would lengthen the shutdown time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8252

PostPosted: Tue 26 Aug 2014, 06:45    Post subject:  

Does not affect shutdown time...there is no 'real' ram flushing going on ...its just as a backup really.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Haselrig

Joined: 24 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 27 Aug 2014, 09:13    Post subject:  

Hmm, I don't see any downside to disabling it then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [20 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0688s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]