Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 00:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
No Sound in Puppy 4.2.1
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Mr. Hughes

Joined: 23 Sep 2014
Posts: 17
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 16:43    Post_subject:  No Sound in Puppy 4.2.1
Sub_title: Realtek ALC887
 

I just built a new computer and can't get Alsa to detect my Realtek ALC887 onboard audio. Is there a driver somewhere that I need for this old puppy?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darry1966

Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 429
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 19:43    Post_subject: Re: No Sound in Puppy 4.2.1
Sub_title: Realtek ALC887
 

Mr. Hughes wrote:
I just built a new computer and can't get Alsa to detect my Realtek ALC887 onboard audio. Is there a driver somewhere that I need for this old puppy?


Have you enabled onboard sound. Check and then use the alsa wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mr. Hughes

Joined: 23 Sep 2014
Posts: 17
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 01:45    Post_subject:  

The sound is enabled in bios, it works fine in win 7. This is a dual boot machine. The Alsa wizard finds nothing. I don't think this old kernel has support for this new sound chip.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1005
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 13:30    Post_subject:  

Mr. Hughes wrote:
The Alsa wizard finds nothing. I don't think this old kernel has support for this new sound chip.


Hi...

That's probably a safe assumption. You could try running the newest version of Precise or Slacko (or even Fatdog) and see if you can confirm this. Smile

Regards...

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mr. Hughes

Joined: 23 Sep 2014
Posts: 17
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Wed 24 Sep 2014, 18:46    Post_subject:  

Sound works great in Puppy Precise 5.7.1, now I just need to figure out how to get it to work in Puppy 4 series.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0447s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]