Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 16 Nov 2018, 14:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
tahrpup 6.0, 6.0.2 & 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 56 [830 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
keyboard


Joined: 30 Nov 2014
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jan 2015, 19:01    Post subject:  

Love unix philosophy Very Happy check the previous two posts from this one( my English is not that good so excuse me for it.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jan 2015, 19:38    Post subject:  

simes wrote:
I always mount the shares using YASSM.

YASSM has its own shutdown script /etc/init.d/rc.yassm. I checked and it's working.

What kind of Puppy install do you have?

What kind of shares are mounted? In what filesystems are they located?

What are the names of the shares that are not being unmounted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3203
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 06:44    Post subject:  

hi keyboard,

thanks for working on this !

the script isn't working yet ... this is line at the end of the script
Code:
download_file ${DOWNLOADFROM}/${SFS_DIR}/${SFS_FILE}

your script passes this
Code:
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr/

when it should be this
Code:
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr/spotify-0.9.4_tahr_5.8.3.sfs


the value of ${SFS_FILE} is missing

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2633

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 15:04    Post subject:  

I have the same problem, for both PAE and non PAE versions : boot to black screen, ctl-alt-backspace and xorgwizard gives just the one option. Boot with nox and it locks up at the select country textual type menu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simes

Joined: 29 Sep 2007
Posts: 58
Location: Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 18:32    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
simes wrote:
I always mount the shares using YASSM.

YASSM has its own shutdown script /etc/init.d/rc.yassm. I checked and it's working.

What kind of Puppy install do you have?

What kind of shares are mounted? In what filesystems are they located?

What are the names of the shares that are not being unmounted?


Yes, the YASSM shutdown script is working. I don't think the problem is in YASSM. If I unmount my network shares first using YASSM, then shutdown is clean. However, the YASSM script isn't called by rc.shutdown, which issues its own umount commands. Obviously I have a workaround there, but I would prefer that rc.shutdown did the job cleanly.

Now something strange. Today I have installed the same Puppy version on a different PC and that shuts down cleanly using rc.shutdown even when the same shares are mounted. So there must be a difference in the two installations and I haven't yet worked out what it is. I need to do that first and if I can answer this problem myself I'll post it here.

BTW the Puppy installs are all frugal and the shares are all EXT2 drives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 19:29    Post subject:  

You have probably seen this block of code in rc.shutdown:

Quote:
#v2.16 some packages have a service script that requires stopping...
for service_script in /etc/init.d/*
do
[ -x $service_script ] && $service_script stop
done
#note, /etc/rc.d/rc.services does same, with 'start' parameter.

#130217 01micko: moved this below stopping service-scripts...
#121125 umount is a script, this line also unmounts ntfs partition (if mounted) -- which is a bug in script -- use umount-FULL...
umount-FULL -a -t cifs,smbfs,nfs,sshfs #120220 121125

So there are two ways that YASSM shares should get unmounted, assuming that rc.shutdown is running correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keyboard


Joined: 30 Nov 2014
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 19:41    Post subject:  Ooops !
Subject description: Will pay more attention next time ..
 

666philb wrote:
hi keyboard,

thanks for working on this !

the script isn't working yet ... this is line at the end of the script
Code:
download_file ${DOWNLOADFROM}/${SFS_DIR}/${SFS_FILE}

your script passes this
Code:
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr/

when it should be this
Code:
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr/spotify-0.9.4_tahr_5.8.3.sfs


the value of ${SFS_FILE} is missing


lol ! sorry, I made this in a hurry when I was leaving my office and on top of that I have never worked with bash before, but know quite a few languages to tap into it solely by my wits Razz anyways .. as using tree made the script quite big..so I changed it back with use of radio buttons BUT with a scroll bar Smile it just needed only a little bit change , anyone who is acquainted more with bash scripts and gtkdialog could have understood that .

Hold on I am posting the code again..It should work , as it working on my tharpup 6.1 just check it again for a double confirmation...Image already attached..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keyboard


Joined: 30 Nov 2014
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 19:43    Post subject: Fixed gui of sfsget
Subject description: Add in bugfixes soon ...here is the code..
 

Code:

#!/bin/sh
#(c) copyright Barry Kauler 2011, bkhome.org
#Licence 2011 GPL V3 (/usr/share/doc/legal)
#$1 is optional name of an sfs file passed on commandline, download it. ex: devx.sfs
#$1 optional prefix, sub-directory on the official download URL. ex: wary-5.2/devx.sfs
#110402 first version.
#110422 DISTRO_VERSION variable now has dotted format. note, also now using full dotted version# in puppy filenames.
#110813 bug fix, sfs file has '_' in name.
#120202 BK: internationalized.
#120204 more gettext.
#120224 bugfix for racy.
#120224 add slacko support.
#120323 replace 'xmessage' with 'pupmessage'.
#120325 add dir for precise sfs's.
#121025 add case retroprecise.
#121103 file DISTRO_SPECS now has variable DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME.
#130128 also exclude udf and audiocd.
#MODIFIED by - keyboard [MODIFIED ON - monday 19th jan 2015] [fixed gui for larger no. of sfs items]
#MODIFIED by - keyboard [MODIFIED ON - 20th jan 2015] [reverted to radiobuttons to fix ${SFS_FILE} ]
export TEXTDOMAIN=sfsget
export OUTPUT_CHARSET=UTF-8

SFS_FILE=''; SFS_DIR=''
if [ $1 ];then
 [ "`echo "$1" | grep '\.sfs$'`" = "" ] && exit 1
 SFS_FILE="`basename $1`"
 SFS_DIR="dirname $1"
fi

. /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE #has PUP_HOME
. /etc/DISTRO_SPECS #has DISTRO_BINARY_COMPAT, DISTRO_COMPAT_VERSION DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME
. /root/.packages/DISTRO_PET_REPOS #has PET_REPOS, PACKAGELISTS_PET_ORDER

if [ "`echo -n "$DISTRO_VERSION" | grep '\.'`" = "" ];then #110422
 #convert version to abreviated-dotted, ex1: 142 to 1.4.2  ex2: 150 to 1.5
 for ONECNT in 1 2 3
 do
  ONEDIGIT="`echo -n $DISTRO_VERSION | cut -c $ONECNT`"
  case $ONECNT in
   1)   DOTVER=$ONEDIGIT  ;;
   2)   DOTVER="${DOTVER}.${ONEDIGIT}"  ;;
   3)   [ "$ONEDIGIT" != "0" ] && DOTVER="${DOTVER}.${ONEDIGIT}"  ;;
  esac
 done
else
 DOTVER="$DISTRO_VERSION"
fi

#SFS_DIR0 is the release-dir, SFS_DIR1 as general collection of sfs's...
MAJNUM="`echo -n "$DOTVER" | cut -f 1 -d '.'`" #110422
case $DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX in
 qrky)
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep '/quirky'`"
  SFS_DIR0="quirky-${DOTVER}"
  SFS_DIR1='sfs'
 ;;
 racy) #120224
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep '/quirky'`"
  SFS_DIR0="racy-${DOTVER}"
  SFS_DIR1='sfs'
 ;;
 wary)
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep '/quirky'`"
  SFS_DIR0="wary-${DOTVER}"
  SFS_DIR1='sfs'
 ;;
 lupu) #playdayz' Lucid Puppy
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep -v '/quirky'`"
  SFS_DIR0="puppy-${DOTVER}"
  SFS_DIR1='pet-packages-lucid'
  SFS_DIR2="sfs_modules-${MAJNUM}"
 ;;
 fd64) #kirk's fatdog64
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep '/fatdog'`"
  SFS_DIR0="sfs/${MAJNUM}00"
 ;;
 slacko) #01micko's spup
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep -v '/quirky'`"
  SFS_DIR0="puppy-${DOTVER}"
  SFS_DIR1="pet_packages-${DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME}" #121103
 ;;
 *precise*) #Ubuntu Precise Pangolin 12.04. 121025 add retroprecise. 121103
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep '/quirky'`"
  SFS_DIR0="${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}-${DOTVER}" #121103
  SFS_DIR1="pet_packages-${DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME}" #121103
 ;;
 *)
  x_REPOS="`echo -n "$PET_REPOS" | tr ' ' '\n' | grep -v '/quirky'`"
  SFS_DIR0="${DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX}-${DOTVER}" #121103
  SFS_DIR1="pet_packages-${DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME}" #121103
 ;;
esac
SFS_REPOS0="`echo -n "$x_REPOS" | tr -s ' ' | tr ' ' '\n' | sort --key=1 --field-separator="|" --unique | cut -f 1,2 -d '|'`"
#ex: ibiblio.org|http://distro.ibiblio.org//quirky
SFS_REPOS="`echo -n "$SFS_REPOS0" | tr '\n' ' '`"
echo "$SFS_REPOS0" > /tmp/petget_repos #used by /usr/local/pteget/testurls.sh

#probe remote site...
yaf-splash -placement center -bg yellow -close never -fontsize large -text "$(gettext 'Please wait, probing primary remote site...')" &
YPID=$!
echo -n '' > /tmp/sfsget-probe
echo -n '' > /tmp/sfsget-probe1
echo -n '' > /tmp/sfsget-probe2
xSFS_FILE="$SFS_FILE"
[ ! "$SFS_FILE" ] && xSFS_FILE='*.sfs'
PRIMARYREPO="`echo "$SFS_REPOS0" | grep 'distro\.ibiblio\.org' | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d '|'`"
if [ "$SFS_DIR" ];then
 SFS_DIR0="$SFS_DIR"
 wget -4 -t 2 -T 20 --waitretry=20 --spider --recursive --level=1 --accept "${xSFS_FILE}" -S ${PRIMARYREPO}/${SFS_DIR}/  2>&1 | grep '\.sfs$' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev > /tmp/sfsget-probe
else
 wget -4 -t 2 -T 20 --waitretry=20 --spider --recursive --level=1 --accept "${xSFS_FILE}" -S ${PRIMARYREPO}/${SFS_DIR0}/  2>&1 | grep '\.sfs$' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev > /tmp/sfsget-probe
 [ "$SFS_DIR1" ] && wget -4 -t 2 -T 20 --waitretry=20 --spider --recursive --level=1 --accept "${xSFS_FILE}" -S ${PRIMARYREPO}/${SFS_DIR1}/  2>&1 | grep '\.sfs$' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev > /tmp/sfsget-probe1
 [ "$SFS_DIR2" ] && wget -4 -t 2 -T 20 --waitretry=20 --spider --recursive --level=1 --accept "${xSFS_FILE}" -S ${PRIMARYREPO}/${SFS_DIR2}/  2>&1 | grep '\.sfs$' | rev | cut -f 1 -d '/' | rev > /tmp/sfsget-probe2
fi
sync
kill $YPID

if [ ! -s /tmp/sfsget-probe ];then
 if [ ! -s /tmp/sfsget-probe1 ];then
  if [ ! -s /tmp/sfsget-probe2 ];then
   yaf-splash -placement center -bg red -close box -fontsize large -text "$(gettext 'Either your Internet connection is not working, or the primary repository is down. Aborting SFS Downloader')"
   exit 1
  fi
 fi
fi

if [ ! "$SFS_FILE" ];then
 #ask which sfs to download...
 SFSBUTTONS=''
 for ONESFS in `cat /tmp/sfsget-probe /tmp/sfsget-probe1 /tmp/sfsget-probe2 | sort -u | tr '\n' ' '`
 do
  SFSBUTTONS="${SFSBUTTONS}<radiobutton><label>${ONESFS}</label><variable>RADIO_URL_${ONESFS}</variable></radiobutton>"
 done
 export SFS_DIALOG="<window title=\"$(gettext 'SFS Downloader: choose file')\" icon-name=\"gtk-about\" window_position=\"1\">
 <vbox>
  <text><label>$(gettext 'Please choose an SFS file that you would like to download:')</label></text>
  <frame>
    <vbox scrollable=\"true\">
        ${SFSBUTTONS}
      <width>400</width>
      <height>550</height>
    </vbox>
  </frame>
  <hbox>
   <button ok></button>
   <button cancel></button>
  </hbox>
 </vbox>
 </window>"
 RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog3 --program=SFS_DIALOG`"
 [ "`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^EXIT' | grep 'OK'`" = "" ] && exit 1
 SFS_FILE="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep 'RADIO_URL_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 3-9 -d '_'`" #110813 bug fix.
fi
[ "`grep "$SFS_FILE" /tmp/sfsget-probe`" != "" ] && SFS_DIR="$SFS_DIR0"
[ ! "$SFS_DIR" ] && [ "$SFS_DIR1" ] && [ "`grep "$SFS_FILE" /tmp/sfsget-probe1`" != "" ] && SFS_DIR="$SFS_DIR1"
[ ! "$SFS_DIR" ] && [ "$SFS_DIR2" ] && [ "`grep "$SFS_FILE" /tmp/sfsget-probe2`" != "" ] && SFS_DIR="$SFS_DIR2"

#decide where to download to...
#where the save-file is, or if PUPMODE=5 then ask...
DLPART=''; RUNBOOTMGR=''
if [ -L /mnt/home ];then
 DLMOUNT="/mnt/home"
 DLMOUNT1="`readlink /mnt/home`"
 REGEXd=" ${DLMOUNT1}$"
 DLPART="`df | grep "$REGEXd" | cut -f 1 -d ' ' | grep '/dev/' | cut -f 3 -d '/'`" #ex: sda1
fi
if [ "$DLPART" ];then
 RUNBOOTMGR='yes'
 cd $DLMOUNT
else
 DLPARTS="`probepart -m | grep -v -E 'none|iso9660|swap|udf|audiocd' | tr '\n' ' '`" #130128 also exclude udf and audiocd.
 DLBUTTONS=""
 [ "$DLPARTS" = "" ] && DLBUTTONS="<text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"<b>$(gettext 'NO PARTITIONS FOUND')</b>\"</label></text>"
 for ONEDLSPEC in $DLPARTS
 do
  DEVNODE="`echo -n "$ONEDLSPEC" | cut -f 1 -d '|' | cut -f 3 -d '/'`"
  DEVFS="`echo -n "$ONEDLSPEC" | cut -f 2 -d '|'`"
  DEVSIZEM="`echo -n "$ONEDLSPEC" | cut -f 3 -d '|'`"
  DLBUTTONS="${DLBUTTONS}<radiobutton><label>${DEVNODE} $(gettext 'filesystem:') ${DEVFS} $(gettext 'size:') ${DEVSIZEM}MB</label><variable>RADIO_URL_${DEVNODE}</variable></radiobutton>"
 done
 export DL_DIALOG="<window title=\"$(gettext 'SFS Downloader: destination')\" icon-name=\"gtk-about\" window_position=\"1\">
 <vbox>
  <text><label>$(gettext 'This is a first boot of Puppy and you have not yet saved a session. You want to download') ${SFS_FILE}, $(gettext "and this needs to be downloaded to the same partition in which you will be creating the session save-file. Then, at next boot, Puppy will load the session and will also see the SFS file and be able to load that also (a 'zdrv' will load automatically, others need to be manually selected in te BootManager -- see System menu)")</label></text>
  <text><label>$(gettext 'Here is a list of suitable partitions. Whichever one you choose, at shutdown you will be asked to save the session and be sure to choose the same partition. Well, even if you download it to the wrong place, you can move it afterward! Click the one you want:')</label></text>
  <frame>
   ${DLBUTTONS}
  </frame>
  <hbox>
   <button ok></button>
   <button cancel></button>
  </hbox>
 </vbox>
 </window>"
 RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog3 --program=DL_DIALOG`"
 [ "`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep '^EXIT' | grep 'OK'`" = "" ] && exit 1
 DLPART="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep 'RADIO_URL_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 3 -d '_'`"
 REGEXd="/dev/${DLPART} "
 DLMOUNT="`mount | grep "$REGEXd" | cut -f 3 -d ' '`"
 if [ "$DLMOUNT" = "" ];then
  mkdir -p /mnt/${DEVNODE}
  REGEXe="/dev/${DLPART}|"
  DLFS="`echo "$DLPARTS" | grep "$REGEXe" | cut -f 2 -d '|'`"
  mount -t $DLFS /dev/$DEVNODE /mnt/$DEVNODE
  if [ $? -ne 0 ];then
   pupmessage -bg red -center "$(gettext 'ERROR: Could not mount') /dev/${DEVNODE}, $(gettext 'aborting')"
   exit 1
  fi
  DLMOUNT="/mnt/$DEVNODE"
 fi
 cd $DLMOUNT
fi

REPOBUTTONS=""
for ONEREPOSPEC in $SFS_REPOS
do
 URL_TEST="`echo -n "$ONEREPOSPEC" | cut -f 1 -d '|'`"
 URL_FULL="`echo -n "$ONEREPOSPEC" | cut -f 2 -d '|'`"
 REPOBUTTONS="${REPOBUTTONS}<radiobutton><label>${URL_TEST}</label><variable>RADIO_URL_${URL_TEST}</variable></radiobutton>"
done

DLRET=1
while [ $DLRET -ne 0 ];do
 export DEPS_DIALOG="<window title=\"$(gettext 'SFS Downloader: host site')\" icon-name=\"gtk-about\" window_position=\"1\">
<vbox>
 <text><label>$(gettext 'You have chosen to download this SFS file:')</label></text>
 <text use-markup=\"true\"><label>\"<b>${SFS_FILE}</b>\"</label></text>
 <text><label>$(gettext 'It will be downloaded to the top-level (/) in partition') /dev/${DLPART}.</label></text>
 <text><label>$(gettext 'Please choose which URL you would like to download it from:')</label></text>

 <frame>
  ${REPOBUTTONS}
 </frame>
 
 <hbox>
  <button>
   <label>$(gettext 'Test URLs')</label>
   <action>/usr/local/petget/testurls.sh</action>
  </button>
  <button>
   <label>$(gettext 'Download SFS file')</label>
   <action type=\"exit\">BUTTON_SFS_DOWNLOAD</action>
  </button>
  <button cancel></button>
 </hbox>
</vbox>
</window>
"
 RETPARAMS="`gtkdialog3 --program=DEPS_DIALOG`"

 [ "`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep 'BUTTON_SFS_DOWNLOAD'`" = "" ] && exit 1

 URL_BASIC="`echo "$RETPARAMS" | grep 'RADIO_URL_' | grep '"true"' | cut -f 1 -d '=' | cut -f 3 -d '_'`"
 DOWNLOADFROM="`cat /tmp/petget_repos | grep "$URL_BASIC" | head -n 1 | cut -f 2 -d '|'`"

 ####DOWNLOAD IT#####
 download_file ${DOWNLOADFROM}/${SFS_DIR}/${SFS_FILE}
 ####################

 DLRET=$?
done #while loop

sfs_load /mnt/$DEVNODE/${SFS_FILE}

exit 0
###END###

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keyboard


Joined: 30 Nov 2014
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 20:50    Post subject:  

and... yes it is re-sizable Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3203
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jan 2015, 11:03    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
I have the same problem, for both PAE and non PAE versions : boot to black screen, ctl-alt-backspace and xorgwizard gives just the one option. Boot with nox and it locks up at the select country textual type menu


hi rufwoof,

what graphic card do you have?

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3203
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jan 2015, 12:09    Post subject:  

keyboard wrote:
and... yes it is re-sizable Smile


thanks keyboard, it's working well now Very Happy added to bugfixes
i made the gui resizable
Code:
 export SFS_DIALOG="<window title=\"$(gettext 'SFS Downloader: choose file')\" default_height=\"400\" default_width=\"400\" resizable=\"true\" icon-name=\"gtk-about\" window_position=\"1\">

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
keyboard


Joined: 30 Nov 2014
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jan 2015, 17:57    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
keyboard wrote:
and... yes it is re-sizable Smile


thanks keyboard, it's working well now Very Happy added to bugfixes
i made the gui resizable
Code:
 export SFS_DIALOG="<window title=\"$(gettext 'SFS Downloader: choose file')\" default_height=\"400\" default_width=\"400\" resizable=\"true\" icon-name=\"gtk-about\" window_position=\"1\">


Lol wasn't the script I adjusted was already re-sizable ?? hmm.. okay .. let me check..So it didn't mattered, it was already re-sizable, anyways only thing it did that it changed this (from the code I posted):

Code:

 <width>400</width>
 <height>550</height> 


but well.. now at least it is not re sizable by default and hard coded Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4373
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jan 2015, 08:21    Post subject: Possible bug in Tahrpup?
Subject description: Max CPU loading after using Peasydisc...
 

Morning, all.

I run an old HP/Compaq desktop, circa 2005. It has an Athlon 64, 3 GB of DDR1 RAM, ATI Radeon Xpress 200 integrated graphics.....and a WD 160 GB IDE/PATA HDD.

I've been running 'Tahrpup' 6.0 on it since early November. Really like it. I originally started using it on my even older Dell Inspiron laptop, 'cos it was the only Linux distro that would work, out-of-the-box, with the Intel 'Extreme' graphics chip it has ('Brookedale', 82845 G/GL/GE/PE/GV); and I was so impressed with it that I did a frugal install on the Compaq, too. It simply FLIES on the desktop PC.

I don't know if this is a bug or not, but I used 'Peasydisc' for the first time night before last, to burn VectorLinux to a DVD, since I want to try it. Upon shutting the program down, after completing the disc, my CPU loading shot straight up to 100%, and just sat there. htop showed it was running flat-out (although it didn't show ANYTHING that could have been using it); and the CPU temps steadily climbed until the fan cut in on max.

That was at approx 65C; doesn't sound that warm compared to some Intels, I know, but this thing rarely gets much over 35C, even listening to streaming audio & playing vids at the same time. First time I've ever heard the fan on max, so.....I was a wee bit concerned.

Even half-a-dozen successive re-boots didn't seem to cure it. As soon as the desktop came up, pWidgets 'CPU-bar' showed it going straight to 100%, and not moving. tempiconsvg 0.21 showed it steadily climbing toward the cut-in point. Cursor movement was jerky (a sure sign of high CPU usage on this old girl), and response to ANYTHING was pretty sluggish.

I re-installed yesterday morning; understandably enough, that did fix it. But I'm curious as to what might have happened.....and whether or not Peasydisc WAS in fact responsible.


Regards,

Mike.

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3203
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jan 2015, 08:42    Post subject:  

hi Mike Walsh,

only way to really know is to try and reproduce the error.

if something like that happens again ... check menu>>>system>>htop to see whats eating cpu .... also look at /tmp/xerrs.log for errors

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4373
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jan 2015, 11:42    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi Mike Walsh,

only way to really know is to try and reproduce the error.

if something like that happens again ... check menu>>>system>>htop to see whats eating cpu .... also look at /tmp/xerrs.log for errors


Hallo, 666philb.

I did JUST that, this morning. Ran Peasydisc and burnt another copy of the same .iso.....and this time, upon shutdown, it was behaving itself nicely. I really wouldn't like to say what could have caused it.

Looked at htop while it was running, but there was nothing going on that I wouldn't have expected.

rcrsn51 asked me to do the same, since I posted the problem in his 'Peasydisc tools' thread. He's checked the app over this morning & run a few tests on it; he can't reproduce the error, neither.

So it looks like one of those 'one-off' silly things, really.


Regards,

Mike. Rolling Eyes

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 56 [830 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1952s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0450s) ][ GZIP on ]