Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Jul 2019, 13:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
tahrpup 6.0, 6.0.2 & 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 25 of 56 [832 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1627
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jan 2015, 06:32    Post subject: tahrpup not cleanly umounting partition?  

For those who are experiencing problems with a partition after shutting down tahrpup:
How many sfs files do you have loaded via sfs_load? Is it more than 1?

Might seem like a strange question, but I just had a strange experience, which I cannot explain.

I run tahrpup as a frugal install on an ext4 partition, and use a savefolder.
My "initrd.gz" file contains a patched "init" script that fsck's the partition just before the first time it is mounted.

Up until a couple of days ago the next fsck of the partition after shutting down tahrpup always produced just a "clean" message. But after loading a second sfs file, the following fsck produced a "recovering journal" message before the "clean" message.
So I unloaded the second sfs file, and the fsck's returned to just "clean". So I then tried just the second sfs file. And then tried combining the 2 sfs files into 1. Each time I had only 1 sfs file loaded the fsck's where simply "clean". Every time I had 2 sfs files loaded the fsck's had a "recovering journal" message as well.
Then I tried renaming the second sfs file to be an "adrv", and lo the fsck's were just "clean".

So, I've no idea what's causing this behaviour, but it would appear that limiting your sfs_load loaded sfs files to 1, produces a cleaner shutdown.

Has anyone else observed this strange behaviour?

Hopefully this is a clue that might help someone to work out what's happening here.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3054

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jan 2015, 07:20    Post subject: Re: tahrpup not cleanly umounting partition?  

gyro wrote:

Has anyone else observed this strange behaviour?

I'm also running a modified init (currently in woof-CE) and on ext2-4 pupmodes 6/12/13 while loading 5 SFSs (main, a, z , devx, office), I did not get any warning in console or bootinit.log

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1627
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jan 2015, 23:54    Post subject: Re: tahrpup not cleanly umounting partition?  

mavrothal wrote:
I did not get any warning in console or bootinit.log
I'm not surprised that fsck would not report any problems if it's run immediately after a successful "umount" of the partition.
gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3054

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jan 2015, 01:19    Post subject: Re: tahrpup not cleanly umounting partition?  

gyro wrote:
mavrothal wrote:
I did not get any warning in console or bootinit.log
I'm not surprised that fsck would not report any problems if it's run immediately after a successful "umount" of the partition.
gyro

Is also true in pupmode 6 and when the fsckme flag is not deleted in shutdown (for testing purposes) to force an early check.

Regardless, if the fs is not unmounted cleanly because of the extra SFSs you should be able to see the warnings during shutdown. Puppy is doing a "lazy" umount at the very end in case something is not unmounted, so can mess the journal. Just remove the redirection to /dev/null so you can keep any errors in the log.
Regarding boot, I believe the extra SFSs are loaded latter than the first fsck and should not generate the problem during boot.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 543

PostPosted: Sun 01 Feb 2015, 11:23    Post subject: Thar 6.0 CE both wireless and sound not yet working
Subject description: Fixes wanted for Lenovo Thinkpad x131e
 

I have tried to get tahr-6.0-CE_PAE running on my brand new second hand Thinkpad x131e mini laptop. But both wireless and sound are not working yet. I guess it is a driver issue. Is there anybody available who can help me fix these issues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 01 Feb 2015, 12:38    Post subject:  

No reply. Message deleted.
Last edited by rcrsn51 on Tue 03 Feb 2015, 09:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12336
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 01 Feb 2015, 23:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
But both wireless and sound are not working yet.

What have you tried to do to get them working?
What do you see?

For sound.
Run menu->Setup->Multiple Sound Card Wizard.
If it lists more than one sound device.
Usually you want the one identified first, as device 0, set as the default.

Run menu->Setup->ALSA Sound Wizard.
Look at adjust levels and make sure the normal stuff is checked on and volume turned up.
Play a test sound.

Any chance there is a speaker on/off switch on this laptop?

From the Thinkpad x131e manual:
Quote:
Fn+Esc: Speaker mute
Fn+F1: Speaker volume down
Fn+F2: Speaker volume up
Fn+F3: Microphone mute


Quote:
Wireless features
• Fn+F5
Enable or disable the built-in wireless networking features.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 366
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Mon 02 Feb 2015, 23:48    Post subject:  

Hello 666philb
I have 1 problem if Qt is supplied in tahrpup the Dev package should be also included in the devx "All included libs should have headers and such in the devx"

I could compile Qt apps in a different PuP and use it in tahrpup but that just seams dirty to me.I like to compile in the OS i will be using the apps on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 366
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 03 Feb 2015, 01:10    Post subject:  

Sorry for above post i was wrong,there is a mixup of Qt

/root/.packages/devx-only-installed-packages "Qt 4.8.5"
Code:
libqt4-dev-bin_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|libqt4-dev-bin|4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|2ubuntu4|Utility;development|6421K|pool/main/q/qt4-x11|libqt4-dev-bin_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg-2ubuntu4_i386.deb|+qtchooser,+libc6&ge2.4,+libgcc1&ge4.1.1,+libqt4-qt3support&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-xml&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqtcore4&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqtdbus4&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqtgui4&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libstdc++6&ge4.1.1,+zlib1g&ge1.1.4|Qt 4 development programs|ubuntu|trusty||
libqt4-dev_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|libqt4-dev|4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|2ubuntu4|Utility;development|11721K|pool/main/q/qt4-x11|libqt4-dev_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg-2ubuntu4_i386.deb|+libqt4-dbus&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-declarative&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-designer&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-dev-bin&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-help&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-network&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-qt3support&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-script&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-scripttools&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-sql&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-svg&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-test&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-xml&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-xmlpatterns&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqtcore4&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqtgui4&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+qt4-linguist-tools&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+qt4-qmake&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+qtchooser|Qt 4 development files|ubuntu|trusty||
libqt4-opengl-dev_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|libqt4-opengl-dev|4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|2ubuntu4|Utility;development|413K|pool/main/q/qt4-x11|libqt4-opengl-dev_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg-2ubuntu4_i386.deb|+libgl1-mesa-dev,+libglu1-mesa-dev,+libqt4-dev&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg,+libqt4-opengl&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|Qt 4 OpenGL library development files|ubuntu|trusty||
libqt4-private-dev_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|libqt4-private-dev|4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|2ubuntu4|Utility;development|5006K|pool/main/q/qt4-x11|libqt4-private-dev_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg-2ubuntu4_i386.deb|+libqt4-dev&eq4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg|Qt 4 private development files|ubuntu|trusty||


/root/.packages/builtin_files/qt4 "Qt 4.8.6"
Code:
/etc
/etc/xdg
 Trolltech.conf
/usr
/usr/bin
 assistant
 designer
 lconvert
 linguist
 lrelease
 lupdate
 moc
 pixeltool
 qcollectiongenerator
 qdbus
 qdbuscpp2xml
 qdbusviewer
 qdbusxml2cpp
 qdoc
 qdoc3
 qglinfo
 qhelpconverter
 qhelpgenerator
 qmake
 qml
 qml1plugindump
 qmlbundle
 qmlimportscanner
 qmlmin
 qmlplugindump
 qmlprofiler
 qmlscene
 qmltestrunner
 qmlviewer
 qtchooser
 qtconfig
 qtpaths
 rcc
 uic
 uic3
 xmlpatterns
 xmlpatternsvalidator
/usr/lib
 libQtCLucene.so.4
 libQtCLucene.so.4.8
 libQtCLucene.so.4.8.6
 libQtCore.so.4
 libQtCore.so.4.8
 libQtCore.so.4.8.6
 libQtDBus.so.4
 libQtDBus.so.4.8
 libQtDBus.so.4.8.6
 libQtDeclarative.so.4
 libQtDeclarative.so.4.8
 libQtDeclarative.so.4.8.6
 libQtGui.so.4
 libQtGui.so.4.8
 libQtGui.so.4.8.6
 libQtNetwork.so.4
 libQtNetwork.so.4.8
 libQtNetwork.so.4.8.6
 libQtOpenGL.so.4
 libQtOpenGL.so.4.8
 libQtOpenGL.so.4.8.6
 libQtScript.so.4
 libQtScript.so.4.8
 libQtScript.so.4.8.6
 libQtSql.so.4
 libQtSql.so.4.8
 libQtSql.so.4.8.6
 libQtSvg.so.4
 libQtSvg.so.4.8
 libQtSvg.so.4.8.6
 libQtXml.so.4
 libQtXml.so.4.8
 libQtXml.so.4.8.6
 libQtXmlPatterns.so.4
 libQtXmlPatterns.so.4.8
 libQtXmlPatterns.so.4.8.6
/usr/lib/qt4
/usr/lib/qt4/bin
 qdbus
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/accessible
 libqtaccessiblewidgets.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/bearer
 libqconnmanbearer.so
 libqgenericbearer.so
 libqnmbearer.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/codecs
 libqcncodecs.so
 libqjpcodecs.so
 libqkrcodecs.so
 libqtwcodecs.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/designer
 libqdeclarativeview.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/graphicssystems
 libqglgraphicssystem.so
 libqtracegraphicssystem.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/iconengines
 libqsvgicon.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/imageformats
 libqgif.so
 libqico.so
 libqjpeg.so
 libqmng.so
 libqsvg.so
 libqtga.so
 libqtiff.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/inputmethods
 libqimsw-multi.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/qmltooling
 libqmldbg_inspector.so
 libqmldbg_tcp.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/script
 libqtscriptdbus.so
/usr/lib/qt4/plugins/sqldrivers
 libqsqlite.so
/usr/share
/usr/share/qtchooser
 qt4-i386-linux-gnu.conf

what happened here?

and the issue
urxvt
Code:
# which qmake
/usr/bin/qmake
# /usr/bin/qmake
qmake: could not find a Qt installation of ''
# qmake -qt=qt4
qmake: could not find a Qt installation of 'qt4'
# qtconfig
qtconfig: could not find a Qt installation of ''
#


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 03 Feb 2015, 03:39    Post subject:  

hi scabz,

you've stumbled upon a problem that has needed solving in tahrpup!

because the repos contain both qt4 and qt5 ubuntu created a binary wrapper called qtchooser to select between versions,
i couldn't figure out how to use it !

there is definitely stuff missing from the devx ... qmake for one, but maybe other headers

maybe we needed our own more conventional qt dev package

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 366
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 03 Feb 2015, 05:56    Post subject:  

Well first we need think about what version of Qt we want, Qt in the devx is 4.8.5 but the installed Qt is 4.8.6.
How did that happen?

I could compile Qt but the devx would have to be clobbered with a Qt.pet because a sfs would not work. the builtin Qt would have to also be clobbered with a pet cuzz missing qtwebkit and other stuff not included in builin Qt.

If Qt is in the iso it should be full Qt and not just parts that make one program work. 1 program is not worth having Qt included because Qt would have 2 be clobbered for other programs to work.

including full Qt would make the iso larger, thats why full Qt is normaly in sfs form and not included.

It would be good to remove Qt from the devx, that way a Qt_DEV.sfs
could be loaded easily to compile. it would be best to remove Qt from iso and devx that way none have to be clobbered with a pet and sfs's could be loaded instead saves more space that way.

Is that something you could do?

what do you think about this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1627
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Tue 03 Feb 2015, 10:01    Post subject:  

@scabz,
If you create a "Qt_DEV.sfs" and then rename it as the "adrv" or "ydrv", it's files will cover the files in both the puppy.sfs and the devx.sfs.
An easy way to test things.
gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 03 Feb 2015, 14:33    Post subject:  

that's an ubuntu thing .... the packages are named eg
libqtcore4_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg-2ubuntu4_i386.deb
but if you extract it it's libQtCore.so.4.8.6 (maybe we can get the exact git version)

the main piece of qt missing is qtwebkit as it's big, 8mb compressed , it also draws in gstreamer 1.0 & it's base plugins and makes the iso 210mb ish.

it would be nice to have a full qt4.sfs including all dev packages..we should probably also have a qt5.sfs as well. these would only really be useful for people wanting to compile

but i guess if someone can figure out the qtchooser we wouldn't need a qt.sfs. http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/utopic/man1/qtchooser.1.html

as for clobbering ... that shouldn't matter if the qt is the same version as in the repos ... in fact it needs to be the same version or it will cause problems.

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 366
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Tue 03 Feb 2015, 20:58    Post subject:  

Quote:
@scabz,
If you create a "Qt_DEV.sfs" and then rename it as the "adrv" or "ydrv", it's files will cover the files in both the puppy.sfs and the devx.sfs.
An easy way to test things.
gyro
gyro thanks for the info didnt know that worked on tahrpup.
What is the differences between adrv and ydrv?

Quote:
that's an ubuntu thing .... the packages are named eg
libqtcore4_4.8.5+git192-g085f851+dfsg-2ubuntu4_i386.deb
but if you extract it it's libQtCore.so.4.8.6 (maybe we can get the exact git version)
that's just weird you would think that the package names would correspond with lib versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1627
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Feb 2015, 05:15    Post subject:  

scabz wrote:
What is the differences between adrv and ydrv?
Not much in actual function in that they both load above the puppy.sfs in the aufs stack. But I understand they have different notional purposes.
I see the "adrv" as an application sfs.
And the "ydrv" as a patch sfs.
gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 25 of 56 [832 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1293s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0670s) ][ GZIP on ]