Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 22 Aug 2019, 07:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
tahrpup 6.0, 6.0.2 & 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 56 [832 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 10:30    Post subject:  

Re ndiswrapper:

In Tahrpup 6.0-nonpae, I ran "modprobe ndiswrapper" and got a "not found" error. So I ran "depmod -a" and "modprobe ndiswrapper". That found the module but returned a "could not insert" error.

That suggests a problem with the kernel version. I tried to compile ndiswrapper 159 from source, but it failed with numerous problems.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Fri 31 Oct 2014, 12:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 10:47    Post subject:  

ariel wrote:
is the atl1c module and ath9k supported by puppy tahr or not?

I checked this in a machine with a PCI ath9k card and it worked fine using PWF as the connection manager.

If you have done a frugal install, remember to include the zdrv_tahr_6.0.sfs file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12456
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 11:01    Post subject:  

ariel wrote:
I cannot connect to the internet. I use a netbook with atheros wired and wireless board. When I try to find a module manually I can find none. My question is: is the atl1c module and ath9k supported by puppy tahr or not?

From my Sysinfo:
Manufacturer=NETGEAR WNA
Product=WNA1100
Driver=ath9k_htc

ath9k was there and working for me with no problems.
Network Wizard had my wireless detected and all I had to do was normal required setup.

Does Network Wizard see your hardware?

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 11:27    Post subject:  

Ndiswrapper update:

I got new sources from Ubuntu. This compiled and works in non-pae. I don't know if it also works in pae.
ndiswrapper_1.59_2_tahr_60_nopae-k3.14.20.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ndiswrapper_1.59_2_tahr_60_nopae-k3.14.20.pet 
Filesize  94.71 KB 
Downloaded  3914 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3444
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 11:53    Post subject:  

thank rcrsn51
you beat me to it.

it seems PAE and noPAE need there own ndiswrapper, i thought as the kernel was the same version it wouldn't matter but it does... which means the one included in tahrpup only works with PAE, and then only after 'depmod -a'

ideally it should have been in the zdrv

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3444
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 11:59    Post subject: Re: transparent conky?  

tubeguy wrote:
I don't know if this is a tahr bug or just my inexperience with conky, trying to get Linux_Australis to be tranparent, here is my conkyrc:


hi tubeguy,

try resetting the wallpaper.
here's an example script you could put in /root/Startup
Code:
#!/bin/sh
sleep 5
set_bg /usr/share/backgrounds/default.png

you may need to alter the sleep value

and tahrpup has vlc intstead of mplayer

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ariel


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 12:19    Post subject:  

Ok guys I have solved my problem with the internet connection.

I have a frugal install and I copied
vmlinuz
initrd.gz
zdrv_tahr_6.0.sfs

in the booting usb stick. In these conditions I didn't get loaded the zdrv file and my internet connection didn't work. Then I've copied these same files in the hard drive partition and everything works fine Very Happy

By the way atl1c for my wired connection seems to have not been implemented in puppy tahr because I can only connect with ath9k wireless module. please correct me if I'm wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 12:27    Post subject:  

ariel wrote:
By the way atl1c for my wired connection seems to have not been implemented in puppy tahr because I can only connect with ath9k wireless module. please correct me if I'm wrong.

The atl1c driver is present. Run: modinfo atl1c

And it installs manually. Run: modprobe atl1c

Check for error messages. Run: dmesg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ariel


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 12:55    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:

The atl1c driver is present. Run: modinfo atl1c

And it installs manually. Run: modprobe atl1c

Check for error messages. Run: dmesg



thanks for pointing me in the right direction. I've followed your instructions but I can't see my wired board recognized.

I attach a file with the dmesg output.
errormsg.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  errormsg.tar 
Filesize  40 KB 
Downloaded  255 Time(s) 

Last edited by ariel on Fri 31 Oct 2014, 13:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 13:05    Post subject:  

I can't read the errormsg.txt file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ariel


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 13:24    Post subject:  

my bad. I've uploaded a new file with the error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1329
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 14:21    Post subject: Re: transparent conky?  

666philb wrote:
tubeguy wrote:
I don't know if this is a tahr bug or just my inexperience with conky, trying to get Linux_Australis to be tranparent, here is my conkyrc:


hi tubeguy,

try resetting the wallpaper.
here's an example script you could put in /root/Startup
Code:
#!/bin/sh
sleep 5
set_bg /usr/share/backgrounds/default.png

you may need to alter the sleep value

and tahrpup has vlc intstead of mplayer


Thank you, looks like the issue was the wallpaper itself, it was a jpg which I converted to png and transparency works now.

_________________
Tahr Pup 6 on desktop, Lucid 3HD on lappie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 16:06    Post subject:  

@ariel: You can see the error messages at the end of your dmesg output. These seem to be occurring with some old drivers in some new kernels.

There is a lot of confusing information about this error on the web, but here is something to try:

1. Go to the folder /etc/modprobe.d

2. Create a file named atl1c.conf. Add the line
Code:
alias netdev-eth0 eth0

3. Reboot

4. Type: ifconfig -a eth0. Do you get an eth0 interface?

5. Type: ifconfig eth0 up. Do you get an error?

6. Type: dhcpcd eth0. Do you get an IP address?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ariel


Joined: 03 Jul 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 17:01    Post subject:  

@ rcrsn51

I've followed the instructions but stopped at point 4

Code:
# ifconfig -a eth0
ifconfig: eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found


have you any other suggestion?

anyway, thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LoboGrande

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 18:35    Post subject: No sound card found  

Tahr pup 6.0 won't find the audio card on my '07 Toshiba Tecra M5. It won't even recognize my keyboard when running from a live cd on my Asus M5A97 mobo. Tahr 5.8.3 had no problems at all. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 56 [832 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0786s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0254s) ][ GZIP on ]