Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 23 Aug 2019, 00:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
tahrpup 6.0, 6.0.2 & 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 56 [832 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 2083
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Fri 31 Oct 2014, 20:25    Post subject:  

I've just updated jwmthememaker to v 1.6. Now it can generate preview pics (for jwm theme swicther automagically. If anyone would test and report, will be much appreciated

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=330721#330721

I tried, it wont work correctly.

1. font list is listed with full path
2. ffmpeg is not installed

edit:
Version 1.6.1: fix fc-list compatibility. Fully working for precise 5.7.1 and slacko 5.7, also with fc-list of tahr 6.0 (but tahr needs proper ffmpeg to make jwmthememaker create preview pics, other than that it works)

_________________
My apps

Last edited by trio on Sat 01 Nov 2014, 07:35; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1122
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 05:08    Post subject:  

Thanks to the all the developers of this great version. This has made my weekend.

Tried to create an encrypted save file (light) on first shutdown. Won't let me log in on next boot up. Unencrypted save file is fine.

Also, when trying to update the PPM, I'm getting a little error message on the yellow screen among the rest of the scrolling messages that there is a "compilation failure". Doesn't seem to cause any obvious problems though. Will keep an eye on it and post any adverse effects back here.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3960
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 05:57    Post subject:  

A report of problems with VIA Unichrome PRO S3G IGP graphics at:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96271

akshayk wrote:
I tried booting with pfix=nox option. Then, after running xorgwizard, I was presented with the keyboard and time setting screens (They worked fine). Then I had the screen which asked the type of driver for xorg. It had only one option- modesetting unaccelerated driver I chose it, and then it asked for the resolution. I chose NOTHING Let Xorg guess it. Then I asked to "Test X Now" After clicking enter, there was a black screen with no monitor input. I also tried 640x480 resolution, but with the same result.

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 967
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 06:03    Post subject:  

Probably turn out to just me, but to make sure, can someone open /proc with Rox, and see what happens. If no-one else has a problem, I shall say no more...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1727

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 07:09    Post subject:  

tronkel wrote:
Tried to create an encrypted save file (light) on first shutdown. Won't let me log in on next boot up.

Just created a 64MiB savefile with password test and all is ok.
Did you use some special characters or diacritics?
If so, perhaps specifying pkeys=your_keyboard_layout at boot would help...
___________

Keef wrote:
Probably turn out to just me, but to make sure, can someone open /proc with Rox, and see what happens. If no-one else has a problem, I shall say no more...

Yeah, the old annoyance with Rox. Rolling Eyes
Happens if Thumbnails are enabled.
Latest version has it fixed, I think thanks to this commit.
___________

@666philb: (a little late, but) Congrats! Smile

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12461
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 10:17    Post subject:  

Keef wrote:
Probably turn out to just me, but to make sure, can someone open /proc with Rox, and see what happens. If no-one else has a problem, I shall say no more...

What I see:
In Rox
click on /proc
it opens to show contents.
However, Rox screen is frozen.
Right click at top of window and choose kill.
Window closes and desktop disappears to black screen.
Have to restart X-server to get desktop back.

Tried SFR's above pet for Rox.
Does not seem to fix problem for me.

666philb,
Are you pulling your hair yet? Laughing

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1727

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 12:16    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Tried SFR's above pet for Rox.
Does not seem to fix problem for me.

It's ok here (see screenie). Did you restart X?
I replaced only the main binary: /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer.

Greetings!
Screenshot.gif
 Description   
 Filesize   185.02 KB
 Viewed   931 Time(s)

Screenshot.gif


_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3444
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 14:44    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

666philb,
Are you pulling your hair yet? Laughing


whats left Very Happy

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 517
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 15:10    Post subject:  

Hi,
I installed Tahrpup6 to my 1gb usb manually using isolinux.
I wanted to create savefolder on my hard drive.
But at shutdown it only gives me option to make savefile and that too in my usb only.
Could you suggest anything I should do.

Thanks.

- Neeraj.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."
- Ken Thompson

“We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run.”
- Amara’s Law.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1874
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 15:28    Post subject:  

neerajkolte wrote:
Hi,
I installed Tahrpup6 to my 1gb usb manually using isolinux.
I wanted to create savefolder on my hard drive.
But at shutdown it only gives me option to make savefile and that too in my usb only.
Could you suggest anything I should do.


You should boot with boot option:

Code:
boot: pmedia=atahd


But copying main files vmlinuz, initrd.gz, syslinux.cfg and the main sfs to hd is needed. syslinux.cfg on the hd should contain "pmedia=atahd" (in the APPEND line?). Not yet tested in tahr. Working in other puppies. You can boot a standard frugal install in a dir on the hd from the usb stick with the same boot option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 967
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 17:46    Post subject:  

@SFR

Took the binary from your .pet and it works as advertised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12461
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 18:18    Post subject:  

SFR wrote:
bigpup wrote:
Tried SFR's above pet for Rox.
Does not seem to fix problem for me.

It's ok here (see screenie). Did you restart X?
I replaced only the main binary: /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer.

Greetings!

OK.
Installed rox_filer-140729.pet
Did the secret step restart X server. Shocked Laughing
open /proc in Rox now works.

side effect:
The desktop background changed to Gray screen from an image.

For some reason the desktop console icon has changed to a sym link.

I just lost a hair from pulling Laughing
capture4205.png
 Description   
 Filesize   22.75 KB
 Viewed   787 Time(s)

capture4205.png


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1727

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 18:37    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
side effect:
The desktop background changed to Gray screen from an image.

For some reason the desktop console icon has changed to a sym link

Most likely some config files in that pet differ from those in Tahr (it's a package for Slacko 6, after all).
If you uninstall it and replace only the binary as Keef did, things should back to normal. Cool
PS. Don't forget the secret step. Wink

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12461
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 19:09    Post subject:  

I think I will let 666philb tweak it with an update and see if he did it right.
He now knows what should work to fix Rox.

I hear head scratching sounds now Laughing

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
luiscuadrado123


Joined: 29 Jan 2014
Posts: 58

PostPosted: Sat 01 Nov 2014, 20:06    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
luiscuadrado123 wrote:
how can i install nvidia driver???


i've made a request for someone to build the nvidia drivers... hopefully they'll be available soon


thanks!!! i will waiting for it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 56 [832 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 54, 55, 56 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0703s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]