Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 17 Oct 2017, 06:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 113 of 116 [1729 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116 Next
Author Message
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 232

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2017, 06:43    Post subject:  

@trikly

I look forward to testing your new apulse pet(s). Will separate 64 and 32
bit versions be necessary?

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1610
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 26 Apr 2017, 07:50    Post subject:  

Hello trlkly,

I think it is good for us to have as many people as possible posting .pet packages so go ahead and post yours.

The storage repos kindly provided by smokey01 are well-established in Puppy circles and used by a number of enthusiasts. Senior developers decide what goes in the ibiblio repos which appear in the package manager. Otherwise you do have to browse the forum a bit to find stuff sometimes.

I am not an official provider of Puppy packages, just an enthusiast who likes to learn by experimenting and I upload some things to invite comment and in case they are of use to anyone. Everything should be treated as "for testing purposes".

From time to time I will upload updates of packages (EDIT:- now updated to release 0.1.10). The apulse 0.1.8 was released and built not long ago and a few people found it worked for them. The issue with apulse is that it can be installed as an overwrite (in /usr/lib) in which case the apulse wrapper is not needed, or you can install it somewhere else to avoid conflicts, but then the user has to launch via the wrapper.

As far as I know, standard official Puppy does not have the pulseaudio package and does not have any included programs which use it, but users may install pulseaudio or other programs which might drag it in as a dependency. Puppy does have the pulse libraries though as these are often needed as runtime dependency shared libs. The apulse thing is a workaround which sets up a re-direct to alsa, so there is no "catch-all" and users have to consider what is best for them.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TIW

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 20:51    Post subject: gmeassure
Subject description: radio button
 

Hi. Tahrpup has an application by the name of “gmeassure”.
Unfortunately it is not possible to make the window smaller ( moving it to the Tray if needed because the window is missing the third button ( for minimizing the window ) in the top- right- hand- window- corner .
Is there any way to add that button to achieve that ?
Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TIW

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 21:03    Post subject: Tahrpup 6.0.6
Subject description: Lumina 950
 

Hi.
Having swapped Precise-pup for Tahrpup I found I can’t access my mobile phone’s picture file anymore. I am sure it is a driver problem. The question is which driver is missing. As you can see from the picture below Tahrpup actually recognizes the camera, Tahrpup even opens the folder in question but fails to show those pictures inside.
As I already mentioned I do not have that problem with Precise 5.7.1. Has anybody got an idea how to fix that problem ? Thank you for your help.
Lumina 950.png
 Description   
 Filesize   29.93 KB
 Viewed   1792 Time(s)

Lumina 950.png

Folder.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12 KB
 Viewed   1781 Time(s)

Folder.png

folder 2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.04 KB
 Viewed   1782 Time(s)

folder 2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11623
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 27 Apr 2017, 21:45    Post subject:  

Try clicking the ROX Rescan button - the blue "recycle" icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse

Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 497
Location: Canary Islands

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 03:48    Post subject: Re: Tahrpup 6.0.6
Subject description: Lumina 950
 

TIW wrote:
Hi.
Having swapped Precise-pup for Tahrpup I found I can’t access my mobile phone’s picture file anymore. I am sure it is a driver problem. The question is which driver is missing. As you can see from the picture below Tahrpup actually recognizes the camera, Tahrpup even opens the folder in question but fails to show those pictures inside.
As I already mentioned I do not have that problem with Precise 5.7.1. Has anybody got an idea how to fix that problem ? Thank you for your help.


If you use a pin number to sign into your phone,it has to be in the unlocked state to be able to see the photos inside the directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 2050
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Apr 2017, 11:15    Post subject: Re: Tahrpup 6.0.6
Subject description: Lumina 950
 

Brown Mouse wrote:


If you use a pin number to sign into your phone,it has to be in the unlocked state to be able to see the photos inside the directory.


I thought you said you had given up on Puppy and didn't even look in the forum any more...ot is this a different Brown Mouse?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TIW

Joined: 14 Apr 2011
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sat 13 May 2017, 23:07    Post subject: Lumina 959
Subject description: Missing pictures
 

Hi everybody.
I think I narrowed the problem down a bit.
Maybe somebody can enlighten me here.

Having problems using pupcamera I wonder why the pictures on my windows phone Lumina 950
can be seen with no problems using Precise 5.7.1 but I am unable to see those using Tahrpup 6.0.5

Tahrpup 6.0.5 ( pupcamera )
Those are the files generated using pupcamera

/tmp/pupcamera_ports
/usr/sbin/pupcamera
/usr/share/applications.in/pupcamera.desktop
/usr/share/applications/pupcamera.desktop
/usr/share/locale/de/LC_MESSAGES/pupcamera.mo


Precise 5.7.1 ( pupcamera )
Those are the files generated using pupcamera

/tmp/pupcamera_dlg
/tmp/pupcamera_ports
/usr/sbin/pupcamera
/usr/share/applications/pupcamera.desktop

The difference seems to be the file

/tmp/pupcamera_dlg

which is missing in Tahrpup 6.0.5

What generates this file ?
Is this file responsible for not assessing my pictures in Tahrpup ?

Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 254
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue 30 May 2017, 14:38    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
@trikly

OscarTalks has provided both 32 and 64 bit apulse pets:
http://www.smokey01.com/OscarTalks/

It would be nice if apulse is not installed since other browsers are
negatively affected. It should activate before Firefox is invoked and
deactivate when FF exits in some automatic fashion.

Actually, the latest version of palemoon is quite good, and I'm now
ready to abandon FF for the time being since I don't like chrome and
its derivatives. It's disgusting that the FF developers said "screw you"
to some Linux distros and left us searching for alternatives.

Art


Apulse is such a huge amount of un-needed junk. Another Hardware abstraction layer. If someone thought they needed a better sound i/o why aren't they smart enough to replace alsa rather then sit more bloat on top of it? I was a firefox user forever but Its being updated almost as often as Windows. I went to Linux and Firefox to avoid needing to waste hours of time downloading patches and fixes. Anyway long story made short I've been trying to get used to Opera but I admit I never gave palemoon a chance. I always had some fear it was more open to being hacked (For what reason I don't remember) Anyway - I'm glad I'm not the only one done with FF.

Oh! Don't you find it interesting that Microsoft eliminated support for alsa in Skype? Thats when I decided to ditch Skype. When Microsoft bought the company I was fairly sure it would be a screwed up mess soon enough.

_________________
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 254
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Tue 30 May 2017, 14:53    Post subject: Sudden Rash of stuff running in the background
Subject description: kworker, migration, ksoftirqd, kpsmoused, ksmd
 

This is probably not related to Tharpup because I never saw all this "Stuff" when I installed it but I was having some really weird system slowdowns that I've been thinking were just running too many programs at once or had too many browser tabs.

I ran HTOP and nearly had a heart attack. With nothing other then the system running I was used to a page of things and I knew what they were for the most part but oh my gosh. Look at all this garbage running in the background.

crypto
bioset
cciss_scan
ata_sff
cifsiod
defer_wq
devfreq_wq
fsnotify_mark
gnome-pty-helper
hd-audio0
iprt-VBoxWQueue
jdb2/sda4-8
jdb2/sdc1-8
jbd2/sdc2-8
kblockd
kdevtmpfs\khelper
khubd
khigepaged
kintegrityd
klogd
kmemstick
kpsmoused
kefcommd
ksmd
ksoftirqd/0 and /1
kswapd0
kthreadd
kvub300c also d and p
kworker /0:0 also :0H :1 :1H :2 :0 :-H :1 :1H :2 :3 kworker/u4:1 and 2
loop0~10
md
migration/0 also 1
netns
nfsiod
ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 -o umask=0,no_def_opts,silent
nvme
nvme
raid5wq
rcuzzz-preempt also _schd
rpciod
scsi_eh_0 ~ 4
zdchi_tmf_0 ~ 4
syslogd -m 0
tifm
usb-storage
writeback
xfs_mru_cache
xfsalloc
xfslogd

I'm sorry if there is the odd routine in the list that everyone knows is supposed to be running but what is all the rest of this? I've Googled a few and the limited comments are "What is this" followed by no answer. Linus T even posted something about one of these asking wtf. I hope its just some program I installed (That I can uninstall) otherwise I'm concerned my machine is another BOT.

Btw I tried SIGTERMing and KILL and the stuff I tried it on ignores the commands and keeps on sucking the life out of my machine.

_________________
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1926
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Tue 30 May 2017, 20:05    Post subject: What are you running?  

Hi James186282,

What are you running? Your computer specs, especially RAM and CPU(s)? Which of Tahrpup's possible kernels? What SFSes are loaded? What pets have you installed?

I'm currently posting from (i think the original) Tahrpup version on a Dell Latitude E6400: 3.14.56 Kernel, 3 Gb Ram, Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8700 @ 2.53GHz.

On bootup, 3 SFSes are loaded, but not opened: Gimp, LibreOffice, Slimjet. There's about a dozen applications I've "installed". Most of them are small as, whenever possible, I use SFSes of applications which would occupy a significant amount of "Save Space". Additionally, many of the installed pets are merely links to applications run as "program folders": an application decompressed to a folder on /mnt/home. A couple years ago I ran comparative tests on applications installed as pets, loaded as SFSes and linked as "program folders", discovering that their RAM requirements at bootup were in that order and entailed significant differences.

Currently with only (firefox) Light and Htop running, Htop reports that the above system only uses less than 20% of its RAM and CPU. None of the "odd" processes you reported appeared. RAM usually is under 10%. With PupSysInfo opened, (some of) the "odd" processes you reported appear, but are using O% of CPU.

Googling suggests that many of the "odd" processes come into play on a system low in RAM. Tahrpup's minimum is 512 Mbs. That's what's needed for it to run, not run well.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 254
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Wed 31 May 2017, 14:36    Post subject:  

Hi Mikesir:

Its an AMD64 Athlon X2 (Whatever the last fastest CPU was) I have 4 GB of ram *I didn't know I could get it to use 8 GB and have been considering that but I don't this its the problem because other machines with slower CPUs and 1 GB of ram run fine. For example I have a couple thinkpads (Nothing super new) that run like rockets and show the normal short list of routines running when your not actively running a routine like Firefox or whatever (*Side note: Anyone know why Firefox has to have 20+ listings in Htop?) Anyhow on everything I'm using Thar Pup 6.0.5 and it was screamingly (If thats a word) faster then blazes on the AMD tower. I must have installed something really bad and all of this rubbish arrived. My machine is suddenly Microsoft Windows Slow. Which should be a measurment in frustraition or anger.

For example. When that kid threw a rock through my window I was 5 MWSs mad. Or... I took my car to have the battery replaced and it took 3 weeks to be ready. Is that a 9.5 on the MWS scale or what?

On .sfs files I have a few that load but its always been my thought that they didn't slow down the machine unless you were actually running them? I'll have to try to grock that. Anyway good thought so I'll try unloading everything .sfs wise and see if it does anything.

Puppy has been the best fastest thing (and easiest) but now I'm able to type faster then its displaying text! This is a 10 on the WTFs / MWSs!

Anyone who can assist me in figuring this out will make my day!!!

_________________
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 649

PostPosted: Wed 31 May 2017, 14:57    Post subject:  

James186282 wrote:
.

Puppy has been the best fastest thing (and easiest) but now I'm able to type faster then its displaying text! This is a 10 on the WTFs / MWSs!

Anyone who can assist me in figuring this out will make my day!!!


Some thoughts:
1. Try a new browser or re-install an old old one.
2. Check for bottlenecks in system resourses: eg. ram, storage etc.
3. See what process you have running:
ps -aux

Maybe you can shut down sime services that you don't use.

If all else fails, then re-insall puppy, or insall a new puppy on a different drive, partition, file or folder.

P.S. killall should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 254
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Wed 31 May 2017, 17:33    Post subject:  

I tried opera for the browser the command you gave seems to be identical in which routines are running. I'm going to do a new frugal install just as a sanity check but I'm 99% sure it won't have all this background - bloat.

I'm listening to Security Now and it sounds like that NSA snooping program is making a huge mess of a large percentage of computers out there. *Windows only I think.

_________________
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1926
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 31 May 2017, 18:14    Post subject:  

SFSes, when loaded but not opened, require less RAM than an installed pet, but more RAM than a Program Folder. I ran the tests using LibreOffice and posted a table of the results: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84457.

As Tahrpup ran well when you first installed it, you're probably correct that what's slowing it down is something you installed (or got installed without your permission). Always run Frugal Installs with AutoSave turned off. See, http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=662326#662326: for Tahrpup, you can skip to the last couple of pages. And to be especially safe, use a SaveFile rather than a SaveFolder which sometimes (don't know why) may not delete all the files of applications you install and then uninstall.

Usually the worst offenders for hogging RAM are internet caches. They are files in a hidden folder, /root/.cache. If your web-browser permits it, have it clear cache when it shuts down or run an addon/extension to clear cache/history/etc. Alternatively, move the .cache folder out of /root to /mnt/home/SOMEPLACE and symlink it back. I do both; web-browser caches reside in a folder named Browser-Cache. As a hidden folder I might otherwise accidentally delete it and browsers, not finding it might create a new one, again in /root. AFAIK, Puppies treat everything in /root as essential and therefore to be loaded. A symlink takes up a couple bytes. 15 Minutes of browsing the internet can generate a couple hundred Mbs.

To also keep things out of /root, move my-documents folder to /mnt/home and symlink it back. Applications will still offer as their default options to open data files from and create data files in /my-documents, but now those documents will physically be on your hard-drive not your SaveFile/Folder or in RAM. Doing this is particularly important if you've removed the Automatic Save.

You can also run Menu>Filesystem>gdmap graphical disk usage. Shinobar discusses its usage here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=62110

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 113 of 116 [1729 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1159s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0305s) ][ GZIP on ]