Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 16 Dec 2017, 22:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 116 of 117 [1748 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 114, 115, 116, 117 Next
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1498
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 15 Oct 2017, 23:04    Post subject:  

augras wrote:

I'm with tarhpup 6.0.5 and all quickpet updates made.

I get a problem when i want to print with a recent firefox, glabels and thunderbird, all gtk3 applications : when i want to print the software closes.
I get this error in the terminal
Code:
symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/gtk-3.0/3.0.0/printbackends/libprintbackend-cups.so: undefined symbol: ippSetOperation

It seems there is a compatibility problem between cups and gtk3.
Cups is in 1.5.3 version.


Try to upgrade to tahr 6.0.6 Cups 1.7.5. No problems here printing from firefox 56.0.1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
augras

Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1456
Location: france

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 13:04    Post subject:  

Thank you watchdog,
i will try 6.0.6.
Philippe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
augras

Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1456
Location: france

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 13:44    Post subject:  

It works fine on 6.0.6.
Thank you for the idea.
Is it possible to update 6.0.5 to 6.0.6 ?
I have a lot of software and my pupsave folder is around 2Go, so if it is possible to update it will be a very good thing.
Philippe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9704
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 16 Oct 2017, 19:09    Post subject:  

Should be able to use the 6.0.5 tahrsave with the 6.0.6 install.
Just copy the save to the 6.0.6 install.
When you boot 6.0.6 it should update the save.

If you already made a save for 6.0.6, replace it with the one from 6.0.5

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
augras

Joined: 11 Nov 2013
Posts: 1456
Location: france

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 06:12    Post subject:  

Hi,
Thanks bigpup,
It doesn't work very well : it's slow and some softwares don't work at all.
I will begin with a new one and maybe try xenialpup.
Philippe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9704
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 21 Oct 2017, 10:04    Post subject:  

Could you give more details?
This should not be happening.
What programs do not work?
Slow how?
Both versions are installed on the same type formatted partition?
Did not have one on say fat32 and one on ext3?
Was the save a file or a folder?

Sorry but I have to ask.
32 bit Tahrpup 6.0.5 to 32 bit 6.0.6?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkstrike


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 174
Location: Fauxburg, Nova Scotia, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 22 Oct 2017, 11:16    Post subject:  

Hi all! I've not checked in for a long time as Linux Mint is my main distro nowadays, but I've always had a soft spot for Puppy as it's where I first dove in when I started tinkering with Linux. Smile

Just curious if anybody knows whether there is a later (the current LTS 16.04 maybe?) Ubuntu-based Puplet in development somewhere...?

Cheers! Very Happy


EDIT - Ignore the above, just found XenialPip....going to give it a whirl! Smile

_________________

In memory of the dogs I've loved...Molly and Farrah...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
newpet

Joined: 08 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:26    Post subject:  

Hi.

I can't launch Palemoon with 'spot'. I get several error messages.
I have not problems with opera or iron.
Any clue/help?

Thanks
capture24697.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  capture24697.png 
Filesize  40.26 KB 
Downloaded  37 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1498
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 08:25    Post subject:  

Developers wrote a script "run-as-spot" to launch any app as spot. I do not remember if included in tahr. Open pfind and search for it. You can copy it from other recent puppies in the same path. Then in console:

Code:
run-as-spot palemoon


If you want to use your .moonchild productions profile in root copy it in /root/spot and in console:

Code:
chown -R spot /root/spot


LATER: run-as-spot is included in tahr 6.0.6 and it works.
pic.png
 Description   
 Filesize   84.61 KB
 Viewed   451 Time(s)

pic.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elypter

Joined: 25 Oct 2017
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 17:49    Post subject:  

is there a 6.0.6 iso without uefi, 64bit or pae?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 18:09    Post subject:  

elypter wrote:
is there a 6.0.6 iso without uefi, 64bit or pae?
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/puppy-tahr/iso/tahrpup%20-6.0-CE/tahr-6.0.6-uefi.iso

Here's all you need from that:
Code:

-rw-r--r--  1 root root   1525211 Feb 15  2017 initrd.gz
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 209301504 Feb 15  2017 puppy_tahr_6.0.6.sfs
-rwxr-xr-x  1 root root   4871472 Dec 13  2016 vmlinuz
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  34152448 Feb 15  2017 zdrv_tahr_6.0.6.sfs

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
newpet

Joined: 08 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2017, 22:57    Post subject:    

Thank you, Watchdog.

I'm able to run palemoon by 'run-as-spot' [run-as-spot defaultbrowser].
Also, I moved the palemoon profile folder inside 'spot' folder. It seems to work, the terminal windows needs to be left open though.

However, I'm not sure about browser segregation, since I can still open/save files everywhere from the browser itself.
Consistently, I couldn't, am I wrong?

Thanks.

_/\________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1498
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 26 Oct 2017, 03:06    Post subject:  

newpet wrote:
Thank you, Watchdog.

I'm able to run palemoon by 'run-as-spot' [run-as-spot defaultbrowser].
Also, I moved the palemoon profile folder inside 'spot' folder. It seems to work, the terminal windows needs to be left open though.


If you are going to use spot user for browsing everything I suggest to edit /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser inserting the run-as-spot there.

Quote:
However, I'm not sure about browser segregation, since I can still open/save files everywhere from the browser itself.
Consistently, I couldn't, am I wrong?


What you open/save after using run-as-spot have user spot and another user can't open them. Root can always access your files. Are you saying that you can open files having user root after using run-as-spot? That would be odd!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
newpet

Joined: 08 May 2015
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu 26 Oct 2017, 05:36    Post subject:  

Thanks for helping watchdog.

I moved 'run-as-spot' to /usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser, as you suggested (brief explaination?)

When spot, I can't save/modify any file outside spot folder, as expected.

I can always open/read all my files regardless their location from 'open file' in palemoon though. Correct?

_/\________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1498
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 26 Oct 2017, 06:23    Post subject:  

newpet wrote:

I can always open/read all my files regardless their location from 'open file' in palemoon though. Correct?


Yes, it's correct. I presume you open files in palemoon running as spot after you saved them by the same palemoon: they have user spot. Try to open a file in palemoon running as spot after saving it in standard palemoon running as root. You could not open it. I suggest to you to collect al files you download in palemoon running as spot in a single folder: if you look the Properties of these files then you see they have all user spot. You can change the ownership to root in console:

Code:
chown root /path-to/file


or recursively:

Code:
chown -R root /path-to/Downloads
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 116 of 117 [1748 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 114, 115, 116, 117 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0551s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]