Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 May 2018, 21:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 117 of 119 [1772 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 115, 116, 117, 118, 119 Next
Author Message
newpet

Joined: 08 May 2015
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu 26 Oct 2017, 15:53    Post subject:  

@ watchdog, thanks for your quick reply.

As you stated, I can't actually access any file saved as standard palemoon when I run as spot.
Addictionally, I can't save any file outside spot folder.

Said that, it's always possible to see each folder tree of my system and read text files from 'spot-palemoon', no matter where they are nested.

Not properly a perfect solution, but certainly a further protection while browsing.

grazie per le utili informazioni

_/\________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
newpet

Joined: 08 May 2015
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Mon 30 Oct 2017, 15:52    Post subject:  

Hi Phil and welcome back !

Tahrpup 6.0.6 32bit and eeePC.

Each time I log off, tahrpup turns on bluetooth. On following reboot, I always have to enter the bios configuration and manually reset it, since I never use any wireless device.

Tahrpup 6.0.6 does not share this strange behaviour with tahrpup 6.0.5 or xenialpups. Is this fixable?

Thanks

_/\________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1472
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2017, 08:18    Post subject:  

Hi !
Thar Pup 6.0.6 does not show my external usb-harddisk formatted Fat32 when inserted ......pmount also does not. Gparted does .

Tahrpup 6.0.5 does show and mount that Drive .......also Xenial Dog .
Is there somethings missing ....Drivers ---Programms which is included in Tahrpup 6.0.5 and Xenial Dog ?

Thanks in advance !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sun 12 Nov 2017, 02:25    Post subject: can't find save file one level deep
Subject description: tahr 6.06 boot from CD save to NTFS partition
 

Hi all. Been way too long since I've been around and helped with any testing, but I'm trying out Tahr 6.06 and have run across something that I haven't seen mentioned in this thread yet.

I'm working with a painfully slow HP 2000 laptop. Hard drive is NTFS (for Win 10). It's not my machine, so I'm not doing a frugal install or anything that would cause a permanent change - I'm simply booting from CD and saving a save file to the hard drive, which I will move off of the machine later.

I created a "/tahrpup606" folder to hold all the Puppy stuff for easy transfer. The catch is that the boot process doesn't find the save files or the main SFS files that I put in that folder.

When I copy the save file and SFS files to the partition's top level, it finds and loads them perfectly fine, but it doesn't seem to see them one layer deep in the /tahrpup606 folder.


Has anyone else observed this behavior?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1575
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 12 Nov 2017, 04:40    Post subject:  

Copy the CD's content in /tahrpup606 folder where is your savefile. You do not need grub4dos to boot the frugal install. Boot the Cd and use boot option:

Code:
[boot:] puppy pmedia=atahd


I would put any extra sfs file to load at / of the hd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1472
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sun 12 Nov 2017, 05:10    Post subject:  

Torgo wrote
Quote:
I created a "/tahrpup606" folder to hold all the Puppy stuff for easy transfer. The catch is that the boot process doesn't find the save files or the main SFS files that I put in that folder.

Same goes for me........while tahrpup 6.0.5 does boot from a subfolder.
When booting Tahrpup 6.0.6 from / (root) .........it does boot .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
escucha


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun 12 Nov 2017, 06:21    Post subject:  

If you are in the grub loader, then in menu.lst if you must add psubdir referenced as this:

kernel /tahr64-605/vmlinuz psubdir=tahr64-605

along with many others modifiers you can have in.

_________________
Definitely moved to 64bit. A great step for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1575
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 12 Nov 2017, 07:51    Post subject:  

I booted my frugal install on hd of tahr 6.0.6 by the CD. Press tab at the first entry of the boot menu to edit it and change "pmedia=cd" with "pmedia=atahd psubdir=tahrpup606".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
weffy

Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 25 Dec 2017, 18:41    Post subject:  

frugal installed 6.0.6 32 bit

X doesn't immediately start. If I wait a couple minutes, the X dialogue appears and I can type xwin and the normal screen appears. I tried replacing the etc/X11/xorg.conf file with the one from my original Tahr 6.0CE, but it acts the same.

This is a Lenovo Thinkpad with 2x AMD A6-5350M processor and Radeon HD 8450G video card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10422
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 25 Dec 2017, 20:40    Post subject:  

Installed on hard drive partition formatted what?
Using what boot loader?
Are you using the save from the Tahrpup 6.0CE?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
weffy

Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue 26 Dec 2017, 09:07    Post subject:  

The hard drive is formatted as ntfs - the laptop is shared with Windows7.

The pup save is new, it is formatted as ext3. Which i'm thinking may be a mistake. Would ext2 be better?

Not sure about the boot loader. First screen says Windows boot manager. I choose Puppy and second screen is Grub.

Thanks for the response.

edit - the Tahr6.0Ce pupsave is .2fs. I think I shoukd make the 6.0.6 the same. Do I need to delete and start a new one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
weffy

Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Fri 29 Dec 2017, 19:31    Post subject:  

Upon further thought I decided the format of the save file wouldn't matter, I have the option in Grub to load without the save file, and it loads the same. I changed it anyway to ext2, 2 gigs.
I went into BIOS and I changed startup from legacy bios to UEFI. No difference.
It's not a horrible thing to live with- I'll survive. I do like it otherwise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10422
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 30 Dec 2017, 00:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
The hard drive is formatted as ntfs - the laptop is shared with Windows7
.
Any drive that is also used by Windows.

Before installing Puppy

Need to run Windows defrag and chkdsk programs on the ntfs partition to defrag it and check and correct any errors in the ntfs file system.

A fragmented file system can cause all kinds of problems with Puppy installs.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2871
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 09:26    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
The hard drive is formatted as ntfs - the laptop is shared with Windows7
.
Any drive that is also used by Windows.

Before installing Puppy

Need to run Windows defrag and chkdsk programs on the ntfs partition to defrag it and check and correct any errors in the ntfs file system.

A fragmented file system can cause all kinds of problems with Puppy installs.


For a good defragger, I recommend "Defraggler" by Piriform. The included Windows defragger does a poor job, in my opinion. Go to the "builds" page and get the "portable version" (if you come in from the front, you have to wade through several pages to reach "builds", at the bottom of one of the pages)

https://www.piriform.com/defraggler/builds

BTW, I would not generally recommend that you install a frugal Puppy on a Win10 partition. Win10 is hostile to other systems -- my observation is that every time Puppy "modifies" the hard drive, such as copying a file onto it, Win10 decides that it absolutely must do a FULL SCAN of the hard drive, then "fixes" the added file by removing it. I could see it deciding to "fix" your save file, and deleting it...for your "convenience"...

Windows7 seemed to tolerate it - though I actually booted from a USB, which then pointed to the HDD for the system and save files (I didn't want to mess with the boot sequence, which it trickier than on XP systems -- but if you want to do so, see Lin'N'Win for instructions -- I run Lin'N'Win on all of my XP and older machines)

http://www.icpug.org.uk/national/linnwin/step00-linnwin.htm

Incidentally, on WinXP and older, it's easier to do the modifications from Linux (you don't have to unhide files, etc). Drop the files in, edit the boot loader file, and make sure that your menu.lst points to the correct locations.

On my Win10, I run my Puppy on an external USB HDD, velcroed to the back of the lid (for the reasons explained above). When I want to run Win10, I unplug the USB. When I want Puppy, I make sure that it boots from the USB...

If you just want to tinker with the machine, without permanent mods, install to a flash drive or USB HDD. Change to BIOS to look at CD and USB first.

_________________
Add swapfile
WellMinded Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 426
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jan 2018, 17:14    Post subject: screen tearing (sort of)  

I have tahr6.0.2 32bit on a 10 year old intel dualcore desktop. I rebuild it to my liking, it does not look much like tahr anymore Wink

For a year now, I have an ideapad, i5 quadcore, dual graphic cards (intel/nvidia) with windoze10. I don't use windows a lot. I run a collection of modern Puppies on it, kernel at least 4.1.
Now I got the idea to try tahrpup64-6.0.6 on it. With the old 3.14 kernel it does not get to X at all.
So I decided to switch the kernel with the recent 4.9.58 kernel from xenialpup. Now I do get to X! At first sight of the tahr desktop with its beautiful icons, my heart skipped a beat; I recognised again what wonderful build Tahr is.
But there is a little problem: there seems to be some "screen tearing". It appears/disappears in rox or other windows (the browser) when I resize them or scroll. In pupsysinfo the top bar with the menus is black until I click in it. The tearing is not static, it changes (blocks, stripes, black surfaces... ) and it can disappear when I click on another window or on the menu button.
Is there something I can do?

I also noticed that the icons in the applet tray flicker from time to time. I don't think that is normal behaviour?
capture16438.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.16 KB
 Viewed   250 Time(s)

capture16438.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 117 of 119 [1772 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 115, 116, 117, 118, 119 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0907s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0414s) ][ GZIP on ]