Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Nov 2017, 22:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
tahrpup 6.0.5 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 117 [1748 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, ..., 115, 116, 117 Next
Author Message
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 172

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jan 2015, 16:22    Post subject:  

Thank you Terry H and 666philb for your responses, but I still floundered for a couple of hours trying to change the default browser from palemoon to Google Chrome.

I tried entering "Chrome" and "Google Chrome" in both the "Default Applications Chooser" and directly editing the bash file associated with the "browser" icon. No prizes won with those two entries using either method.

After stumbling about for awhile, I discovered that "googlechrome" is the entry that makes the file activate! Just thought I would pass that info along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jan 2015, 17:30    Post subject:
Subject description: Urxvt missing perl modules
 

In tahrpup 6.0, the "tabs" option of the urxvt terminal requires Perl modules that are not available in the standard release, but are available if one loads the devx sfs.

However, loading devx is not necessary.

Listed below are the required files which you can copy from devx_tahr_6.0.sfs, or simply use the attached pet which contains the extracted files.

Adding these files to the base tahrpup will also stop messages in xerrs.log about missing Perl modules when running urxvt.

/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/auto/List/Util/Util.bs
/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/auto/List/Util/Util.so
/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/auto/re/re.bs
/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/auto/re/re.so
/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/List/Util.pm
/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/List/Util/XS.pm
/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/re.pm
/usr/lib/perl/5.18.2/Scalar/Util.pm
/usr/share/perl/5.18.2/integer.pm
/usr/share/perl/5.18.2/utf8.pm
tahrpup_urxvt_perlmodules.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  tahrpup_urxvt_perlmodules.pet 
Filesize  167.22 KB 
Downloaded  215 Time(s) 

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
caiosama


Joined: 02 Jan 2015
Posts: 104
Location: Concepcion, Chile

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jan 2015, 18:11    Post subject:  

Why Conky shows a different space left in the HDD, than the Partview?

(full instalation)

Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
totolanio

Joined: 03 Jan 2015
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jan 2015, 22:36    Post subject:  

When I modify rox-filer setting to use double clicks, it works on files, but not on the "desktop" icons. They are still "single click".

This modification worked in puppy precise 5.7.1 though :'(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9522
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jan 2015, 23:40    Post subject:  

totolanio wrote:
When I modify rox-filer setting to use double clicks, it works on files, but not on the "desktop" icons. They are still "single click".

This modification worked in puppy precise 5.7.1 though :'(

Seems to work OK for me.

There are two settings you have to change.

For desktop icons
go to Rox-filler->Options->Pinboard->Pinboard Behavior
Uncheck single click to open.

Clicking when in Rox
The setting is at Options->Filer Windows->Window Behavior
uncheck single click navigation.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 305
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2015, 11:57    Post subject: lxpanel appearing in tray as running program  

I am running tahrpup 6.0 with LXPanel used as a launcher. It is appearing in the JWM Tray as a running program.

I have checked with JWM Window Management, but there doesn't seem to be a setting which will allow what I want.

Is there any way I can stop it from appearing in the tray?

If I use wbar as a launcher, it does not appear in the tray. My preference is to use lxpanel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1266

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jan 2015, 21:58    Post subject:  

caiosama wrote:
Why Conky shows a different space left in the HDD, than the Partview?

(full instalation)

Sad


Not just you. And not just Tahrpup. And frugal install, too.

Maybe a known issue.
partview-pwidgets.png
 Description   sda1 is an NTFS partition, free space displays OK
sda2 is an EXT4 partition, partview says there is twice the free space displayed by pwidgets
 Filesize   86.88 KB
 Viewed   1302 Time(s)

partview-pwidgets.png


_________________
Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1175
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 00:51    Post subject: how to update the wacom kernels module?  

Hi,
i'm maybe ignoring something about kernels module updating...
I've built the latest wacom kernel moduleversion 25.0 (see here p18 this thread):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=815363&sid=e519c6c2eefe1ad96e5d4ae21d95d2c8
once installed, i did

Code:
#modprobe -r wacom

which reports something like
Quote:
wacom module builtin ...evdev builtin

Further attempts running
Code:
#depmod -a
#modprobe wacom

do not succeed
as
Code:
#lsmod

reports the original 53kB sized wacom.ko keeping being loaded, whereas the version 25.0 one sizes 83kB.


Thanks in advance for any advice Smile
Charlie

ps: why on earth wanting to update the wacom.ko module?
I'm using one of those wacom tablet since years.
Using also a lightweight music score editor, Nted (which can be OOTB installed through the PPM from the trustys repos).
On Tahr-6.0PAE (kernel 3.14.20 as also 3.17.4), editing music note is rather uneasy, really quite unfeasable, as the music note moves much slower than the wacoms pen pointer.
On the other hand, using the common wire mouse works OK: the music note moves the sme speed as the mouse pointer.
This is the first time i've encountered this: no problem on other puppies like wheezy-3.5.2.X or earlier ones.
One more information: this occurs even when /etc/X11/xorg.conf is free from wacom tablets options parameters, i.e. only with the wacom kernel module loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3121
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 07:04    Post subject:  

yerc1 wrote:
666philb wrote:

chromebook touchpads are now working i believe with the 3.17.7 kernel

hey 666philb,

Thanks for tahr 6 and congratulations for it getting a 10/10 score in Linux Format review!

I confirm that toshiba chromebook cb30 touchpad now works with the 3.17.7 kernel. But as I posted (7 or so posts before), there seems to be no touchpad right-click option and later I found touchpad scrolling seems missing too.

The synclient gives the message "synaptics driver not loaded" or something like that, hence I have not found a way to configure the touchpad.

Is there anything I can try to enable right-click and scrolling for the touchpad?

hi yerc1

can you post your /etc/x11/xorg.conf

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3121
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jan 2015, 07:24    Post subject:  

definitely some oddness going on .... Shocked
snapshot-1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   73.99 KB
 Viewed   1210 Time(s)

snapshot-1.png


_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yerc1

Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2015, 04:07    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
hi yerc1

can you post your /etc/x11/xorg.conf

Please see attachment.
Thanks.
xorg_conf.tar.gz
Description  xorg.conf file
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorg_conf.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.01 KB 
Downloaded  169 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3121
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2015, 05:20    Post subject:  

try uncommenting
Code:
Section "Module"
#   Load "synaptics" #loadsynaptics
to
Code:
Section "Module"
   Load "synaptics" #loadsynaptics


and adding this after the "InputDevice" keyboard &mouse0 sections
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
   Driver "synaptics"
   Option "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection


then reboot

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
totolanio

Joined: 03 Jan 2015
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jan 2015, 06:34    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
totolanio wrote:
When I modify rox-filer setting to use double clicks, it works on files, but not on the "desktop" icons. They are still "single click".

This modification worked in puppy precise 5.7.1 though :'(

Seems to work OK for me.

There are two settings you have to change.

For desktop icons
go to Rox-filler->Options->Pinboard->Pinboard Behavior
Uncheck single click to open.

Clicking when in Rox
The setting is at Options->Filer Windows->Window Behavior
uncheck single click navigation.



ty Bigpup ! it worked !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James186282


Joined: 08 Sep 2009
Posts: 254
Location: Minnesota

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jan 2015, 01:15    Post subject:  

Machine T60 Thinkpad running 6.0 thar.

In the bottom right gadet next to the sound is a cpu temp indicator. I clicked it to get more info and the temp seemed to jump. What seems to happen is the steady rush of warm air slowed way down and the CPU temp went to ungood levels fairly quickly. I shut down waited a while and restarted. The temp went was out of the red and continued to go down...*And the air was blowing out again.

I don't know if this is my laptop or the temp id program but its a scary thing if its the program. Does anyone else have a T60 that might try the same thing and see if this repeats on another machine? I have access to a second one but I can't lay hands on it for a while.

Otherwise - things working straight out of the box perfectly. And I'm not playing around with the temp gadget and its running at a safe 62 degrees.

Thanks for the new system. Oh! I'm curious about being able to change the Kernel, Is it possible you will go to an even newer version? It kind of solved a lot of issues when I went to raring on my main machine.

_________________
Science is what we understand well enough to explain to a computer.
Art is everything else we do.
Donald Knuth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yerc1

Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jan 2015, 03:40    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
try uncommenting
Code:
Section "Module"
#   Load "synaptics" #loadsynaptics
to
Code:
Section "Module"
   Load "synaptics" #loadsynaptics

and adding this after the "InputDevice" keyboard &mouse0 sections
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier "Synaptics Mouse"
   Driver "synaptics"
   Option "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection

then reboot

hi 666philb, thanks for looking into the touchpad issue.

the above didn't help.

in dmesg output i found 24 occurrences of the following lines next to each other:

Code:
find_i2c_adapter_num: i2c adapter i2c-designware-pci not found on system.
platform chromeos_laptop: Driver chromeos_laptop requests probe deferral


do they mean anything?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 117 [1748 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, ..., 115, 116, 117 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1381s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0235s) ][ GZIP on ]