Questions before I try Puppy (Answered)

Booting, installing, newbie
hcowan

Questions before I try Puppy (Answered)

#1 Post by hcowan »

Hello,

I'm new to both Linux and Puppy and I have a few simple questions (I hope that they are simple). Firstly, there are a number of different tasks that I would like to be able to do and I just want to make sure that I can do them with Puppy before investing a chunk of time learning how to use Puppy.

1. I have an old laptop that I would like to use to show DVDs for the kids while traveling in the car. Because it is an older machine I don't want the computer to do anything else that migh slow it down, besides playing the DVD.

Can I boot with the Puppy Live-CD, take the CD out, put in a DVD, and watch the movie? Without needing to use the hard drive?

2. Boot a computer (with the LiveCD) and backup / copy the data & files on the hard drive to either a FTP server (using the network) or burn to a CDR / CDRW (ie: I would need to remove the Puppy Live CD first and insert a blank CDR to burn the files onto).

3. Boot with the Puppy Live-CD and do a virus scan on the harddrive?

I often need to do number 2 & 3 when I visit friends and family as they are always having problems. Most of them run Windows and in some cases they have NTFS paritions. Does Puppy work with NTFS partitions?

Finally, I would like to try-out Puppy as a standard desktop and see if at some time down the road, I can switch from using Windows to Puppy full time. Right now I have a machine that has Windows 2000 on it with an NTFS partition that takes up the entire hard drive.

Therefore my second question is, is there anything that I can, or should do to improve Puppy and have it run better? I know that I can run it as a Live CD to test it out -- but I don't know if there are limitations that could be over-come, or things that can make it even better