A fairly simple php install (in Monkey server)

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Nathan F
Posts: 1764
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 14:45
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)
Contact:

A fairly simple php install (in Monkey server)

#1 Post by Nathan F »

Several people have asked recently on the forum about how to get php running in Puppy. This is how I did it. I'm assuming that this will be done with the Monkey-ws.

I've become quite fond of getting binaries from DSL. They usually work just fine in Puppy and don't take much work to get running. I used gftp and went to the ibiblio mydsl section.

/pub/Linux/distributions/damnsmall/mydsl/system

I scrolled down until I found php-4-monkey-09. I selected the package and transferred it to my HD. Note that there are several files with almost the same name-choose the one that is largest. I then untarred it to /mnt/data/Share. This could be placed anywhere, however.

By default this will create /opt in the location you send it to. I opened /mnt/data/Share/opt and found two directories, /monkey and /php. I then moved the /php directory to /mnt/data/Share. Once again this can be placed anywhere in your filesystem.

Next I edited my monkey config file to show it where to find php. Here are the appropriate lines with my addition.

Code: Select all

#  --------------------
#   AddScript application/x-httpd-php /home/my_home/php/bin/php php
#
#   The above example defines that whatever file, it's extension being
#   "php", should be processed through by "/home/my_home/php/bin/php"
#

AddScript application/x-httpd-php /mnt/data/Share/php/bin/php php

#AddScript application/x-httpd-php /home/my_home/php/bin/php php
#AddScript application/x-httpd-php /usr/bin/php php3
If you have placed php in for instance /root/my-applications then the AddScript line would change as follows.

Code: Select all

AddScript application/x-httpd-php /root/my-applications/php/bin/php php
Next I restarted monkey and navigated to /php/index.php in my browser getting the Php works! message.

I hope this helps someone else out. I tried to show every step. This is not the only way to do it but it worked well for me and kept me from having to compile.

Nathan
Last edited by Nathan F on Wed 20 Jul 2005, 18:15, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#2 Post by Lobster »

well worth putting in a new section in the wiki

- someone can have a go . . .

to create a new section go to somwhere relevant or sandbox (check the index)

create a Camel case Entry eg ProgrammingPHP or ProgrammingPuppy

click on the entry
doubleclick on the page and cut and paste from the above

let us know how you got on . . .
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

raffy
Posts: 4798
Joined: Wed 25 May 2005, 12:20
Location: Manila

Thanks!!!

#3 Post by raffy »

Nice tip there, Nathan, will try it this weekend.

While i did share a php tarball here in the forum, the environment where it came from is not as sparse as Puppy or MyDSL. So your news is most welcome!
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? [url=http://puppylinux.info/topic/freeoffice-2012-sfs]Get the sfs (English only)[/url].

Post Reply