smtube wont work (SOLVED)

Booting, installing, newbie
emegra

smtube wont work (SOLVED)

#1 Post by emegra »

Hi guys

I'm new to Puppy but not new to Linux in general, I've installed Tahrpup to an old HP laptop to see if I can make it usable and frankly I'm amazed at the speed it runs with Tahrpup it's transformed this old laptop.

However video streaming ie youtube is a problem which is no more than I can fairly expect with only 256mb ram, but it did work smoothly in smtube on the very rare occasions it worked, now it's not working at all when I try to play a video I get "Unable to retrieve youtube page", searching online leads me to believe I need an updated version of smplayer, but I have no idea how to get installed as it seems it's only available as an ppa and I don't know how to add a ppa in Puppy also I can't find a .pet or .deb package.

Can anyone tell me the best and easiest way to get the latest version of smplayer installed on this laptop or any way I can get it to work with the version I have which is 0.8.6

Any help would be much appreciated

Graeme
Last edited by emegra on Mon 08 Dec 2014, 22:27, edited 1 time in total.

dejan555

#2 Post by dejan555 »

Try this one smtube-2.1-i686.pet

I assume you already have qt if you had smtube working (maybe not, not sure if all versions used it) but here's the link for sfs:
qt-everywhere-opensource-4.8.2-i686_487.sfs

Both packages supplied by Billtoo for dpup487 but it should work on Tahrpup too
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

mikeb

#3 Post by mikeb »

if you come to a dead end get a browser mp4 you tube downloading add on...its doing the same thing basically and you can use any media player.

mike

emegra

#4 Post by emegra »

Hi dejan