Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Oct 2017, 08:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
571 frugal: garbled screen at boot up, ok after x restart
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
topaz

Joined: 14 Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Location: Northumberland UK

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 13:00    Post subject:  571 frugal: garbled screen at boot up, ok after x restart  

Hi
Have been setting up a pc for a friend
Using 571 frugal with save file.
At boot up the desktop is garbled but I can see enough to restart x server.
The screen is then perfect.
At next boot the same happens.


What information do you require to help me.

Thanks in advance Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1458
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 13:20    Post subject: Re: Garbled screen at boot up  

topaz wrote:
What information do you require to help me.


Hi...

Please open a terminal and post the output of...

Code:
lspci -nnk


Also, what's the brand and model of this computer or is it just a generic whitebox?

Thanks! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
topaz

Joined: 14 Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Location: Northumberland UK

PostPosted: Thu 11 Dec 2014, 04:14    Post subject:  

Hi
Will see the friend at the weekend so will post again

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
topaz

Joined: 14 Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Location: Northumberland UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Dec 2014, 10:36    Post subject:  

Here is the relevent lspci
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 03)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_intel8x0 19929 0
snd_ac97_codec 77042 1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus 714 1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm_oss 26945 0
snd_mixer_oss 9719 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 49809 3 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 911 0
snd_seq_oss 19135 0
snd_seq_midi 3212 0
snd_seq_midi_event 3604 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi 12121 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 32145 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device 3492 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
snd_timer 11925 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
i915 389030 2
snd 34649 10 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_timer
b44 19260 0
ssb 36741 1 b44
soundcore 3222 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 4970 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
mmc_core 61452 1 ssb
drm_kms_helper 18983 1 i915,[permanent]
drm 152919 3 i915,drm_kms_helper
video 9468 1 i915
i2c_algo_bit 3659 1 i915
pcspkr 1239 0
i2c_i801 7237 0
i2c_core 12529 5 i915,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_algo_bit,i2c_i801
lpc_ich 10973 0
mfd_core 1933 1 lpc_ich
shpchp 17789 0
intel_agp 7792 1 i915
intel_gtt 8678 3 i915,intel_agp
agpgart 17727 3 drm,intel_agp,intel_gtt
evdev 6640 0
parport_pc 18335 0
parport 20999 1 parport_pc
processor 23207 0
thermal_sys 11722 2 video,processor
button 3357 1 i915
hwmon 877 1 thermal_sys
fbcon 28611 69
font 6952 1 fbcon
bitblit 3494 1 fbcon
softcursor 817 1 bitblit
tileblit 1557 1 fbcon
fuse 50594 2
aufs 122047 36
squashfs 18829 1
floppy 40184 0

of course this is after I have restarted x

I cannot extract any information while the screen is garbled.

I have the config files from X11 but I dont know which one is started at boot up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1424
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Mon 15 Dec 2014, 10:52    Post subject:  

I had a similar issue and it was from using the PAE version instead of the non-PAE of the puppy. Apparently, my computer couldn't handle PAE. Not sure if this is your issue to but I thought that I'd share.

Best,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Mon 15 Dec 2014, 16:45    Post subject:  

You are using intel i915 driver .

Xorg later than between 1.4-1.7 require modesetting .

Xorg loads the driver if Puppy's rc.sysinit fails to trigger the uevent file .

Maybe the i915 driver is not loaded until Xorg loads it ?

_________________
«Give me GUI or Death» -- I give you [[Xx]term[inal]] [[Cc]on[s][ole]] .
Macpup user since 2010 on full installations.
People who want problems with Puppy boot frugal Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
topaz

Joined: 14 Dec 2006
Posts: 125
Location: Northumberland UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Dec 2014, 04:14    Post subject:  

Hi
How do i force loading by xorg i915 driver module at boot up ????

If this can be done it may cure my problem

Cheers for all the advice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 4208
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2016, 13:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
How do i force loading by xorg i915 driver module at boot up ????

The feature to load modular kernel drivers in the GUI of
/usr/sbin/bootmanager script,
found in the Menu : Setup : Boot Manager .

That should rewrite the ADDLIST line in the /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG file.

NOTE : /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit loads the ADDLIST drivers after the normal loading of drivers, not before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1211
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jan 2016, 16:51    Post subject:  

I think the answer may be in running the Xorg Video Wizard in the menu. The 2nd tab has option to either run the xorgwizard command at prompt, or to manually configure the file itself. I would at least look at the latter file to see whats going on. The restart X was a clue that either a PAE/noPAE condition occured, or the MESA condition. But I will also note the following...

I have an EEE702 model with 480x800 rez. This is not supported in Slacko5.7 though the Intel i915 is used. XORGWIZARD must be run. The seetings are to use the INTEL driver, and the "let XORG find the right rez... V/H settings". This does work in my case and illustrates that a non-supported size/Vert/Horiz setting was encountered.

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1409s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0106s) ][ GZIP on ]