Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 17 Oct 2017, 04:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Chromebook Pup V2 Released 20th Dec 2014
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 5 [65 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1005
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2015, 17:08    Post subject: Chromebook Pup V2 Released 20th Dec 2014
Subject description: Update on "Ok Google"
 

Update on "Ok Google"

Please note that the list in the second post in this thread has now been expanded as follows:

Language & country availability:
    English (United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand)
    French
    German (Germany, Austria)
    Italian
    Japanese
    Korean
    Portuguese (Brazil)
    Russian
    Spanish (Mexico and Spain)

More info here:
https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/2940021?hl=en

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldaolgeezer

Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2015, 20:38    Post subject: Chromebook Pup
Subject description: chromebook_pup_v1.iso on an IBM Thinkpad R52
 

ETP

I wanted to post a quick note of appreciation for your chromebook Puppy iso's.

I tried out your chromebook_pup_v1.iso and was amazed
at the wonderful blend of Chromebook with Puppy Linux
that you crafted.

(I had previously spent a few hours sampling a real Samsung Chromebook,
so I had some idea of how Chromebooks act.)

I tried out your chromebook_pup_v1.iso on my old IBM Thinkpad R52
laptop with no hard disk but with a tiny SanDisk Cruzer Fit 8 GB USB Flash drive.
(The Cruzer Fit Flash drive only projects about 1/8 inch
out of the side of my Thinkpad R52.)

I had a little problem getting my built-in Intel PRO/Wireless 2915ABG
to work, but it finally did!

I did just a few quick tests with the Chrome browser and
installed a FBreader pet and its "fix" script and they worked fine.

Thank you again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2015, 17:38    Post subject: downloading hybrid ISO: (chromebook_pup_v1.iso) - (245 MB)
Subject description: obprecisesave-wlanZero.2fs: 64 M
 

downloading hybrid ISO: (chromebook_pup_v1.iso) - (245 MB)
The concept is similar to Blue Pup in that it is intended to be simple & familiar in order to attract new users to PUPPY with all its benefits. Surprised Smile Very Happy
Well done,we miss Puppies like that, nowadays !

SFS OBprecise 131MB to 211MB
I am retired far from my box ADSL, and i only use wireless with dongle or not. Chromebook well booted but only eth ethernet offered.
The zdrive was not enough provided with kernel modules.
To-morrow i shall check that :
"It is based on forum member vicmz’s OpenBox Precise built by him with Woof-CE 0.3 and the 3.9.11 PAE kernel. That in turn was based on Precise 5.7.1. "
Pendrive Transcend 4GB "pépites"

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Thu 29 Oct 2015, 20:21; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2015, 18:56    Post subject: (wlan0 plus wlan1 dongle CSL) ok with zdrive obprecise  

Our technicians of the forum work since their garage, their attic, their cellar sometimes, but they are leached with the ADSL on their desktop computer.

Standard obprecise see both wireless networks (wlan0 plus wlan1 dongle CSL)
Zdrive chromebook miss something. Modules and firmware under 'lib', Module under 'etc' are needed at boot.
Necessary done, i can surf the web now.
And Use this Puppy and its menu.
Adjust settings for installing a new Puppy is not my cup of tea.
Chromebook is to get easy life Smile to brand new users from Windows, as you say.
About laptop and surfing, it's quite an evidence for me that these computers are to move inside house, and outside.

Wlan0 outside became quickly out of connexion. That is the reason why i bought a CSL dongle and installed the realtek RTL8192CU.
I can make my portable really portable wlan1 connected (Frisbee)
Language & country availability:
Korean, Portuguese (Brazil)
Russian ,
Spanish (Mexico and Spain)

Furthermore, ethernet connexion still remains impossible in many villages in France, but in mexico, peru, argentina, asian countries too , Tumbuctu, Dakar, algiers, and a lot more.. And they don't speak a word of english, excepted if they are in a commonwealth country.
Wink Merci de populariser Puppy
reds.jpg
 Description   Wlan1 is 70, wlan0 39, no ethernet in my country house
 Filesize   83.39 KB
 Viewed   858 Time(s)

reds.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
balloon


Joined: 02 Oct 2013
Posts: 57
Location: Miyagi, Japan

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 03:03    Post subject:  

When I look a name "Chromebook Pup", I had a thought same as don570:
don570 wrote:
Shouldn't your thread title mention Intel chip, since there are Chromebooks
with the arm processor?

I feel that this name produces the misunderstanding of the installation PC.
(x86 PC or Chrome OS machine(Chromebook etc...))
In addition, a thing using "Chromebook" which is a trademark of Google has a problem.

Can you reexamine the public name?
I think "Chromixium OS" to be a good example.

_________________
BALLOON a.k.a. Fu-sen. from Japan | ふうせん Fu-sen. (old: 2 8 6)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1005
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 05 Nov 2015, 05:39    Post subject: Chromebook Pup V1 & V2  

@ balloon,

The selection of a name posed a problem for me at the time of issue given that "Chromixium" was already taken.
I did consider using "Black Chrome" but thought that it might also obscure the Pup's purpose.
In the end I stuck with Chromebook Pup as the trademark "Chromebook" relates to hardware.
I agree that the name has caused confusion so have now made a further edit to the original post which hopefully
should put its purpose beyond doubt.

@ Pelo,
Thanks for reviewing Chromebook V1.
Can you suggest a quick fix for resolving the wireless module/firmware issue?
Failing that could you, for the benefit of others, describe the steps that you took
to solve your issue?

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels

Last edited by ETP on Tue 01 Dec 2015, 02:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 08 Nov 2015, 12:00    Post subject: wireless connection, easy for me  

Zrive must contain at less modules filse from etc and lib, plus firmware from lib.
Edit the SFS of zdrive to complete by transfering from main SFS.
Zdrive.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   46.02 KB
 Viewed   728 Time(s)

Zdrive.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 317
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 12 Feb 2017, 21:38    Post subject: Sorry Pelo, Lost in Translation re instructions Getting WLAN
Subject description: Going or if ETP can Understand, Please...
 

ie. How?

Wireless works w/ Saluki Natively on this Laptop
it's intel Pro Wireless ipw2200/2915ABG

Thanx!

Confused K
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1005
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 07:21    Post subject: Sorry Pelo, Lost in Translation re instructions Getting WLA  

Hi Max,

"Lost in Translation" - agreed, moi aussi! Laughing Confused

I assume that your Intel Pro Wireless ipw2200/2915ABG is not working in this Pup, hence your query.
There are several threads on the forum covering the Intel 2100 & 2200 pci cards.
The relevant modules are in that kernel but loading them may need to be forced.

I am no expert on wireless so this is my best guess at what might work:
On the JWM menu go to System/Boot Manager. In the window that pops up select the modules tab then the "Add new module" button.

In the list on the LHS select each of the 2 items as below and add them to the right hand panel. Click OK, click on the desktop save icon, then reboot.
(If you cannot find one of the items in the left hand list do not worry as that means that it is already loaded. Just add the missing one)

See if that does the trick (firmware is I think, built into that module)
If it does not work please post the output of the following two commands:

dmesg | grep firmware

dmesg | grep intel
image-4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   78.09 KB
 Viewed   399 Time(s)

image-4.png


_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 317
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 11:36    Post subject: Great Thanx ETP, yoU'Re the Guru  

Now I'd Love 2 install it on a Laptop that's too Old 2 Boot from USB ( Actually a Centrino ), so can I write V2 img.xz File 2 a CD?

& just 2 make things real interesting / Challenging if I include the PupSave File Will that be the same as Remastering?

Otherwise How Best 2 Achieve that Please?

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1005
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 13:04    Post subject: Chromebook Pup V2  

Hi Max,

V2 must be written to a USB stick not a CD. The possibly good news is that the included boot method is
intended to work on old kit not normally happy to boot from a stick. It does that by fooling the bios
into thinking that it is a USB HDD or ZIP drive.

I suggest that you give it a try. When you first attempt to boot the stick you must enter the BIOS and put whatever it
sees it as at the top of your boot order.
I would not recommend substituting a save file from different hardware. To quote from the release notes:

Quote:
Access to Quicksetup is provided by a temporary icon on the desktop. The image contains support for booting from “difficult” bioses.

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9372
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 17:05    Post subject:  

entered in error.
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 317
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 17:45    Post subject:  

G'day again ETP, Unfortunately in this instance I'm Dealing w/ a Basic BIOS, CD/DVD or HDD or FDD, No Zip ( Toshiba Satyrlite Pro L20, maybe 2006? )

Any more ideas or just wRite the V1 iso? Please

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1005
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 13 Feb 2017, 18:03    Post subject:  

Hi Max,
Just give V2 a go with a USB stick. Once the image is on it the BIOS should see it as a HDD.
If not fall back to V1 and I will crawl back into my kennel. Laughing

_________________
Regards ETP



Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 317
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 26 Feb 2017, 17:14    Post subject:  

ETP, Please Howto have Multiple Desktops, But Most importantly, Different Wallpaper Backgrounds on each?

SmileK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 [65 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0579s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]