Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 16 Oct 2017, 23:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Slimjet web browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2016, 15:22    Post subject:  

Evening, Oscar.

Now have the SlimJet Precise, Tahr & Slacko 9.0.0.0 packages running on all Pups in my sig. No problems to report so far.

I am curious about one thing, though. Since Google have now officially dropped 32-bit Chrome, where's the incentive for Adobe to continue maintaining & developing 32-bit Pepper? You can't get hold of it for Chrome through the normal channels...

Ah, well; ours not to reason why, I suppose. I'm not questioning it, anyway; I know at least one other person who'll be pleased to get hold of the newest version...!

Cheers.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4293
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 27 Mar 2016, 15:52    Post subject:  

"The Slack sfs did the job !"
Nice one. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1610
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2016, 11:36    Post subject:  

Slimjet 9.0.1.0
Only adds support for video backgrounds on the new tab page. Just decorative bling rather than functionality but maybe some people like all that.

@ backi
The slack version has --disable-namespace-sandbox which Slacko needs but which I thought was not needed in the deb versions but maybe in some types of hardware it is needed so I have added it to all versions. Perhaps you would like to try the precise and tahr versions again in your machine when you have a few moments?
https://yadi.sk/d/fd8rBM0WoF9sB

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1301
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 31 Mar 2016, 14:20    Post subject:  

Hi Oscar Talks !
Tried it .... but i have to say ...Slimjet is'nt my cup of tea .

I am highly satisfied with Palemoon ......can't be beat ...
....in my opinion .

Cheers !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2016, 08:44    Post subject:  

Hi, Oscar.

Some information for you. Following the NetFlix testing for Chromium, like I said, I would love to get it up-and-running in SlimJet.

Accordingly, I've done the following:-

In SlimJet 9.0.0, I've copied over the WideVine modules from your Chrome 48.0.2564.97 (the last 32-bit Chrome we're going to get), checked in 'chrome://flags' (actually 'slimjet://flags') to see if 'Encrypted Media Extensions' was enabled by default (it was), then started SlimJet, and gave NetFlix a whirl.

Usually, what happens when I select a movie, or whatever, is that it goes straight to the error page. On this occasion, I got the red 'spinner' in the centre of the black screen, followed by the 'show' page for the movie, as though it was about to start playing.....and then it goes to the error page. Confused

This time, I've made a note of the Error:Code in the bottom left corner of the screen. NetFlix's Help Centre gives the following, for this particular code:-

https://help.netflix.com/en/node/22952

What do you reckon? It's getting further through the process before the error shows, this time, so.....I don't quite know what to make of it.

Do you know if HTML5 support is enabled in SlimJet.....and if so, how do you check for it?


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 358

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2016, 17:10    Post subject: HTML5 in SlimJet  

Mike Walsh wrote:
Do you know if HTML5 support is enabled in SlimJet.....and if so, how do you check for it?


To check HTML5 spport, visit http://peacekeeper.futuremark.com then click GO.
As I see, the H.264/MPEG-4 AVC is not supported yet.

Firefox included this a few weeks ago. The Iron browser can play those videos, too.
In Puli, I use both Iron and SlimJet (for Iron, I borrow the PpperFlash package from SlimJet).


Have fun!

Regards,

gjuhasz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1610
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2016, 19:32    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

If you untick the setting "force the use of flash player on youtube.com" you will find that youtube is using HTML5 (right click on the player) so I am fairly sure it is enabled. That setting is one of the features that the Slimjet devs added.

Seems crazy that they have Netflix on the speed dial page. Perhaps it works in Slimjet in Windows. Latest version has improved support for NPAPI plugins but I don't think that helps us with this issue. I expect we'll get to the bottom of it before long.

EDIT:- I found this post by Stephen Cheng of FlashPeak on the Slimjet forum posted March 12th 2016
"We don't put in support for the h.264 codec on Linux due to the patent and royalty issue. On Windows, we simply call the codecs shipped with the Windows system to get around that. However, so far, we didn't have the time to add the same kind of workaround on linux by delegating the decoding to external libraries."

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2016, 18:54    Post subject:  

Hi, Oscar.

Yah, that sounds about right; 'patents and royalty issues'.

I've got round that by adding the 'h.264-ify' extension from the Chrome web store. Seems to work okay.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1610
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 21 May 2016, 06:28    Post subject:  

Slimjet version 10.0.5.0 now released.
Based on Chromium 50.0.2661.75

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 987
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jun 2016, 20:08    Post subject: Older Full Pups
Subject description: Terminal only or GLIBC issue
 

G'day Oscar,

Thanks for your work in providing Slimjet - it has performed well as a Chrome-replacement browser for me in a range of newer 32-bit Pups.

They're Fulls so each has its own partition.

I run Slimjet (10.0.5.0) by symlinks from a boot-mounted data partition that has the expanded Slimjet in its own directory. My Slimjet profile is also shared out to all the Pups from the data partition.

However, I've a minor problem running Slimjet in a couple of older Pups. The desktop-icon link to flashpeak-slimjet on the data partition won't run. I can only run Slimjet via a terminal which gives several worrying messages before Slimjet starts up (see screenshot of terminal window before and after running Slimjet in OVPrecise58). I'm posting from Slimjet in OVPrecise so Slimjet runs fine after the terminal has its whinge.

How can I set up a desktop icon (script?) to simply run Slimjet without having to open the terminal and enter 'slimjet' in these Pups?

In a couple of even older Pups (SnowPuppies 015 and 016), terminal doesn't run Slimjet and gives a message about GLIBC mismatches:

Quote:
sh-4.1# cd /usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet
sh: cd: /usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet: Not a directory
sh-4.1# /usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet
/usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet: /lib/libpthread.so.0: version `GLIBC_2.12' not found (required by /usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet)
/usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `CXXABI_1.3.5' not found (required by /usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet)
/usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.15' not found (required by /usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet)
/usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.14' not found (required by /usr/bin/flashpeak-slimjet)
sh-4.1#


Do you think a LIBPATH script to set a path to the right lib files (if I can find them) would get past this problem?

Thanks for any ideas.

David S.
ovprecise58_k3911_starts.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.38 KB
 Viewed   956 Time(s)

ovprecise58_k3911_starts.jpg

ovprecise58_slimjetclosed.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   66.5 KB
 Viewed   954 Time(s)

ovprecise58_slimjetclosed.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 04:24    Post subject:  

@davids45:-

David, you have to remember that with both Oscar's and my own packages, most of the sandboxing has had to be removed in order for them to run with Puppy's 'root' model. It's probably not as safe as the full sandboxing, but they are functional. I'm wondering now if it's possible to run them as 'spot' in order to get round that restriction...

Other thing is, it's perfectly normal for pretty much all the Chromium-based browsers to complain when you run them from the terminal. I used to do the same in Ubuntu a while back, just to check things ran OK, and even in a true multi-user system, it still whinges..!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1610
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 17:33    Post subject:  

Slimjet packages now updated to 10.0.7.0
As from 10.0.6.0 this 32bit version now ships with Pepper Flash 20.0.0.306 for some reason and there is a mention of a flash issue in the change log so I am a bit puzzled by this.

@davids45
As Mike says, you will usually get some whinges in terminal but the browser does work. I have not tried to make Slimjet run in Puppies with glibc older than 2.13 and although it may be possible I have tried it with Chromium in the past but never had any success so gave up on it. I'm a bit confused if you were asking something else. I would usually use the .desktop file to create a pinboard launcher but if you have some unusual partition configuration I suppose you can do it with a simple script and allocate an icon etc.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jun 2016, 20:32    Post subject:  

Hi, Oscar.

OscarTalks wrote:
As from 10.0.6.0 this 32bit version now ships with Pepper Flash 20.0.0.306 for some reason and there is a mention of a flash issue in the change log so I am a bit puzzled by this.


It's not just the 32-bit version. They appear to have done the same with the 64-bit version; instead of 22.0.0.192 they've reverted back to 21.0.0.242...

I've replaced this slightly older version with the current PepperFlash in the 64-bit packages. It appears to play perfectly OK, so I don't really see what was meant by 'flash issues' in the changelog.

Weird.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2016, 22:20    Post subject: Using the .deb packages in Tahr and Tahr64  

Hi all. Haven't been around for a while and just found this message thread.

I've been using Slimjet in Tahr 6.05 and Tahr64 6.05 and have been loving it.

One note... whenever I've needed to install it, I've just used the .deb files on the Slimjet web site.

At least in Tahr, all you need to do to make it work is go to /usr/share/applications, open the slimjet.desktop file as text (Open With Geany or Open As Text) and add --user-data-dir to the end of the Exec statement found around line 108 of the text file.

(We used to have to do this same trick to make Chrome work in Lucid.)

I personally prefer the menu to list it as "Slimjet browser" instead of "Flashpeak Slimjet", so I also make that change to the Name[en-US] line on line 116 of the text file.

When you're done, save and close the file, and then go to the Puppy main menu and choose Exit -> Rebuild Menu to make it use your updated file.

As others have noted, it takes a little more to make it work in Precise. But in Tahr and Tahr64, simply adding the --user-data-dir has worked for me every time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3032
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2016, 10:56    Post subject:  

Hallo, torgo.

Yes, you're right (I've found this myself); both the Tahrs will install many apps/progs direct from the .deb packages.....and they work immediately.

The main reason Oscar and myself have produced SFS packages is because many Puppians like to 'unload' stuff that they're not currently using....it being one of Puppy's features that enables it to work better with old, low-spec hardware. To produce an SFS, you have to have the file structure worked out, as you would for a .pet.....and for that, you have to incorporate more extensive changes that will work with Puppy's 'root-only' model.

That's why half the wrapper-script (which the .desktop file points to) ends up being stripped away. In any Pup other than Tahr (even the 'buntu-based ones like Precise & Lucid), some of the wrapper-script actually interferes with execution of the browser in Puppy.

Incidentally, you can't run SlimJet in Lucid, even if you wanted to.....because the glibc is simply too old for it to function.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 9 [123 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0628s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]