Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Nov 2017, 20:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
YAD - Tips
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 22 [321 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 20, 21, 22 Next
Author Message
kjdixo

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 18:35    Post subject:  

Try this ... execute in console mode or copy and paste to a terminal to check the outputs
Code:

yad --title="Test" --text="Test buttons" --form --field="1" --field="2" --field="3" --field="4" --button="gtk-ok:0" --button="gtk-cancel:1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1427
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 20:45    Post subject:  

Seems to work but the true test will be in a program I'm writing. - Thanks.

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 05:16    Post subject:  

I applied that yad folder chooser to pburn and it works a treat because you can specify the start directory and can specify the size...gtkdialogs choosers tend to be large.

I yadded pburn last year for an excersise... was quite pleased with the result.

Don't ask...its not like the pburn you know and wait for to boot Very Happy...I forked from version one to get on the fly audio burning.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1427
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 11:55    Post subject:  

The choose directory option seems to go through all the subs, as well. I found that a bit strange. For example, listing all pdf files after choosing a directory will list all the pdf's in all the subs, as well. Is it just a user issue again? LOL
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjdixo

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 02:49    Post subject:  

Some YAD links
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/yad-common
http://code.google.com/p/yad/w/list
http://danniel-lara.blogspot.com.br/2011/06/apresentando-o-yad-zenity-melhorado.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1427
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2015, 00:07    Post subject:  

What I was looking for in my above posts was a way to have the OK and Exit buttons actually work in a script. So for those non-pro's like myself, here's a partial to show how I did it.

choice2=$(yad --title='Title1' --text='Travel Items' --form --field='Show:CB' '1.Airline Tickets!2.Cars' --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0")
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0 # This exits if you hit the exit instead of OK button.
fi
numb777=${choice2:0:2}
# The above takes the first 2 characters like # 1. and allows it to # be a choice in an if .. then statement.
# For example...
if [ $numb777 = '1.' ]
then
echo "Perhaps you should go to Priceline.com"
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjdixo

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2015, 04:53    Post subject:  

Thanks.
An excellent example.

It is frustrating and time consuming when there are not many examples available.
Your snippet will be very useful.

Here is YAD being used to selectively display language verb tables in an openbox menu.
This method could be used to display any images.
Clicking on a menu item opens the required image in a yad window.
Verb tables are complex and often need to be referred to.
Open and close and compare any number of images. It is nice and fast.
Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<openbox_menu xmlns="http://openbox.org/3.4/menu">
<menu id="root-menu" label="MENU 5">
<item label="" icon="/usr/share/icons/Tango/32x32/actions/go-home.png"><action name="Execute"><command>sh -c "cp /root/.config/openbox/menu1.xml /root/.config/openbox/menu.xml &amp;&amp; openbox --reconfigure;xdotool mousemove_relative --polar 280 80; xdotool click 3;xdotool mousemove_relative  --polar 100 80"</command></action></item>
<item label="XFE" icon="/usr/share/icons/Tango/32x32/apps/file-manager.png"><action name="Execute"><command>xfe</command></action></item>
<item label="dar" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=dar__to-give --image /root/Verbs/ar/dar__to-give.png</command></action></item>
<item label="deitar" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=deitar__to-lay_to-put-(down)_to-put-to-bed_to-throw --image /root/Verbs/ar/deitar__to-lay_to-put-(down)_to-put-to-bed_to-throw.png</command></action></item>
<item label="deixar" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=deixar__to-let_allow_to-leave-(behind) --image /root/Verbs/ar/deixar__to-let_allow_to-leave-(behind).png</command></action></item>
<item label="dizer" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=dizer__to-say_tell --image /root/Verbs/er/dizer__to-say_tell.png</command></action></item>
<item label="estar" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=estar__to-be_temporary --image /root/Verbs/ar/estar__to-be_temporary.png</command></action></item>
<item label="falar" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=falar__to-speak --image /root/Verbs/ar/falar__to-speak.png</command></action></item>
<item label="haver" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=haver__to-be_impersonal__to-have_auxilliary --image /root/Verbs/er/haver__to-be_impersonal__to-have_auxilliary.png</command></action></item>
<item label="ir" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=ir__to-go --image /root/Verbs/ir/ir__to-go.png</command></action></item>
<item label="pedir" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=pedir__to-ask-for_to-beg --image /root/Verbs/ir/pedir__to-ask-for_to-beg.png</command></action></item>
<item label="poder" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=poder__to-be-able_can --image /root/Verbs/er/poder__to-be-able_can.png</command></action></item>
<item label="ser" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=ser__to-be_permanent --image /root/Verbs/er/ser__to-be_permanent.png</command></action></item>
<item label="ter" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=ter__to-have --image /root/Verbs/er/ter__to-have.png</command></action></item>
<item label="trazer" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=trazer__to-bring --image /root/Verbs/er/trazer__to-bring.png</command></action></item>
<item label="ver" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=ver__to-see --image /root/Verbs/er/ver__to-see.png</command></action></item>
<item label="vestir" icon="/root/.portugal.png"><action name="Execute"><command>yad --button='gtk-quit:1' --title=vestir__to-dress_wear_put-on --image /root/Verbs/ir/vestir__to-dress_wear_put-on.png</command></action></item>
</menu>
</openbox_menu>

The 'right click multiple menu' is described fully on the lxde forum . . .
xdotool is not an essential requirement, it only enhances operation of the menu.
http://forum.lxde.org/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=31525
yad-obmenu.png
 Description   
 Filesize   52.48 KB
 Viewed   1044 Time(s)

yad-obmenu.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1427
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2015, 12:51    Post subject:  

Hi kjdixo:

I was just starting to explore the icons so thank you for that. It looks like a lot of work / writing, though. That is the issue with adding a graphic interface, I guess. I'll let you know if I find any shortcuts.

Best,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjdixo

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Sat 11 Apr 2015, 09:52    Post subject:  

Really happy ... got the above 'yad openbox right-click menu - verb tables' and my earlier post's 'Language Learning - Audio Flashcards with YAD' all working on an old ASUS EeePC 2G Surf (the first model with 2GB storage).
I began by installing LXPUP 14:10 and then installed xfe (removed rox and pcmanfm) and did many more minimalist tweaks (installed earlier pmount - from quirky tahr 6.05 and tweaked pmount code to replace 'rox' with 'xfe').
I have left lxde installed for experimentation purposes and I run an openbox session (with feh [wallpaper] and stalonetray) - my choice.
So now I have a very portable, highly configurable 'language laboratory'.
The eeepc has a small screen with speakers placed either side of the screen.
I tweaked xrandr to give me 2000px x 2000px panning mode, so the small screen is not so much of a problem.
Yad is great for speed and minimalism because it will display images and ... play audio (using mpg123) without the need for big programs that take 'vital and agonising milliseconds' to startup.

@slavvo67 "It looks like a lot of work / writing, though"
10% inspiration 90% perspiration . . . as the saying goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjdixo

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Tue 14 Apr 2015, 07:29    Post subject:  

Very slightly different from previous combo box examples
Code:

#! /bin/bash
title=$(echo "Select")

combo()

choice=$(yad --title="$title" --text='Travel Items' --form --field='Show:CB' '1.Airline Tickets!2.Cars' --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0")

ret=$?
if [[ $ret -ge 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi

choice=$(echo $choice | awk 'BEGIN {FS="|" }{print $1}')
echo $choice
title=$(echo "$choice")
}

while true ; do
combo
done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kjdixo

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 159

PostPosted: Wed 15 Apr 2015, 02:47    Post subject:  

Combo box retains selection
Code:

#! /bin/bash
title=$(echo "Select")
item='1.Airline Tickets!2.Cars!3.Folding Bike!4.Linux Netbook!5.Lightweight Clothes'

combo()
{    
choice=$(yad --title="$title" --text='Travel Items' --form --field='Show:CB' "$item" --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0")

ret=$?
if [[ $ret -ge 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi

choice=$(echo $choice | awk 'BEGIN {FS="|" }{print $1}')
echo $item
echo $choice
title=$(echo "$choice")
item=$(echo $item | sed "s/$choice"!"//g" | sed "s/"!"$choice//g")
echo $item
item=$choice"!"$item
}

while true ; do
combo
done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1427
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 24 May 2015, 16:34    Post subject:  

Probably a pretty easy question but how to I have the fsck command run in an open terminal from this script? I can't just pass fsck to YAD because fsck requires possible interaction via terminal.

#!/bin/bash

cd /
choice2=$(yad --title='Drives' --text='Choose Drive Prefix for Possible Defrag' --form --field='Show:CB' '0.Exit!1. SDA!2. SDB!3. SDC!4. SDD!5. SDE!6. SDF!7. SDG!8. SDH' --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0")
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi
numb666=${choice2:0:2}
if [[ $numb666 = "1." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sda"
elif [[ $numb666 = "2." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdb"
elif [[ $numb666 = "3." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdc"
elif [[ $numb666 = "4." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdd"
elif [[ $numb666 = "5." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sde"
elif [[ $numb666 = "6." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdf"
elif [[ $numb666 = "7." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdg"
elif [[ $numb666 = "8." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdh"
fi
parted $name1 'print'|yad --geometry=900x600 --list --title "Drive Results" --text "Listing Drive Types.." --column "Types" --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0"
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi
yad --text="Choose a the name of a file to obtain the most recent version:" --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0"
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi
search555=$(yad --entry --entry-label="Drive to Defrag Enter as sda2" --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0")
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi
cd /
###########################
fsck "/dev/$search555" -f
###########################
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sun 24 May 2015, 17:39    Post subject:  

The -y parameter might help just not sure if it works for all formats...answers yes to all questions.
or the -p = no questions.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1427
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 24 May 2015, 20:04    Post subject:  

Hi Mikeb:

I didn't get it at first but the -y did indeed fix the issue.

Good to hear from ya,

Slavvo67

FIXED

#!/bin/bash


# Just a little GUI to defrag partitions -Slavvo67
# Needs YAD and fsck
# fsck takes a while on USB's so wait a bit longer for those.
cd /
choice2=$(yad --title='Drives' --text='Choose Drive Prefix for Possible Defrag' --form --field='Show:CB' '0. Exit!1. SDA!2. SDB!3. SDC!4. SDD!5. SDE!6. SDF!7. SDG!8. SDH' --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0")
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi
numb666=${choice2:0:2}
if [[ $numb666 = "1." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sda"
elif [[ $numb666 = "2." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdb"
elif [[ $numb666 = "3." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdc"
elif [[ $numb666 = "4." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdd"
elif [[ $numb666 = "5." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sde"
elif [[ $numb666 = "6." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdf"
elif [[ $numb666 = "7." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdg"
elif [[ $numb666 = "8." ]]
then
name1="/dev/sdh"
fi
parted $name1 'print'|yad --geometry=900x600 --list --title "Drive Results" --text "Listing Drive Types.." --column "Types" --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0"
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi
search555=$(yad --entry --entry-label="Drive to Defrag Enter as sda2" --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0")
ret=$?
if [[ $ret -eq 1 ]]; then
exit 0
fi
cd /
fsck "/dev/$search555" -fy | yad --geometry=900x600 --list --title "Defragging" --text "/dev/$search555" --column "Working..." --button="Exit:1" --button="OK:0"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2000
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Tue 26 May 2015, 02:17    Post subject: thumbnails
Subject description: how to display
 

How to get yad to display a list of thumbnails from backgrounds directory. I know the --image switch to display one full sized image, but that's all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 22 [321 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 20, 21, 22 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0761s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]