Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 22:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky April 7.0 - 7.0.3, 7.0.4, 7.0.4.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 52 [770 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1165

PostPosted: Thu 26 Feb 2015, 14:53    Post subject:  

April64 7.0

- when starting, num lock light is on, but keys are not locked.
- geany still missing icons for "Build" and "Save All"
- feature request : midori. I guess it has the potential to replace seamonkey which is bloated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 149

PostPosted: Thu 26 Feb 2015, 15:02    Post subject: Initial feedback on Q7 x86 64 bit  

Barry,

PupRadio doesn't launch.

In the default repos shown, the PPM seems
almost empty of any packages.
What happened to them all?

Outwardly the OS looks ok, good job so far.
The avids will no doubt have deeper findings anon.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 26 Feb 2015, 15:30    Post subject:  

http://distrowatch.com/
Distrowatch.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   106.73 KB
 Viewed   1185 Time(s)

Distrowatch.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3267
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 26 Feb 2015, 15:54    Post subject: Quirky April 7.0 final  

Installed to a 32gb flash drive:

I installed the proprietary nvidia driver:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Thu 26 Feb 2015 on Quirky April64 7.0 Linux 3.17.4 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.16.2
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1204x343 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

Number of GPUs: 1

GPU #0:
Name : GeForce GTX 560 Ti
UUID : GPU-7620a950-6e50-f76c-02ae-42352231249f
PCI BusID : PCI:1:0:0

Number of Display Devices: 2

Display Device 0 (DFP-0):
EDID Name : Ancor Communications Inc ASUS VE278
Minimum HorizSync : 24.000 kHz
Maximum HorizSync : 92.000 kHz
Minimum VertRefresh : 50 Hz
Maximum VertRefresh : 85 Hz
Maximum PixelClock : 170.000 MHz
Maximum Width : 1920 pixels
Maximum Height : 1080 pixels
Preferred Width : 1920 pixels
Preferred Height : 1080 pixels
Preferred VertRefresh : 60 Hz
Physical Width : 600 mm
Physical Height : 340 mm

Display Device 1 (DFP-3):
EDID Name : Acer G276HL
Minimum HorizSync : 31.000 kHz
Maximum HorizSync : 83.000 kHz
Minimum VertRefresh : 56 Hz
Maximum VertRefresh : 76 Hz
Maximum PixelClock : 170.000 MHz
Maximum Width : 1920 pixels
Maximum Height : 1080 pixels
Preferred Width : 1920 pixels
Preferred Height : 1080 pixels
Preferred VertRefresh : 60 Hz
Physical Width : 600 mm
Physical Height : 340 mm


Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @3200 3: @1600 4: @1600 5: @1600 6: @2000 7: @1600 MHz

That's it so far, will test more later.

Thanks
capture20977.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   4.97 KB
 Viewed   1096 Time(s)

capture20977.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2164

PostPosted: Thu 26 Feb 2015, 19:46    Post subject:  

-- deleted --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zekebaby


Joined: 17 Nov 2010
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Thu 26 Feb 2015, 23:06    Post subject: Broadcomm B43 not being detected  

Hi Barry,

Great job; thanks for all your efforts.

Ever since 6.94 or so, the Broadcomm B43 wireless adapter is not detected. Loading the b43 modules does not detect the device. I believe you posted a message about this in one of the other feedback threads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 251
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 00:15    Post subject: Quirky 7
Subject description: PPPOE setup (Initial configuration)
 

Dear Barry Sir

While trying to setup through commandline, I am getting following message:-

# pppoe-setup
Welcome to the Roaring Penguin PPPoE client setup. First, I will run
some checks on your system to make sure the PPPoE client is installed
properly...

Oh, dear, I can't execute the program '/usr/sbin/pppoe'. Please
re-install the rp-pppoe client
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 01:00    Post subject:  

Fresh full install of Quirky April64 7.0....working well.

Code:
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Quirky April64, version 7.0

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0a65 (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1440x900 pixels (381x238 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#


Code:
-Computer-
Processor      : 2x AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+
Memory      : 4054MB (176MB used)
Operating System      : Unknown distribution
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Thu 26 Feb 2015 10:59:46 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution      : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Unknown
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia


Code:
# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       4054008       361620      3692388         2092        10216
-/+ buffers:             351404      3702604
Swap:     14540792            0     14540792
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 01:09    Post subject:  

Fresh full install of Quirky April 7.0....same hardware...also working well.

Code:
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Quirky April, version 7.0

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 0a65 (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#




Code:
# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       3633432       291172      3342260         2112         9468
-/+ buffers:             281704      3351728
Swap:     14540792            0     14540792
#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 02:27    Post subject:  

Obligatory screenshot....
Quirky April 64 7.0.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   99.94 KB
 Viewed   950 Time(s)

Quirky April 64 7.0.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 106
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 05:39    Post subject:  

Hi all, just testing on the desktop rig and all seems very good (hats off to B.K. as usual).
Just a slight niggle ram usage seems a little high!
[img][/img]


Tahr 6.02 ,if I remember, only uses about 65-70Mb.
Perhaps it is because it is compiled in T2, dunno (translated as don't know for those that don't understand Wiltshire lol) no expert.
Downloaded Htop from ppm shows up in menu but doesn't launch.
Can launch from terminal but as htop not Htop.
Screen.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   59.87 KB
 Viewed   898 Time(s)

Screen.jpg


_________________
Toshiba Satellite C50 4Gb Ram 700 Gb Hdd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1588
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 06:24    Post subject:  

if I understand correctly it's because it's designed for a full install so it's not extracted on the go

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2164

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 06:33    Post subject:  

AMD64 single core 1.5GB ram, Nvidia 8600GT

Preferred Pup user style : grub4dos ram boot, no savefile, remaster to preserve changes

Grub4Dos entry

title April (Quirky) 7 Final
kernel (hd0,2)/quirky7/vmlinuz rootwait rw
initrd (hd0,2)/quirky7/initrd.q

Extracted initrd.q contents
cd /mnt/sda3/quirky7 # i.e. to where initrd.q and vmlinuz are
mkdir MAIN
cd MAIN
cat ../initrd.q | cpio -id

init content (in initrd.q) changed to allocate more (nearly all) of free mem to zram
Code:
HALFRAMB=$(($FREERAMK*1023))
HALFRAMM=$(($FREERAMK/1025))


Also added desktop icon to remaster a new initrd.q using two scripts stored in the same directory/folder as initrd.q and vmlinuz

remaster
Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd /mnt/sda3/quirky7
urxvt -geometry 80x5+16+16 -bg white -fg blue -title "$(gettext 'Remastering initrd.q')" -e ./remaster2


remaster2
Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd MAIN
if [ -f q.sfs ]; then
  rm q.sfs
fi
mksquashfs / q.sfs -noX -noD -noI -noF -e /tmp /mnt /proc /sys /root/.XLOADED /.fsckme.flg
clear
sync
echo "Building initrd.q ... please wait"
find | cpio -o -H newc | lzop -1 >../initrd.q
sync


Remastering a new initrd.q in readiness for the next reboot using the above takes less than a minute

Leaves me with around 287MB of free mem being shown. Can boost that to around 550MB free if use tighter (much slower to remaster) compression (i.e. xz instead of the lzo as used above).

Original version booted as-is (i.e. only half of free mem allocated to zram) barely has any free mem being shown in the bottom right disk usage icon.

Note that the above remaster uses no compression to form q.sfs, and then initrd.q with q.sfs contained within is compressed using lzo level 1 (low) compression. That's quick (very quick to decompress) and as q.sfs is being stored in zram initially creating q.sfs with no compression still means that its being compressed (in using zram) - but by whatever zram is using to store the non-compressed image.

Working really well, have turned opaque moves/resizes ON rather than using outline moves/resizes and video's etc can be viewed and the video window dragged around the screen quickly etc.
df.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.34 KB
 Viewed   837 Time(s)

df.jpg

capture15496.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.51 KB
 Viewed   851 Time(s)

capture15496.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 4013
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 06:49    Post subject:  

@rufwoof Lol good timing, just about going to do the same, had to use grub4Dos since April never gets to a screen booting with EFI.

Thanks for the code. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 4013
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 07:13    Post subject:  

well done @rufwoof got mine setup and now time to harvest RAM from this laptop and give my miniMac the big RAM where its more needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 52 [770 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1282s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]