Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 22:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky April 7.0 - 7.0.3, 7.0.4, 7.0.4.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 52 [770 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Author Message
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2164

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 07:27    Post subject:  

Hi Ted

Haven't got around to testing loading sfs's yet !!!

I know its suggested you can't load sfs's in this version as its not a layered pup, but I have achieved similar in the past simply by sym link based 'loading'

i.e. something like

losetup -f # to identify a free loop i.e. perhaps /dev/loop0
mount /dev/loop0 /mnt/sda3/somewhere/some.sfs
mkdir -p /mnt/L
mount -t squashfs /dev/loop0 /mnt/L
cd /
cp -rs /mnt/L/* .

Not exactly sure that's right (off the top of my head), but something close.

Off out for a while, so my next plan is to test that out in practice. Sym link based sfs loading takes up little space (pointers), so you can expand the core ram booted pup to include a lot of other additional stuff/programs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2000
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 07:45    Post subject:  

Is there any reason that April 7.0 has a DISTRO_SPECS file?
Is there any reason that 'DISTRO_PUPPYSFS=q.sfs' has been omitted from DISTRO_SPECS?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 08:21    Post subject: Re: Quirky 7
Subject description: PPPOE setup (Initial configuration)
 

rameshiyer wrote:
Dear Barry Sir

While trying to setup through commandline, I am getting following message:-

# pppoe-setup
Welcome to the Roaring Penguin PPPoE client setup. First, I will run
some checks on your system to make sure the PPPoE client is installed
properly...

Oh, dear, I can't execute the program '/usr/sbin/pppoe'. Please
re-install the rp-pppoe client


Yes, a bug!

Executables are missing. I will get this fixed for the Service Pack, but for now, I have attached a pppoe executable.

gunzip it, set it's execute flags, place in /usr/sbin.

Let us know if that is enough to get PPPoE working.

Oh yes, the executable is for April64, 64-bit.
pppoe.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pppoe.gz 
Filesize  16 KB 
Downloaded  338 Time(s) 

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 08:28    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
if I understand correctly it's because it's designed for a full install so it's not extracted on the go

Smile


alphadog is running the live-CD, which is a RAM-hog.

It is not designed like puppies, the live-CD is not really intended for regular usage. As you say, Quirky is designed for full installs.

The live-CD loads everything into RAM, which means slow bootup, and uses zram which gives the appearance of using a lot more RAM than the pups.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 08:32    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
AMD64 single core 1.5GB ram, Nvidia 8600GT

Preferred Pup user style : grub4dos ram boot, no savefile, remaster to preserve changes

Grub4Dos entry

title April (Quirky) 7 Final
kernel (hd0,2)/quirky7/vmlinuz rootwait rw
initrd (hd0,2)/quirky7/initrd.q

Extracted initrd.q contents
cd /mnt/sda3/quirky7 # i.e. to where initrd.q and vmlinuz are
mkdir MAIN
cd MAIN
cat ../initrd.q | cpio -id

init content (in initrd.q) changed to allocate more (nearly all) of free mem to zram
Code:
HALFRAMB=$(($FREERAMK*1023))
HALFRAMM=$(($FREERAMK/1025))


Also added desktop icon to remaster a new initrd.q using two scripts stored in the same directory/folder as initrd.q and vmlinuz

remaster
Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd /mnt/sda3/quirky7
urxvt -geometry 80x5+16+16 -bg white -fg blue -title "$(gettext 'Remastering initrd.q')" -e ./remaster2


remaster2
Code:
#!/bin/bash
cd MAIN
if [ -f q.sfs ]; then
  rm q.sfs
fi
mksquashfs / q.sfs -noX -noD -noI -noF -e /tmp /mnt /proc /sys /root/.XLOADED /.fsckme.flg
clear
sync
echo "Building initrd.q ... please wait"
find | cpio -o -H newc | lzop -1 >../initrd.q
sync


Remastering a new initrd.q in readiness for the next reboot using the above takes less than a minute

Leaves me with around 287MB of free mem being shown. Can boost that to around 550MB free if use tighter (much slower to remaster) compression (i.e. xz instead of the lzo as used above).

Original version booted as-is (i.e. only half of free mem allocated to zram) barely has any free mem being shown in the bottom right disk usage icon.

Note that the above remaster uses no compression to form q.sfs, and then initrd.q with q.sfs contained within is compressed using lzo level 1 (low) compression. That's quick (very quick to decompress) and as q.sfs is being stored in zram initially creating q.sfs with no compression still means that its being compressed (in using zram) - but by whatever zram is using to store the non-compressed image.

Working really well, have turned opaque moves/resizes ON rather than using outline moves/resizes and video's etc can be viewed and the video window dragged around the screen quickly etc.


Your changes look good!

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 08:37    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
Hi Ted

Haven't got around to testing loading sfs's yet !!!

I know its suggested you can't load sfs's in this version as its not a layered pup, but I have achieved similar in the past simply by sym link based 'loading'

i.e. something like

losetup -f # to identify a free loop i.e. perhaps /dev/loop0
mount /dev/loop0 /mnt/sda3/somewhere/some.sfs
mkdir -p /mnt/L
mount -t squashfs /dev/loop0 /mnt/L
cd /
cp -rs /mnt/L/* .

Not exactly sure that's right (off the top of my head), but something close.

Off out for a while, so my next plan is to test that out in practice. Sym link based sfs loading takes up little space (pointers), so you can expand the core ram booted pup to include a lot of other additional stuff/programs.


One thing to test with that symlinking idea, after doing that, run this in a terminal:

# ldconfig

Then see if applications still start.

I cannot recall, but I seem to recall that when ldconfig scans the libraries and creates /etc/ld.so.cache, it ignores paths that are symlinks -- but perhaps the entries in /etc/ld.so.conf will force override of that?

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8312
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 08:41    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
Is there any reason that April 7.0 has a DISTRO_SPECS file?
Is there any reason that 'DISTRO_PUPPYSFS=q.sfs' has been omitted from DISTRO_SPECS?


Er, /etc/DISTRO_SPECS has many variables that are read by scripts in Quirky.

The creation of q.sfs is very recent, for the purpose of building the live-CD. It is really an abnormal situation, as Quirky is intended for full installs.

The variable DISTRO_PUPPYSFS is not used anywhere in Quirky.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2000
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 09:15    Post subject:  

Ok great. I made my remaster script reassign an empty $DISTRO_PUPPYSFS as q.sfs (hopefully Quirky series will be the only series with that string empty). Thereby not altering April 7.0 in anyway. Posting from the remaster now ... that is the vmlinux and initrd.q on usb booting to zram. Hardly slower than creating a savefile. Just another option!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 09:56    Post subject: Quirky April 7.0 final  

Super fast.
Screen resolution 1920x1080 with modesetting driver without manual choice !
That is cutting edge, another PuppyMaster's master piece.

... and my multilingual solution for FIRSTRUN from wary64 works OOTB here in Quirky7.

Short explanation:
All available quicksetup.mo files are included.
User's very first choice is language.
This language is used in quicksetup.

Hope this will make it into ServicePack1.
FIRSTRUN.png
 Description   
 Filesize   19.48 KB
 Viewed   880 Time(s)

FIRSTRUN.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3431
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 12:18    Post subject: installquirky
Subject description: bug fix
 

Testing my translation I found
Code:
# installquirky
/usr/sbin/installquirky: line 75: printf: 28.5196: invalid number
/usr/sbin/installquirky: line 75: printf: 63.3428: invalid number
/usr/sbin/installquirky: line 75: printf: 489.284: invalid number

All sizes in Giga were zero.

fix: insert LANG=C
Code:
      ONESIZE="`LANG=C printf "%.1f" $ONESIZE`G"

Might also occur at other lines. Rolling Eyes

good old COBOL wrote:
DECIMAL POINT IS COMMA



EDIT
Code:
/usr/sbin/.childproof: line 41: printf: 14.2598: invalid number
same thing
Last edited by L18L on Fri 27 Feb 2015, 15:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2164

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 14:19    Post subject:  

Conceptual thing :

Booting frugally (grub4dos) and init set to create zram space using 99% of available remaining free memory (a little free is needed to be left as conventional memory to keep things working (cp ...etc)). Init then copies the contents of q.sfs (puppy) into zram and switches root to that zram image, after deleting q.sfs (having been copied to zram).

That leaves fragmentation. If q.sfs is around 500MB then there's 500MB of free space in devtmpfs (conventional memory) and the rest as zram.

To reduce fragmentation what I did was moved all of /usr and /lib (being big directories) out of zram to /dev (devtmpfs), which left devtmpfs nigh on filled up and zram nigh on empty - so in effect running the working session in zram. i.e. I sym linked /usr and /lib to the /dev/usr and /dev/lib moved folders.

That test somewhat worked, but left a system far from fully functional (but still working to a degree), i.e. it was a very quick-and-dirty crude test of viability. On my 1.5GB system the indications are that 1.3GB of 'free memory' would have been available. On other pup's I typically have around 750MB free on the same PC, so that 1.3GB free seems to tie in with how zram assumes a average 1:2 compression rate. Assuming that broadly holds true for general usage then with a better choice of what actually got moved out of zram to /devtmpfs and after booting Quirky could be running with free memory close to actual total ram/memory.

Obviously what was moved would have to be selected carefully and ideally be stuff that was fixed/read only/little changed - especially if /devtmpfs was being filled to near full capacity - and that could support being sym links rather than actual files/folders.
shiftedfromzramtodevtmpfs.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   25.94 KB
 Viewed   798 Time(s)

shiftedfromzramtodevtmpfs.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3267
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 16:31    Post subject: Quirky April 7.0 final  

I installed to the hard drive on my emachines D620 laptop:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Fri 27 Feb 2015 on Quirky April64 7.0 Linux 3.17.4 x86_64
5.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS690M [Radeon X1200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS690 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.16.2
dimensions: 1280x800 pixels (338x211 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2650e
Core 0: @1596 MHz

After it had installed and before booting for the first time I copied
the contents of the audit directory on my desktop install to the audit
directory of the new laptop install.
When it booted for the first time on the laptop I ran the recover
snapshot, the hard drive light flashed for close to an hour before I lost
patience and rebooted.
Much to my surprise it booted to the desktop showing the 3840x1080
(squished) wallpaper from my desktop install Smile
I needed to compile the mplayer snapshot over again because it would
crash with an error about being compiled on a different cpu, after
compiling again smplayer is working fine.

April64-7.0 seems to be very forgiving Smile

EDIT: There is an error when booting but it doesn't seem to matter, the
desktop installation was on an SDHC card formatted F2FS,the laptop hard
drive is ext4.
I tried doing another snapshot on the laptop but the snapshot utility wouldn't start.
I also added Links-2.9 web browser for reading news while streaming
music with umplayer, it's working well.
Dillo-3.0.4.1 will compile but the fonts look terrible for some reason.
links.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   77.93 KB
 Viewed   656 Time(s)

links.jpg

capture6565.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   81.56 KB
 Viewed   763 Time(s)

capture6565.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 27 Feb 2015, 22:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alphadog


Joined: 07 Dec 2010
Posts: 106
Location: Deepest Wiltshire UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 16:47    Post subject:  

@ BarryK , Thanks for the explanation about ram usage .
There is so much I have to learn !

_________________
Toshiba Satellite C50 4Gb Ram 700 Gb Hdd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 17:56    Post subject:  

@BarryK, the work by @L18L is one of interest, bringing a OOTB localization for all user starts consistent with what FirstRUN already does. This advances PUP's worldwide appeal in an excellent yet subtle way.

Have you a FirstRUN PET for testing which would include it? Willing to test if you have one.

As subtle as FirstRUN is, it is extremely valuable in what it does in a single screen?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kj4bnh

Joined: 20 Jun 2013
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri 27 Feb 2015, 23:31    Post subject:  

Full install of April does not have a Firewall icon in the tray. Did I lose it with my endless clicking? Thanks Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 52 [770 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 50, 51, 52 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0671s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]