Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Nov 2017, 09:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
pmcputemp -temperature monitor
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2015, 22:29    Post subject:  

Hi David.

Don't mind my rant Wink

To start the prog when X starts drag the binary from /usr/bin to /root/Startup and choose 'symlink' if in normal Tahr Puppy, applies to slacko too.

Or, if you want to be more adventurous, create a text file named pmcputemp.desktop in /root/.config/autostart containing the following.

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
NoDisplay=true
Name=pmcputemp
Exec=pmcputemp


The .desktop method only applies to recent puppies as in >slacko-5.7 and tahr pup.

A universal pinstall to cover older (woof2) and newer (woof-ce) will be supplied in upcoming pet versions. and a puninstall to clean up after.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2015, 00:27    Post subject: Icons now with binary to Startup
Subject description: Slacko-5.9.3 and Dpup Wheezy but .......
 

G'day 01micko,
Thanks for the quick reply.

Just for the record, I'm now in slacko-5.9.3 and had the same issue again with 0.51 - nothing with the simple click-on-the-pet and a Cheshire-Cat behaviour with the temp icon running 0.51 from the console.

The message on the console was:
Quote:
# pmcputemp
loading coretemp
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input is written to /root/.config/pmcputemp
An attempt has been made to create a configuration file


but without a final # line. X-ing the console and the temp icon also went. I hope it means something to you.

Now I'll try dragging the /usr/bin binary to the /root/Startup and see what happens.

David S.

[Follow-up]
Tried both Slacko-5.9.3 and Dpup Wheezy with the binary pmcputemp in the Startup directory.
Both working....but giving quite different values:
Wheezy = 36
Slacko = 75

I recall something similar with some older cpu temp apps. It looked like there were different temperatures reported because the software in different Pups was looking at different read-outs. Some older (rich-man's) temp monitors had a right-click "more" option which displayed more machine temperatures.

How can I check which is which, as I'd be surprised if slacko is truly "hotter" than wheezy.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2015, 01:08    Post subject:  

David,

That message is expected. It happens every time on the first run unless you installed over the top of an old version. As said, I'll put an install script in the next version. Oversight.

try these commands (I've left the output so you can see what to expect)

Code:
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'                             
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp1_crit
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp1_crit_hyst
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp1_input
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp1_max
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
72000
70000
41375
70000
#



The temp1_input should be the one I'm after and show correct temp, or could be temp2_input since your processor is intel (loads coretemp module). You might see temp3 and so on depending on number of cores, but the first one usually heats up the most. As you can see mine is 41°. The "find" command will list them in the same order. You can manually copy that over the entry in the configuration file at /root/.config/pmcputemp/pmcputemprc . I'm working on a more robust test.

BTW, sometimes different kernels can react strangely with CPUs and cause high temps, I have seen it myself on numerous occasions and usually I change kernels or use a different puppy version.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2015, 04:43    Post subject:  

0.60 is out with pinstall (and puninstall)

delete /root/.config/pmcputemp before install.

Please uninstall old version with package manager.

Sources and github updated.

Thanks to the Chatswood connections of davids45 and jamesbond

Code:
commit 1a1c0fb0550de2ca11c7299b17c219ef5be86c88
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Sun Mar 29 17:59:08 2015 +1000

    bump version to 0.60

commit a4bedd0c450092a3f9dd0c75d46a8456fac87aed
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Sun Mar 29 17:58:16 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.c : add more checks and bail out when neededXy

commit 6cb82f4eebfb4704a1b2fd7074dc7a83d7697717
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Sun Mar 29 17:56:46 2015 +1000

    update starter script : jamesbondXy

commit e2183ae8faf906f1ebac3e3b0642a87e4fd56ebf
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Sat Mar 28 21:44:48 2015 +1000

    Bump version a minor point

commit fac7ef4c3b33fe8633ae38a65f81caa2fc8b1973
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Sat Mar 28 21:37:24 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.c: bugfix for ubuntu based distros concerning stack errors. This t

commit 4d3bc82deda5baa977ee6e4fde7a952fb80fd18a
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Sat Mar 28 21:35:43 2015 +1000

    Bugfix configure: remove .pot from installation

commit afc4d024b4686910fe8edb8609a90f6184fb3a28
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Fri Mar 27 20:19:41 2015 +1000

    Update script re commit b2d0e5147b64e75e1e03f0d00f16c1ae987bcd9b



_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
xanad


Joined: 28 Feb 2014
Posts: 400
Location: 2 locations: MonteRosa Alp and Milano

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2015, 06:38    Post subject:  

Works fine, very useful Very Happy
_________________
www.xanad.tk Html5 Parallax
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2015, 00:21    Post subject: Which Temp to Read?
Subject description: Result for Wheezy
 

G'day 01micko,

Tried running your script (given a couple of posts earlier) to check cpu temperature outputs for this computer (HP low profile form desktop with "Intel vPro" sticker).

Result was:

Quote:
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
36000
Core 1
0
100000
100000
0
74000
74000
38000
Core 0
#


So it looks like my earlier higher temps (74C) with some Pups were for the 1 or 2 output whereas output 3 is probably the correct value for this CPU (38C).

Wheezy is giving 35C at the moment and all seems fine with pmcputemp.

Hope to check other Pups to see if I get 35 or 75.

David S.

Next try.....
In slacko-5.9.3, after some console entering and copying attempts (not really knowing what I'm doing), I saw and copied to geany:

Quote:
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
80000
40000
Core 1
0
100000
100000
0
74000
74000
36000
Core 0


Are these the temperatures of various things/set-points for cores 0 and 1 (1 and 2 in layman's terms)? One attempt by me at entering your first script line did produce a list of parameters and related temperatures but I could not work out how to copy the urxvt output to geany with the mouse clicks without creating lots of extra gibberish on urxvt.

The Slacko task-bar icon is reading a steady 80C in pink but I suspect this is a maximum value set-point for core 1, not the actual core temperature of the cpu - if a dual core cpu actually has a single cpu value?

If it helps, hardinfo says I have:
-Processors-
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz : 1596.00MHz
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz : 1867.00MHz

David S.

Got lucky with mouse and urvxt. Is this what tells which is what temperature?

Quote:
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_label


But which is the one (or two) that indicates how the core is running?

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3124
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2015, 08:01    Post subject:  

hi 01micko,

working for me in tahrpup and is also working on a dell laptop that tempiconsvg fails on.

one thing though, i feel the indicator turns red too quickly . i have a netbook that runs at 50-70degrees, tempicon covers this nicely going from green at 50 yellow late 60's and red probably approaching 80.

pmcputemp turns red in the late 50's which is a normal ok temp for this comp. and if it was actually overheating i wouldn't be getting the red warning cue as it's red all the time basically.

cheers

phil
snapshot-2015-03-30-13-02-10.png
 Description   
 Filesize   19.28 KB
 Viewed   403 Time(s)

snapshot-2015-03-30-13-02-10.png


_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2015, 08:31    Post subject:  

David,

Try the 0.60 pet I posted going on your feedback. I think it will work for you. The out puts *should* be in one of the files named *input on the end. However, I found an old laptop that I have that stores it in a file named simply temp!

-----------------------------------------

Phil,

I'll consider bumping it up to about 70 or 75 before going into the red.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2015, 19:37    Post subject: pmcputemp-0.6 in unicorn-6.0
Subject description: On a HP dual core desktop
 

G'day 01micko,
Switching to .60 and using your scripts:

# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_label
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
76000
33000
Core 1
0
100000
100000
0
74000
74000
37000
Core 0
#

The task-bar icon reads 76C and is pink, so is the first Core 1 value (=......../temp3_input)?

Noticing that newer kernel Pups seem to give/pick/run with the higher temperatures - the seventies, not the thirties.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2015, 20:27    Post subject:  

Thanks for sticking with it David.

Now, I have 2 problematic laptops that store temperature in :

/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp

Both intel.

my AMD desktop has it in :

/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp1_input

.. however jamesbond said that one (or similar) fails for him so I test the read on it in the script and if it fails move on.

So now I have made a loop testing 3 more specific locations. Why they need to have ambiguous entries is beyond me but oh well, that's GNU!

Try this script, saving it to the text editor and making it executable, naming it 'test_temp.sh' (or something similar). Run it from CLI with ./test_temp.sh

Code:
#!/bin/sh

find_func() {
   FILES="$1"
   for n in `echo $FILES`; do
      read p < $n
      if [ $? = 0 ];then
         FILE=$n
         break
      else
         continue
      fi
   done
}
cputempfunc() {
   
   for a in `find /sys/devices/virtual -type f -name 'temp'|sort` \
         `find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input'|sort` \
         `find /sys/devices/pci* -type f -name 'temp*_input'|sort`
   do find_func "$a"
      [ -z "$FILE" ] && continue || break
   done
   if [ ! "$FILE" ];then echo "Failed to find file" && exit 1
   fi
   #echo "${FILE} is written to $TMP"
   #echo -n ${FILE} > $TMP/pmcputemprc
}
cputempfunc
echo "$FILE"
cat "$FILE"
 


It should output the location of the *input file and the temperature like so

Code:
# ./test_temp.sh
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:18.3/temp1_input
37375



Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2015, 23:13    Post subject: pmcputemp-0.6 in snowpup-015
Subject description: temp icon blue and 37C
 

G'day 01micko,
Just before I try your new script, here's the 0.60 output from an old Pup - Snowpup-015 with a 2.6.38.2 kernel.

Quote:
sh-4.1# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp1_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp1_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp1_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp1_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.1/temp1_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.1/temp1_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.1/temp1_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.1/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.1/temp1_crit
sh-4.1# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
74000
Core 0
0
35000
100000
74000
Core 1
0
36000
100000
sh-4.1#


Now it's all 'temp1_' with no 'temp2_' or 'temp3_' as per some of the newer kernels/Pups.
And it still seems like either a "74" or "35" to pick from.
Reading down from the above list, the first "....temp1_input" = 35000 for core 0 ("_label") and 36000 for Core 1 (next "_label" in the list).
The "74000" values line up with the "temp1_max lines".

It almost makes sense to me at last Very Happy .

And 'Happy April Fools' Day' (also my wedding anniversary) Rolling Eyes .

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 30 Mar 2015, 23:53    Post subject: Latest script outputs on HP desktop
Subject description: For several Pups
 

G'day 01micko,
Here is a collection of responses from your test_temp script.

Quote:
SnowPup015 result
sh-4.1# ./test_temp.sh
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp1_input
37000
sh-4.1#

Dpup Wheezy-3.5.2.11
# ./test_temp.sh
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_input
35000
#

UnicornPup-6.0
# cd /mnt/sda5/Temp
# ./test_temp.sh
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
80000
#

Slacko-5.9.3 (kernel-3.4.94)
# cd /mnt/sda5/Temp
# ./test_temp.sh
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
79500
#


I'm suspicious of the slacko and unicorn results somehow being "_max" values not the desired operating temp values.

Has anyone with a quadcore processor tried the scripts - could/should there be a set of outputs for each core?

A 'richman's' version of cputemp could show temperatures for each processor (rich men don't have single core cpus, so I'm told, and have monitors with big enough task-bars to show several temp icons Shocked )

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 03:39    Post subject: Precise-5.7.1 with pmcputemp-0.6
Subject description: kernel 3.9.11 - still the same HP desktop
 

Another response with the 0.60 pet and scripts:

Quote:
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_label
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
65000
38000
Core 1
0
100000
100000
0
74000
74000
35000
Core 0
#

Precise Pup-5.7.1 (kernel 3.09.11 - 0.60 icon shows 78C pink)
# ./test_temp.sh
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_input
36000
#


The Precise task-bar icon (the pink 78C) does not match the script result (36C) for this Pup. The '78C' looks like it's the core 0 "temp2_max" (74000 but later rose to 78C and is now 80C- is the _max a variable) ?

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 21:42    Post subject:  

Hi David,

That is a strange result as my script is supposed to search /sys/devices/platform before /sys/devices/pci*. In fact that was the main change from what is in the pmcputemp-0.60 program now.

Lets just concentrate on slacko-593 or Unicorn, you choose, since either of those gives a similar result.

I just want a test of these commands:

find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input'

and

find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input' -exec cat '{}' \;

-------------------------------------

As for the Precise temp, the pmcputemp prog is giving the wrong reading; The other higher one may possibly video chip temp. With the newer script that should get fixed, but I don't want to release anything until we get to the bottom of this other problem.

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1639
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 07:20    Post subject:  

Just to confirm that compile and run in Precise 5.7.1 now all works OK. I have been testing version 0.60 in a number of machines. Works fine in:-
E-machines intel atom netbook
Old Dell Inspiron 2200 Pentium M laptop
E-System 3086 Celeron laptop
Toshiba Satellite L40-14N laptop
Slightly less old Dell Vostro Pentium dual-core desktop
Compaq Presario SR1709 AMD Sempron / ATI desktop
Mesh Computers (Matrix Inspire?) AMD Athlon desktop
Unidentified SiS chipset Pentium 4 with HT desktop

On 3 of my machines the script does not find the temperature file. These are:-
Dell Dimension P4 with HT desktop
HP Compaq D530 Small Form Factor P4 with HT desktop
Dell Optiplex GX520 Small Form Factor P4 with HT desktop
In each of these there appears to be no file of that name under /sys and Radky's PupSysInfo also reports
Code:
▶—— CPU Temperature ——◀

Sensor status is not available, or required kernel drivers are not loaded.
so I don't know it that means that the sensor is broken or what.
Anyway, a solution to this is not essential for me as these machines all appear to run OK but I just thought I would document my findings in case they are helpful to anyone.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0966s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0144s) ][ GZIP on ]