Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Nov 2017, 15:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
pmcputemp -temperature monitor
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 07:38    Post subject:  

Thanks Oscar

Glad we sorted that smashing issue Smile

FWIW, I have a P4 that doesn't work with any temperature program so maybe it is a peculiarity of P4's?

Cheers

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3075
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 07:51    Post subject:  

Confirm that it works here too. I will upload this to the repo and perhaps basesfs too since its very small indeed.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1641

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 08:07    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I'll consider bumping it up to about 70 or 75 before going into the red.

How about using temp_high & temp_crit to calculate when to switch to other color(s)?

For instance, my Intel-i3 has temp_high=80 & temp_crit=90 and AMD-c60 has temp_high=70 & temp_crit=105 (or 115 or 120, depending on kernel version Confused ; temp_high is constant, though).

Since temp_crit doesn't seem to be reliable, perhaps simple:
[ current_temp >= temp_high-10 ] && yellow
[ current_temp >= temp_high ] && red

(or sth like that) would be good enough..?

Oh, btw, pmcputemp works fine for me on both i3 and c60, thanks!

EDIT: I meant temp_max, not temp_high.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.

Last edited by SFR on Wed 01 Apr 2015, 08:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 08:17    Post subject:  

Hi James,

Well, I'm not sure its ready for "prime time", ie: inclusion in main distro, simply because there is still an issue with finding the right sensor re davids45's problems. In the repo shouldn't be a problem but I would wait a day or 2 until I adjust the scale. I do have a lappy that happily runs at 58° and shows red, so I will be bumping it up quite a bit. Some intels aren't critical until 105° Shocked .. my program quits at 99.

When I originally wrote tempicon I had a very hot nvidia board, actually the same box I'm typing on now, but I ditched that board for a gigabyte. When compiling it would approach 100° fairly quickly and with sustained compiles (like the kernel or seamonkey/firefox) would invariably quit. So I would monitor temp and adjust cpu scaling to get it running flat out without reaching critical mass Razz .

Also, fatdog needs a doinst.sh to add it to Startup (and run it as the pinstall.sh does now), so people aren't left wondering WTF just happened when they install the thing.

Cheers!

------------------

@SFR.. having enough fun finding the actual temp.. so we'll keep it poor for now. Wink

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 22:27    Post subject: Latest test (using "platform") - in slacko-5.9.3
Subject description: blank result?
 

G'day 01micko,

Tried your two lines from your post in a terminal in slacko-5.9.3.
Neither produced any output, just a new line starting with #.

Below is the text I copied for checking, and the responses from urxvt:

Quote:
from recent post: for checking:
find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input'

find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input' -exec cat '{}' \;

terminal output in slacko-5.9.3 (reading a pink 80):

# find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input'
#
# find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input' -exec cat '{}' \;
#

next I tried terminal output in dpup wheezy-3.5.2
# find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input'
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp3_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/temp2_input
# find /sys/devices/platform -type f -name 'temp*_input' -exec cat '{}' \;
37000
38000
#

unicornpup-6.0 gave same blank outputs as slacko-5.9.3 and reading the same pink 80C.


David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 01 Apr 2015, 23:44    Post subject:  

Thanks David,

Just try once more in slacko593 or unicorn without /devices/platform

Code:
find /sys -type f -name 'temp*_input'

Code:
find /sys -type f -name 'temp*_input' -exec cat '{}' \;


Thanks.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3075
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 03:08    Post subject:  

Thanks Mick, I will wait until the minor bugs as weeded out then. (I will report them as I find them too). I can supply the doinst.sh no problem.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1175
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 03:58    Post subject:  

Hi 01micko,
thanks this temp monitor ! Smile
will give it a try !
here is the (already nice translated Wink yes, yes !!... i'm not kidding ..!!) french locale somewhat tuned

nb: tar.gz compacted attachment of .mo and .po files

Best regards, Charlie

oops...! reuploaded with .po file
pmcputemp_NLS-0.60-i686_ta_FR_locale.tar.gz
Description  tar -xzvf to extract under /
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmcputemp_NLS-0.60-i686_ta_FR_locale.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.12 KB 
Downloaded  160 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1175
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 04:25    Post subject:  

Hi again,
here running an intel PIV trunk with k10temp module loaded (reported by lsmod - BUT hardinfo's sensors section is empty --> maybe not any temp sensor present on this trunk ???);

i have compiled pmcputemp on whezzy-3.5.2.5 and get the following:

Quote:
sh-3.00# pmcputemp
Failed to find file
Impossible de créer le fichier de configuration.
sh-3.00#


only an empty /root/.config/pmcputemp folder is created;

and

Quote:
sh-3.00# exec /usr/bin/pmcputemp.sh

causes terminals hang up when pressing ENTER key ...

nothing appears in the tray bar

Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 06:23    Post subject:  

Hi charlie,

First, thanks for a real fr translation Smile. It is uploaded to the git repository and will be in the next package.

Second, please try the commands I posted for davids45 here and report.

Much obliged.

PS: I mentioned in an earlier post I might use hardinfo's methods to find the temp sensor data, but it fails miserably on a laptop I have where this one works, so I decided against. Perhaps we can make it work for you, or not. We'll see. I also have a P4 which doesn't work at all. One thing, if your chip is intel, most likely coretemp should load, definitely not k10temp (though it is possible something else on the board wants it). The script should load coretemp if possible, else it quits.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1586
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 10:37    Post subject:  

micko, thanks for the fatdog64 code, working well

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1175
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 16:24    Post subject:  

Hi Mick,
01micko wrote:
... please try the commands I posted for davids45 ...

here you are:
Quote:
sh-3.00# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*_input'
sh-3.00#
sh-3.00# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*_input' -exec cat '{}' \;
sh-3.00#

...not the slightest comment ... Sad

thanks again for your time !
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8659
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 02 Apr 2015, 18:00    Post subject:  

Hi charlie, thanks for testing.

I'm afraid it looks like your board is unsupported. Not much can be done about that, however there is one possibility, but it is usually only in older kernels.

You can try

Code:
find /proc -type f -iname 'temp*'

then
Code:
find /proc -type f -iname 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;


I don't like the chances but you don't know until you try. You can also try a manual search in /proc/acpi/thermal_zone

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 992
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2015, 04:45    Post subject: Further testing of script lines
Subject description: find /proc -type f -iname 'temp*'
 

G'day 01micko,

No luck with the above line, just blank # lines.

Quote:
Code tried:
find /proc -type f -iname 'temp*'

find /proc -type f -iname 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;

Wheezy = nothing, just a new #
Slacko-5.9.3 also nothing
Unicorn-6.0 also no response.
Snowpup-015 also nothing.


The original script in 0.6 seemed to work in finding temperatures, but couldn't pick the right/same "temp_" in every case on this computer. Is this kernel or Pup/Woof related?

"_input" seems the important text.

It has been either "temp1" or "temp2" (when there's only temp2 and temp3 found, no temp1?) that has the lower value of about 35-40 which is assumed to be the cpu operating temperature, the others being "_max" or "_crit". What do the Intel specs say about their processors' operating temperatures?

Still curious to know what happens with a quad core (four temps?).

Random ideas:
Picking the minimum non-zero value from the listing of all found temperatures and calling that the cpu temp?
Averaging the "_input" values to give a single figure for multpiple cores?

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1175
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2015, 08:08    Post subject:  

Hi Mick,
01micko wrote:
...
I'm afraid it looks like your board is unsupported
...
try a manual search in /proc/acpi/thermal_zone


Quote:
sh-3.00# find /sys -type f -iname 'temp*'
sh-3.00# find /sys -type f -iname 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
sh-3.00#


also, there is not any
/proc/acpi/thermal_zone
present.

Thanks anyway !
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0566s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]