Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 15 Dec 2017, 06:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
pmcputemp -temperature monitor
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1013
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 09 Apr 2015, 01:42    Post subject: pmcputemp-0.60 in Quirky-7.0.3
Subject description: HP desktop - pink icon
 

G'day 01micko,

New install of Quirky-7.0.3 (32 bit version) produced a pink icon reading around 62C.

Running your script to see full temperature details:

Quote:
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_crit
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_crit_hyst
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp3_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp3_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp2_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp2_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp3_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp3_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp2_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp3_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp2_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1/temp2_label
#
# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
120000
90000
62000
34000
Core 1
0
100000
100000
0
74000
74000
40000
Core 0


The task-bar value (62C) looks like it is the third one in the listing of values which, using the "_label" lines (= Core x) as reference points, means it is the devices/pci temp1_input.
The Core 0 and 1 temp_inputs ('platform') are 40C and 34C by the same reckoning.

How do I find out which or what are these three 'temp_inputs', and which is most important regarding excessive heating? Intel spec. sheet of the cpu, for example?

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 13 Apr 2015, 07:47    Post subject:  

New version posted - see main post

Code:
# git log --pretty
commit d20ec2cb4e78a3375afa5a8514993a182146fb8b
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 13 20:58:05 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.sh: hopeful fix for finding temp data

commit a30bd31992c1dc421d1d2fa38039f256798e23a0
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 13 12:35:52 2015 +1000

    update readme

commit 40ff1d0bd50f0ffb9ca119debe37547d039f1b53
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 13 12:32:19 2015 +1000

    Add a new colour range and bump up. Add cli switch for delay

commit 5edc92aef70d736fbe5e72b3a0e0eb508e56e857
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 13 12:31:12 2015 +1000

    Add splash window if temperature file can't be found

commit 37a2e55f09d3a86735dd6fff63c62ebc0c1387b5
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 13 12:29:19 2015 +1000

    update man page

commit 8b0a19c8af3ae6d4dcff1a98ed87e685b8123a32
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 13 12:26:24 2015 +1000

    update pot file

commit 4f39d0cb4058624d89fa76af248b6b49cf90b67a
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Fri Apr 10 10:29:40 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.c: removed debug code

commit 6202a6d7526aa42c0114f8cdd917ed83b9527cb1
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Fri Apr 10 10:27:53 2015 +1000

    Add a polling interval, feature request from james

commit 26028ad50c1c5a2b5e340560d92d33b886bee359
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Thu Apr 2 20:18:40 2015 +1000

    fr.po updated : charlie6


If it fails for you a splash screen will appear. Just uninstall it if you see the orange message.

Enjoy!
splash.png
 Description   error splash if it doesn't work. Don't worry, just uninstall it and report here.
 Filesize   12.18 KB
 Viewed   546 Time(s)

splash.png


_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1013
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Mon 13 Apr 2015, 21:22    Post subject: Version-0.61 in Wheezy, TahrPup, April-Quirky & Slacko
Subject description: Values agree at about 32C
 

G'day 01micko,

I have installed pmcputemp-0.61 in four Full Pups and get the same value near enough Laughing .

F'rinstance here's a shot of my Slacko Full, where I included the lmsensors output and a bodgied-up Temp-cpu widget Embarassed all of which seem to agree Very Happy . The /root/.config/pmcputemp file is also in the screenshot.

'Sensors' output describes 'temp1' as the graphics card temp? - the same as your previous scripts I tried on this computer.

I will try pmcputemp-0.61 on some other computers around here when I get the time.

Wonder what others will find on other machines?

Thanks for the personalised app.

David S.
(A poor-man Crying or Very sad )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 20 Apr 2015, 21:08    Post subject:  

Well David, looks like we (finally!) may have sorted it out for you.


New version 0.63 .. see main post.

Code:
commit 8c1c5bf9900348ede22da2638e6857277d19eaef
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Tue Apr 21 09:21:23 2015 +1000

    Change error message and bump version

commit c81191c2785f8215666d2d8cae4748768adc820f
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Tue Apr 21 09:19:53 2015 +1000

    Add feature request to show cpu frequency in tooltip, jamesbond

commit cd865ad5be7f170f139c0eb9cae785bd4eba4391
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Mon Apr 13 22:10:54 2015 +1000

    update man page date

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1013
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 21 Apr 2015, 04:28    Post subject: version-0.63 on this 2-core HP desktop
Subject description: quick OK in slacko, unicorn, wheezy & april-quirky
 

G'day 01micko,

I have quickly deleted the old /root/.config/pmcputemp directory for 0.61 and installed 0.63 to several full Pups.

Task-bar display was consistent (blue, about "32C" which is about 15C above ambient here)
The cpu core frequencies given in the "hover-box" seemed correct as one did occasionally change as I watched.
As a retired scientist, I could quibble with the meaningfulness of three decimal places shown for the core frequencies Shocked - surely to the nearest MHz is adequate (unless it's too difficult to cull the probably superfluous post-decimal zeros)?

I will try 0.63 on a different old desktop in the attic when I get the chance. It ran 0.61 OK, so should be good with 0.63.

[off-topic] "Interestingly" this attic computer gives a more informative 'sensors' output than the HP I'm now on. I'll try your scripts too to probe this computer.
I'm trying to create a working generic version of the Temp_cpu widget, based on lmsensors & pwidgets, but suspect each computer/motherboard/cpu/kernel/? will need tailoring by its user because of the variable responses by each computer/motherboard/cpu/etc to requests for hardware outputs from lmsensors or similar. [/off-topic]

Thanks for your persistence,
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 12:04    Post subject:  

Thought I would report some findings with pmcputemp-0.63 compiled from source in Dpup Wheezy 3.5.2.11 remastered.

Was given an old desktop yesterday. AMD Duron Spitfire CPU running at just under 900 MHz with SiS chipset MoBo. 256 MB RAM plus 1.5 GB of swap which I created in the 20 GB HD. Frugal install of above Pup in ext3 partition in the remainder of the HD.

Initial try of pmcputemp did not work, got the "Not working on your system" window, but I had seen some temperature readouts in the bios and when I ran Radky's PupSysinfo > devices > sensors it gave me 3 CPU temperature readouts.

I investigated the loaded modules and it looks like PupSysinfo is modprobing 5 modules. Is that possible? They are:-

hwmon
hwmon_vid
it87
k8temp
k10temp

These modules are not loaded at normal boot but after running PupSysinfo I am able to try pmcputemp again and get it to work.

The temp1_input and temp2_input and temp3_input files become available in a directory /sys/devices/platform/it87.656
Without these modules the entire it87.656 directory does not exist.
Looks like the it87 hardware monitoring driver module is needed

If I add those 5 modules via boot manager I can then have pmcputemp start with a script in /root/Startup and all seems fine. Maybe this will offer a suggestion for something that can go into a future version of pmcputemp.

By the way, this is a puny old single-core CPU so if temp1 is the readout we want then do we know what temp2 and temp3 actually are?

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 18:26    Post subject:  

Had "pmcputemp" report discrepancies reported on the LxPUP64 thread.

So, Ran these commands on same DELL AIO desktop with LxPUP64.
Code:
sh-4.2# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone1/temp
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp3_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp3_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp2_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp2_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp3_crit
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp3_crit_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_label
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp1_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp2_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp3_max
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp2_input
/sys/devices/platform/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon0/temp2_label
sh-4.2# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*' -exec cat '{}' \;
27800
29800
0
40000
Core 1
0
105000
105000
105000
0
47000
Physical id 0
85000
85000
85000
44000
Core 0
sh-4.2#
Hope this info can help clarify the reports and the information they provide.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 924
Location: El Salvador

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 12:27    Post subject:  

For spanish users
pmcputemp_NLS_es-0.63-i686.pet
Description  Spanish locales
pet

 Download 
Filename  pmcputemp_NLS_es-0.63-i686.pet 
Filesize  1.47 KB 
Downloaded  130 Time(s) 

_________________
My blog | | Github


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2015, 00:46    Post subject:  

@nilsonmorales - thanks! However your pet doesn't include the .po file. Could you please post one so I can include it in the git source code. TIA.

-----------------------------------------------------

@gcmartin - intels are so inconsistent! At least with AMD i have found only one inconsistency, reported by Oscar above Laughing

Please try the attached script. Unzip - make executable - overwrite the existing version in /usr/bin/

-----------------------------------------------------

@davids45 - the 3 decimal resolution stays - see GC's pic in his link for why Wink

EDIT: attachment fixed, sorry about that

-----------------------------------------------------

@OscarTalks - try the script attached on a clean boot (ie: drop all your relevant module loading in bootmanager). I've added it87 to my modprobe loop so hopefully that picks up the dependent modules too.

-

Thanks @all.
pmcputemp.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmcputemp.sh.gz 
Filesize  600 Bytes 
Downloaded  136 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 01 May 2015, 18:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nilsonmorales


Joined: 15 Apr 2011
Posts: 924
Location: El Salvador

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2015, 01:03    Post subject:  

01micko Im sorry, forget the .po
pmcputemp.po.tar
Description  Remove fake .tar
tar

 Download 
Filename  pmcputemp.po.tar 
Filesize  1.99 KB 
Downloaded  130 Time(s) 

_________________
My blog | | Github


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2015, 02:28    Post subject:  

Thanks nilsonmorales Cool

-----------------------------------------------

I have pushed the translation and some small changes to github, including the script change. Oscar, you may want to grab that version. I haven't updated packages yet and won't until I get some feedback from the script change.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2015, 11:16    Post subject:  

I will try the script from Github if it is modified. The one from the forum did give me an error in line 12 when run from terminal.
Code:
# ./pmcputemp.sh
./pmcputemp.sh: line 12: [: missing `]'
Failed to find file
#

I thought this might be a missing space (before the close bracket) (EDIT - or a missing Dollar before the "IT" ??) but when I tried again later the error did not show up. Anyway I am not convinced the load_module_func section is working as intended. It is not working in that AMD machine and the code gives some strange output in terminal. This was after I had inserted what I thought was the missing space. If I simplify it down to a more basic modprobe func and strip out some of the trimmings like the greps and the echoes then it does work. I get a bit lost and dizzy with it after a while though. I will do a bit more testing later after a nice cup of tea.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2015, 18:14    Post subject:  

Hi Oscar!

Thanks for testing and sorry for messing up the script.. fixed now. You did the right thing fixing those bugs and continuing. The module *should* load, or at least try to load.

Was the terminal some gdkpixbuf error? If so it's nothing to do with the script, that's a bug in pmcputemp if there is no icon present, a timing error which doesn't happen all the time, and it only happens on first run before the /root/.config/pmcputemp directory is created. It's fixed at github, but I want to see if it works for you before I post a new version.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2015, 20:07    Post subject:  

Something is still not quite right with it. As it stands it loads k10temp (and hwmon) but not it87 or the other 2 modules (hwmon_vid and k8temp) so it still does not work.

I don't really know very much about the code, but just poking around I find that all 5 modules load and it appears to work if I just comment out the break and continue lines.

The terminal error I mentioned was just the missing characters it complained about when I just ran the script on its own from terminal but that is OK now. The gdkpixbuf thing also happens on first run but if you have now fixed that then it is just the module loading that still needs a tweak I guess.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8660
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 01 May 2015, 20:30    Post subject:  

Code:
# modinfo it87
filename:       /lib/modules/3.17.0/kernel/drivers/hwmon/it87.ko
license:        GPL
description:    IT8705F/IT871xF/IT872xF hardware monitoring driver
author:         Chris Gauthron, Jean Delvare <jdelvare@suse.de>
depends:        hwmon-vid,hwmon
intree:         Y
vermagic:       3.17.0 SMP mod_unload modversions
parm:           force_id:Override the detected device ID (ushort)
parm:           update_vbat:Update vbat if set else return powerup value (bool)
parm:           fix_pwm_polarity:Force PWM polarity to active high (DANGEROUS) (bool)


Ok, so it looks like it87 only depends on hwmon (which gets loaded?) and hwmon-vid. I wonder where dep on k8temp comes from (which only depends on hwmon)?

Anyway, we can easily add a sub-loop to load those 2.

Try this, replacing the current load_module_func() .. (please note the comment if it fails)

Code:
load_module_func() {
   lsmod|grep -q coretemp
   CORETEMP=$?
   lsmod|grep -q k*temp
   KTEMP=$?
   lsmod|grep -q it87
   IT=$?
   if [ "$CORETEMP" = "1" ] && [ "$KTEMP" = "1" ] && [ "$IT" = "1" ];then
      for m in it87 coretemp k10temp k8temp
      do
         if [ "$m" = "it87" ];then
            for p in hwmon-vid #k8temp #k10temp #if it still fails uncomment k8, then k10
            do modprobe $p 2>/dev/null
               if [ "$?" != "0" ];then
                  echo "loading $p failed"
                  break
               fi
            done
         fi
         modprobe $m 2>/dev/null
         if [ "$?" = "0" ];then
            echo "loading $m"
            L=0
            break
         else
            L=1
            continue
         fi
      done
   [ "$L" = "1" ] && echo "Can't load a temperature module" && return 1
   fi
   return 0
}


EDIT:
changed loading order

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [88 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0885s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]