pmcputemp -temperature monitor

Miscellaneous tools
Message
Author
User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

#76 Post by OscarTalks »

I added the return 0 line and the script seems to be working well now.
Also correctly loading module and creating config file with no unneeded modules loading in:-
Dell Vostro desktop with Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6700 (using coretemp)
Compaq Presario SR1709UK desktop with AMD Sempron 3000+ (using k8temp)

Found another module worth looking at named w83627hf
Mesh Computers desktop, model number not known
AMD Athlon 64 CPU
This machine uses the openchrome video driver in xorg
Will work with k8temp module but sensors-detect also indicated the above driver as an alternative.

Code: Select all

# modprobe w83627hf
# sensors
w83697hf-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
in0:          +1.46 V  (min =  +0.13 V, max =  +2.14 V)
in2:          +3.34 V  (min =  +0.40 V, max =  +3.90 V)
in3:          +2.98 V  (min =  +2.58 V, max =  +0.03 V)  ALARM
in4:          +3.10 V  (min =  +2.24 V, max =  +3.34 V)
in5:          +0.54 V  (min =  +2.59 V, max =  +1.79 V)  ALARM
in6:          +3.57 V  (min =  +0.32 V, max =  +0.05 V)  ALARM
in7:          +3.23 V  (min =  +0.26 V, max =  +3.34 V)
in8:          +3.57 V  (min =  +1.18 V, max =  +0.26 V)  ALARM
fan1:        2986 RPM  (min = 135000 RPM, div = 2)  ALARM
fan2:        2280 RPM  (min = 1308 RPM, div = 8)
temp1:        +30.0°C  (high = -84.0°C, hyst = +100.0°C)  sensor = CPU diode
temp2:        +28.0°C  (high = +80.0°C, hyst = +75.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
beep_enable: enabled

# find /sys -type f -name 'temp*'
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_beep
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_type
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_beep
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_type
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_max_hyst
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_max_hyst
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_input
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp1_max
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_max
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_alarm
/sys/devices/platform/w83627hf.656/temp2_input
#
Oscar in England
Image

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#77 Post by 01micko »

Another interesting find... this could go on.. and on!

So my solution is to add a 'module' parameter to the cli. It only needs to be done on first run. Everything is uploaded to github. Be sure to read the README and also run ./configure -h to get a grasp of some new options. The --enable-sensors might interest you, and also --with-help (requires mdview - get tarball from link)

Code: Select all

# git log
commit ce6965822537b6922f2569bcfd9bdf82bd0935d0
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:48:00 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.c: fix gtk3 support
    add help menu if configured
    add lm_sensors menu if configured
    bugfix for not loading icon on first run
    add module parameter on first run
    add theme parameters, light and dark

commit 258cd650f20970c83476d2dffd016fd215a8d30a
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:47:11 2015 +1000

    pmcputemp.sh: full rewrite, improved logic, add more modules

commit 2e9245b085d2e1fc7f269769dd8597edbe2eddec
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:45:45 2015 +1000

    about.c: add gtk3 support, bump version

commit 385b7b774bb359b3e51b29cbb632c7064ba5e9b4
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:42:43 2015 +1000

    configure: add lm_sensor support, help support, gtk3 support.
    Fix paths.

commit e4d3bc61523288e4bd6d73b4ca2b4bf7226856a9
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:42:02 2015 +1000

    update readme, add "help"

commit 1e9e416818da96b033fc283db6855cbdb9fb8453
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:41:13 2015 +1000

    new files lm.c, lm.h: add lm_sensor support.

commit 447ab89c7dd04517bc5cce3e533879aaf06804a6
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:40:20 2015 +1000

    update es translation

commit 9f04110c6272604b56a31a118092d7dc56f0fa9b
Author: 01micko <01micko@gmail.com>
Date:   Wed May 6 16:39:14 2015 +1000

    update man page
EDIT: I just discovered one myself :lol: . thermal_sys, for my older celeron dual core laptop (Compaq cq60)

And this works -

Code: Select all

pmcputemp d 3 thermal_sys
First run showed the icon and everything else working as expected (with the new files from github of course).
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
OscarTalks
Posts: 2196
Joined: Mon 06 Feb 2012, 00:58
Location: London, England

#78 Post by OscarTalks »

Looking good and working well on a wide selection of machines. Help window looks fine when compiled with jamesbond's mdview.

Compiling with lm-sensors the only thing I note is that I have to enable UTF-8 (in the first-run dialog gui) otherwise when opening the info window to display the sensor information I get some sort of pango shango warning and the "degrees" symbol displays as an upright rectangle with a diagonal cross in it.
Oscar in England
Image

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#79 Post by 01micko »

Hi Oscar

There are 2 ways to handle the UTF-8 issue.
  • 1. I can patch the C code (which I have done and it works)
    2. Kick it off with a script.
I'm thinking 2 is the way to go though, because there are more cases to handle than just UTF-8. For instance, if you run it as LANG=C, you get no degree symbol because it isn't in the charset at all, and it looks perfectly acceptable. There are other obscure encodings that I have no way of knowing how they will react so a script is the best solution.

Something like:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
export OLDLANG=$LANG
case $LANG in
  ??_??) export LANG=${LANG}.UTF-8 ;;
  *.UTF8|C) echo ;; #leave it
  *)echo "I can't handle this one, leaving $LANG alone" ;;
esac 


pmcputemp & #options can be added here

export LANG=$OLDLANG #reset
That code is just off the top of my head so may need work.

Of course it could be more sophisticated or simplified, whatever works for you I guess.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
Mike Walsh
Posts: 6351
Joined: Sat 28 Jun 2014, 12:42
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

#80 Post by Mike Walsh »

Hi, 01micko.

Sorry to be a little while getting back to you.
Also, the default update interval is 5 seconds - adjustable thanks to jamesbond's suggestion. On the cli just add an integer from 1 to 10, and that will adjust the update to whatever number you put in. Obviously, the lower the number, the more CPU you will use, but it isn't much.

eg:
Code:

pmcputemp 3
I tried your above suggestion. I don't know if this is the intended behaviour or not, but when I enter the above in the terminal (I used 2), what I get is a second icon, beside the first, which updates every 2 seconds.....the first one updating every 5 seconds, which appears to be the default setting, yes?

When I close the terminal, the second icon disappears.....which is probably to be expected. How would I go about adjusting this ( either in the script itself, or wherever), so that the update occurs every 2 seconds in the permanent icon? Where would I make the adjustment? :?

Bear in mind that I'm still a 'noob' as far as Linux, and scripting goes; been using these boxes of tricks for 35 yrs+, but only been using Linux for about a year in total, and early November as far as Puppy is concerned.....shortly after 'Tahrpup' was released.

I'll start learning scripting one of these days..! :lol:


Regards,

Mike.

Lend27
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue 02 Feb 2016, 13:28

#81 Post by Lend27 »

What is the command to start this at boot?

Thanks
Len

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#82 Post by Semme »

Thanks for the brush-off Mate.. Appreciated (NOT).

Lend27
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue 02 Feb 2016, 13:28

#83 Post by Lend27 »

Not sure what I did wrong, but sorry.

Your help has been great!

Len

User avatar
Mike Walsh
Posts: 6351
Joined: Sat 28 Jun 2014, 12:42
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

#84 Post by Mike Walsh »

Lend27 wrote:What is the command to start this at boot?

Thanks
Len
You should find it auto-starts. The post-install script places it in /root/.config/autostart. (Hidden file; the 'eye' icon in ROX will show them to you).


Mike. :wink:
Attachments
capture26353.png
pmcputemp in Slacko 5.7.0....
(24.7 KiB) Downloaded 951 times

Pelo

Laptop Aspire old puppies.

#85 Post by Pelo »

on try with my old Acer Aspire 3000. It's not so easy to find a temp icon... sorry 64 bits. ... no..

User avatar
rerwin
Posts: 2017
Joined: Wed 24 Aug 2005, 22:50
Location: Maine, USA

Repeating error message flooding xerrs.log

#86 Post by rerwin »

In tahr64 fresh pupsaves, the log fills with an error message. I reported this in the tahrpup Bugs thread here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 609#907609

The subsequent posting mentions that a restartX clears the problem. This occurs on a boot with no pupsave. Not sure if it continues after creating a pupsave.
Richard

Puppyt
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri 09 May 2008, 23:37
Location: Moorooka, Queensland
Contact:

#87 Post by Puppyt »

Thanks 01micko - pmcputemp working well in a 2003 Dell 1100, 2GB ram, 2.6GHz CPU. This is a P4 cpu and she burns at the high end for daily tasks - so your application is pretty vital to monitoring the health of this ol' beauty, Cheers!
Interestingly, although it was already included in the pupplet that I'm currently testing (in the subject line), I had to re-install v 0.63 via an updated PPM, before it would work - from terminal. I noticed that doesn't have a menu entry - would having that make it easier to call up for environments such as LXPanel etc? I've included it in the startup menu (shown below) but haven't rebooted yet to test. Cheers again - an essential addition to Puppy in these older machines.

UPDATE: yup there on reboot, looking good!
Forgot to mention - usb frugal installs from a multiboot YUMI stick.
Attachments
pmcputemp.jpg
screeny of pmcputemp particulars in LXPupXenial 16.08, Dell inspiron 1100 laptop
(101.05 KiB) Downloaded 724 times
Search engines for Puppy
[url]http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html[/url]; [url=https://cse.google.com/cse?cx=015995643981050743583%3Aabvzbibgzxo&q=#gsc.tab=0]Google Custom Search[/url]; [url]http://wellminded.net63.net/[/url] others TBA...

Puppyt
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri 09 May 2008, 23:37
Location: Moorooka, Queensland
Contact:

#88 Post by Puppyt »

Strangest thing - installed a new hdd into the Dell 1100 laptop, re-used my multi-boot YUMI usb drive to establish a new LXxenial as per my recipe above, and can't find pmcputemp in the updated PPM. This time I first "remove built-in package" 'd the previous pmcputemp that wasn't working after I got the response as follows:

Code: Select all

root# pmcputemp
loading k10temp
/sys/devices/virtual/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp is written to /root/.config/pmcputemp
An attempt has been made to create a configuration file

(pmcputemp:21235): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

(pmcputemp:21235): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

(pmcputemp:21235): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_new_from_file: assertion 'error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed...
...and so on. I'm pretty sure I hadn't download the pet on the first page of the thread, but maybe I've had a touch of old-timer's... working well now as a pet install. I vote it should go into the PPM and into Puppy canon
Search engines for Puppy
[url]http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html[/url]; [url=https://cse.google.com/cse?cx=015995643981050743583%3Aabvzbibgzxo&q=#gsc.tab=0]Google Custom Search[/url]; [url]http://wellminded.net63.net/[/url] others TBA...

ozsouth
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 22:08
Location: S.E Australia

#89 Post by ozsouth »

Updated pmcputemp .pet, 64 bit - changed first search path to 'platform' one, as it seems most devices use that rather than original 'virtual' one, and previously search would stop after 'virtual' path with unchanging temperature figure on many cpus. Uninstall other temperature monitors & restart x after install.
Attachments
pmcputemp-0.63a.pet
(9.46 KiB) Downloaded 394 times
Last edited by ozsouth on Sat 27 Oct 2018, 06:51, edited 1 time in total.

ozsouth
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 22:08
Location: S.E Australia

#90 Post by ozsouth »

and the updated 32bit version of pmcputemp
Attachments
pmcputemp-0.63a-32.pet
(8.91 KiB) Downloaded 405 times

ozsouth
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 22:08
Location: S.E Australia

#91 Post by ozsouth »

UPDATE: - the above .pet files and the original have a small but constant memory leak (~100mb a day). If you reboot/shutdown daily, not a problem for systems with 1+ Gb ram. RECOMMENDED ALTERNATIVE: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 87#1022287

Gobbi
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 14:01

#92 Post by Gobbi »

The updated version pmcputemp-0.63a-32.pet works well on my NUC8i7BEH pc in BionicPup32 with 32 bit kernel 5.0.1 . Thank's a lot ozsouth :!:

User avatar
Sky Aisling
Posts: 1368
Joined: Sat 27 Jun 2009, 23:02
Location: Port Townsend, WA. USA

pmcputemp -temperature monitor

#93 Post by Sky Aisling »

Hello :)

Which temp .pet do I use for BionicBeaver64?

Thank you.

Sky

ozsouth
Posts: 858
Joined: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 22:08
Location: S.E Australia

#94 Post by ozsouth »

Sky, try the one linked below first. It works in bionicpup64-8.0 on my Intel & AMD cpus. IIRC the dm1 has an AMD E-450.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 76#1008276

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#95 Post by 01micko »

There are updates at my github... but on one of my machines there seems to be a bug in cairo! However memory leaks that were concerning cairo are fixed.

Anyway - see https://github.com/01micko/pmcputemp

Older 0.72 pets are at ibiblio, built on slacko based on slackware 14.2 (YMMV on anything older)

32 bit https://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/p ... 6_s702.pet

64 bit https://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/p ... 4_s702.pet
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

Post Reply