Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 May 2015, 06:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Screen too wide for resolution choices in Puppy 4.2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 283
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 11:06    Post subject:  Screen too wide for resolution choices in Puppy 4.2
Subject description: How to change the resolution to the correct one?
 

Hi!
I have a Campaq Presarion CQ60 notebook PC.

3 gigs RAM 32 bit

The screen is quite wide and when I've loaded my Puppies which are older

Puppy 4.2 and Macpup Foxy

they are not capable of the proper resolution.

Any suggestions on how to fix the problem?

Thanks Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11406
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 11:32    Post subject:  

I've never manually changed the resolution settings, though I know it's possible and no doubt someone will tell you how. My suggestion would be to try newer versions of Puppy until you find one that automatically chooses the correct settings for your screen. Is there a particular reason you don't want to change to a newer version of Puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 283
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 22:01    Post subject:  

I really like my older versions but I figured I would need to upgrade. it would just be nice to have a fix for my older ones.

do you have any suggestions for a newer puppy? i want to run it as a live disk for the most part and I'd like one that can handle the settings for my system without having to constantly set them each time I boot.

I know I can make a save file and I probably will anyway but I am really looking for some way I can let other people on my computer without worrying about them messing anything up as I can just reboot and reset everything that way.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3818
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 22:17    Post subject:  

Perhaps, make a savefile for each person that's going to use the system -- Puppy can do that! Upon boot it will ask you to pick a savefile (you type a number and then press ENTER).
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1722
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 22:47    Post subject:  

How I run Puppy on my Compaq. I am not on my Puppy install right now though.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=784583#784583

You might want to run

Code:
ddcprobe


To see what resolutions you have as well as run

Code:
lspci | grep VGA


as well as

Code:
xdpyinfo | grep resolution


PS

Code:
cd /etc/X11


Then

Code:
ls


to look inside to see what is there is your friend also.

If xorg.conf shows up

Code:
cat xorg.conf


to read it.

That pretty much may cover your

Quote:
it would just be nice to have a fix for my older ones.


Happy Trailz, Rok

_________________
Linux Training More More I have a Masters in Raising Hell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 10513

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2015, 03:02    Post subject:  

I noticed a resolution fix (for intel) in lucid thats not present in 4.12/4.20 ...I assume the problem has this as a fix plus the intel drivers were improved a lot in this period.
So a little updating may indeed help....its nice to keep the same system for all but not always feasible.
Main difference would be the change from hda to sda...one I never liked myself but you sort of get used to it. Plus of course the incompatible sfs if you happen to use them...but there is a converter included.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 283
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2015, 22:12    Post subject:  

Thanks guys. The info you provided will surely help. thanks! Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0606s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0074s) ][ GZIP on ]