Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 04 Sep 2015, 18:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
I installed Pulseaudio, now what?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 04:57    Post subject:  I installed Pulseaudio, now what?  

Hi
Is there a straightforward way to switch from Alsa to Pulseaudio in latest tahrpup? I'd like to find out if it helps to solve my low max volume with Alsa. Distros I've run on the same laptop which use Pulseaudio don't give this problem

I downloaded and installed pulseaudio but have no idea what to do next. BTW, check dependencies throws a missing systemd sysv-rc and I don't know how to rectify this. I'd appreciate some guidance on all the above. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 05:53    Post subject:  

What pulseaudio package did you install? In meantime try to open with geany /etc/pulse/default.pa (maybe in other dir: search default.pa by pfind) and change "device" in the following two lines:

Code:
load-module module-alsa-sink device=dmix
load-module module-alsa-source device=dsnoop


Then open a terminal before using audio and type:

Code:
pulseaudio --start


To stop pulseaudio:

Code:
pulseaudio --kill


Pulseaudio is not intended as standard way to play sound in puppy: if you need pulseaudio you can try to put in /root/Startup the following script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
pulseaudio --start


Give it execute permissions and reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 06:05    Post subject:  

make sure everything is turned up in alsamixer even the not obvious controls.

Seems sound in linux has got quieter over the years....I always have to max everything out now. Combine with non normalised dvd audio and its shite.

Pulse audio might have software volume control but then most players do too..that can give more than 100% volume.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 08:28    Post subject: Alsa to Pulseaudio?  

Thanks for your help.I installed pulseaudio_4.0 in puppy package manager.
All alsa mixer controls are set to max. From various relevant forum threads it seems that a workaround was possible in Alsa via asound.conf by adding softvol device and increasing volume but don't think this now an option given asound.conf doesn't exist and all I can find is: asound.state. Even if possible, it appears this may have led to distortion problems anyway.

@watchdog: thanks, I'll give your commands suggestions a try and report back.

Cheers, good people!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 08:40    Post subject: Alsa to Pulseaudio?  

@watchdog,

Hi, I'm getting:

Code:
 pulseaudio --start
W: [pulseaudio] main.c: This program is not intended to be run as root (unless --system is specified).


Also, and this may be related to above, I hope you'll forgive my (almost) complete lack of knowledge but how do I give execute permissions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 08:44    Post subject:  

I suggest to use a pulseudio package from OscarTalks rep:

http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/

They are statically built and have been tested working in several puppies. You can give a try to my original compilation:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=789631&sid=874314d8278f285be089452584a93879#789631

Make sure to change default.pa after installing the preferred pulseaudio package.

The message:

Code:
pulseaudio --start
W: [pulseaudio] main.c: This program is not intended to be run as root (unless --system is specified).


is only a warning: do not care about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 09:39    Post subject: Alsa to Pulseaudio?  

@watchdog

installed pulseaudio-2.0.w53orig.pet did
Code:
pulseaudio --start

and got
Code:
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Daemon startup failed.
in addition to *

so uninstalled and tried: http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/pulseaudio-2.1-i486-w5.pet Would this be the correct one? Noticed it is only 882.k in size

Changed code in file etc/pulse/default.pa to dmix and dsnoop and saved

after
Code:
pulseaudio --start
got the ignorable *
Code:
 W: [pulseaudio] main.c: This program is not intended to be run as root (unless --system is specified).


Played some audio, audio works but same volume levels as with alsa. I tried pulseaudio --check to see status of daemon and got no report or error, so assume daemon running?

Is there a way to manually increase volume levels beyond comp. alsa max in 2.1 version of pulseaudio?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 09:51    Post subject:  

The standard pulseaudio mixer is pavucontrol but it has not been compiled in puppy: this is what I know. You can adjust levels in pulseaudio in puppy from alsamixer but I don't think it is the problem. Backup your savefile and try to install pavucontrol by PPM and use it with the OscarTalks' pulseaudio. This is the last chance to get a higher sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 10:00    Post subject:  

@watchdog

Thanks, I'll give that a try and feedback later. BTW deaDbeeF player has pulseaudio plug-in and changing to that works, so I'll assume pulseaudio is active.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 848

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 10:12    Post subject:  

I have tested pavucontrol in tahr with skype and OscarTalks' pulseaudio: it works and you can raise the sound to 150%.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 10:29    Post subject:  

@watchdog
Yes, can confirm pavucontrol works and certainly indicates that 150% is possible. Would you happen to know why pavucontrol doesn't register the stream from Firefox flash (e.g. Youtube) This is really my main gripe as, most available audio players have some means of increasing volume independently (and beyond alsa max value).

Is there a way to get Firefox and other browsers to channel through pulseaudio?

Sorry if this turns out to be a nutty question? I'm low on knowledge of how all these things integrate and how it all works "under the bonnet" Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 10:42    Post subject:  

.asoundrc files do not exist by default and can be used to route sound as you want...I used for bluetooth headphones for example... if you have info that suggest using that method then creating the file in /root is the way.

For flash is would probably mean routing all sound output through whatever volume changing method you have,

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 10:57    Post subject:  

@mikeb

Thanks, I will try to find some info on how to route flash/browser audio but can anyone suggest the necessary code/file setup which would route all audio through pavucontrol?

Edit:: I should add that Retrovol still controls the output of all audio (via Master) including the audio from Firefox it's just that the latter doesn't get routed through pavucontrol, so volume is still limited. That's how it seems anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
terrapin231

Joined: 21 Mar 2011
Posts: 43
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 12:16    Post subject:  

Okay, I found: http://confoundedtech.blogspot.co.uk/2011/12/fix-no-sound-in-adobe-flash-on-linux.html
and configured /etc/pulse/asound.conf as follows:

defaults.pcm.card 0
defaults.pcm.device 0
pcm.pulse { type pulse }
ctl.pulse { type pulse }
pcm.!default { type pulse }
ctl.!default { type pulse }

Firefox flash now routing through pavucontrol via alsa plug-in container Very Happy
Thanks again everyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 12:58    Post subject:  

ah good ...all seems drastic action to get decent volume don't you think....

I reckon this should be turned into a 'HOW TO'

mike

ps forum not notifying today it seems....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1838s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0196s) ][ GZIP on ]