Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Aug 2017, 18:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
WlanMaker
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 06:48    Post subject:  WlanMaker  

Project withdrawn due to lack of interest.
Last edited by rcrsn51 on Thu 20 Jul 2017, 21:16; edited 21 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1968
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2015, 16:13    Post subject:  

Code:
#!/bin/sh
dep=`which routermaker`
wifid=`rfkill list | grep 'phy1'`

if [ -z "$wifid" ]; then
      yaf-splash -text "Initiate or install 2nd wifi card."
      if [[ -z "$dep" ]]; then
         yaf-splash -text "Install routermaker first"
      fi
   exit 1
else
   hotspot=$(yad --width 280 --title "Input name for hotspot" --entry)
   mimi=$(yad --width 280 --title "Input 8 charachter password" --entry)
   srcdev=$(yad --width 300 --title "Share internet from wlan0 usb0 eth0?" --entry)
   destdev=$(yad --width 300 --title "Share internet with wlan1/2, eth1/2?" --entry)
        newip=$(yad --width 300 --title "New IP subnet: 193.168.32.1" --entry)
         
   routermaker "$srcdev" "$destdev" "$hotspot" "$mimi" "$newip" &
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1968
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2015, 07:01    Post subject:  

When I create a hotspot either with or without shared internet i.e. wlanmaker or routermaker, no ip address is provided, which means I must assign a static ip address on the connecting device. This means I have to know the ip address of the hotspot.

Any idea why it is not providing an ip address through dhcp?

cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1968
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2015, 09:02    Post subject:  

Trying to share internet results in this message
capture25474.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   10.29 KB
 Viewed   1572 Time(s)

capture25474.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2015, 09:20    Post subject:  

One of RouterMaker's jobs is to provide IP addresses for its clients by running a DHCP server. RouterMaker uses dnsmasq and WlanMaker uses udhcpd. In each case, there is a config file in /etc. These files are essential and are part of the RouterMaker PET.

In the documentation, the default IP range is stated as 192.168.100.10-250. Your screenie suggests a conflict with this range.

You have been using RouterMaker for months. Has this always been a problem or is it recent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1968
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2015, 10:51    Post subject:  

It is recent. Actually since I have been using usb0 my android phone which connects to btwifi and shares internet to my laptop over usb. Then I have wlan0 (mini pcie) and wlan1 (realtek ath9 usb dongle) with which I wish to share.

After some research I came up with these lines which I added to my yad gui script and now usb0 is sharing with wlan1.

Without these lines, just using routermaker does not accept usb0 only usb but no sharing.

so my entire script now is this.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ "$1" = reset ]; then
rm -f $HOME/.hotspot
fi
rmhotspot=$(yad --width 400 --title "Reset hotspot settings? 'y' or 'n'" --entry)
   if [[ -z "$rmhotspot" ]]; then
   exit 0
   fi
   if [[ "$rmhotspot" = y ]]; then
   rm -f $HOME/.hotspot   
if [[ ! -f $HOME/.hotspot ]]; then
   hotspot=$(yad --width 400 --title "Input name for hotspot" --entry)
   if [[ -z "$hotspot" ]]; then
   exit 0
   fi
   mimi=$(yad --width 400 --title "Input 8 charachter password" --entry)
   if [[ -z "$mimi" ]]; then
   exit 0
   fi
   srcdev=$(yad --width 420 --title "Share internet from wlan0 usb0 eth0?" --entry)
   if [[ -z "$srcdev" ]]; then
   exit 0
   fi
   destdev=$(yad --width 420 --title "Share internet with wlan1/2, eth1/2?" --entry)
   if [[ -z "$destdev" ]]; then
   exit 0
   fi
   newip=$(yad --width 420 --title "New IP subnet: 193.178.1.23" --entry)
   if [[ -z "$newip" ]]; then
   exit 0
   fi
   
   echo "hotspot=$hotspot
mimi=$mimi
srcdev=$srcdev
destdev=$destdev
newip=$newip" > $HOME/.hotspot
   fi
elif [[ "$rmhotspot" = n ]]; then
   . $HOME/.hotspot
fi

choice=$(yad --width=400 --title "Hotspot 'with' or 'without' internet access?" --entry)
case $choice in
with)
   routermaker "$srcdev" "$destdev" "$hotspot" "$mimi" "$newip" &
   echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
   /sbin/iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o "$srcdev" -j MASQUERADE
   /sbin/iptables -A FORWARD -i "$srcdev" -o "$destdev" -m state
   #/sbin/iptables -A FORWARD -i "$srcdev" -o "$destdev" -j ACCEPT
;;
without)
   wlanmaker "$destdev" "$hotspot" "$mimi" &
;;
esac
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 18 Feb 2016, 15:23    Post subject:  

And this... Is really great work:-)

I am a really really nobody when it comes to code and understanding of such. But a do know what is possible and what can become fun and very useful.

With this, can i configure and remaster one of these strip down versions of Slacko and add a webserver with lets say Joomla and all that comes with, like chess, chat, fileserver and what not?

Could this be the "carrier" of nothing but a webserver that people can connect to and also... maybe gameserver? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 18 Feb 2016, 16:33    Post subject:  

RouterMaker/WlanMaker are experimental and largely untested. They just provide the backbone for a network using a Puppy machine instead of a physical router. What you connect to the network and what actually works is up to you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 19 Feb 2016, 11:25    Post subject:  

As good as a answer can get...

I download and install Slacko 6.3 32 bits and 64 bits and hope to be able to test.

PS... Should this not be promoted also under software/networking?

I looks like a hit to me Smile

atle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb 2016, 22:51    Post subject:  

So... Slacko 6.3-64 worked like a dream. Meanwhile Slacko6.3-32 was not success.

It reports back /usr/bin/wlanmaker: line 36 hostapd: command not found

And then I have tested on the same machine that worked with the 64 slacko.

I can not say why it is like this, but there is no entry in that folder named wlanmaker that i found in the 64 bits versions same folder.

So as it looks to me somethings goes wrong during installation on slacko 6.3-32.

But lets assume one gets over that? Maybe my installation pet file was broken somehow or something ill figure out when double checking.

When i get this or that version up and going and when a guest wants to visit my wlan, then how can it become auto that they end up at the hosts localhost? If they put in google.com they still get sent to my welcome page.

I am at a mobile network currently and not so keen on downloading large files like 5.7 and _LAMP etc, but that will be my first thing to do when back in civilization.

I really really LOVE this neat program. It does JUST what I have been looking for for years. You can even trace back request from me about this on hostapd mailing list about 5 years ago...

So you just made my YEAR Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue 23 Feb 2016, 23:08    Post subject:  

As for the "Windows will show limited network" as there is no internet...

Huuhm... Now i have not used Windows in many years, but when them winfolks log on to the wlan at lets say McDonalds, do they then get that message? Because they just needs to accept some user terms and the they are on the internet. Would be fun to know if anyone is out there and can check that one in or out..

Now I assume I got a similar system to McDonald, where the guest gets routed to a default page. will that "limited net" still show up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 25 Feb 2016, 11:07    Post subject:  

I'm glad that you are pleased with WlanMaker. Unfortunately, your report doesn't make much sense.

Quote:
So... Slacko 6.3-64 worked like a dream.

The hostapd package that you downloaded from Debian is 32-bit. It would NEVER work in a 64-bit Puppy. [Edit] Unless you are running a 32-bit compatibility pack. This is untested.

Quote:
Meanwhile Slacko6.3-32 was not success.It reports back /usr/bin/wlanmaker: line 36 hostapd: command not found

If you installed the Debian package correctly in Puppy, you would NOT get that message.

Quote:
I can not say why it is like this, but there is no entry in that folder named wlanmaker that i found in the 64 bits versions same folder.

Both hostapd and the wlanmaker script are installed into /usr/sbin. I think that you need a clean install of your Puppy.

Quote:
When i get this or that version up and going and when a guest wants to visit my wlan, then how can it become auto that they end up at the hosts localhost? If they put in google.com they still get sent to my welcome page.

A WlanMaker network has NO connection to the Internet. Users cannot reach google.com. They will access your web server through its IP address, like
Code:
http://192.168.100.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2016, 15:25    Post subject:  

Hi there...

I can believe my report does not make much sense.

Its for sure i had the 32 bits lib installed due to trying skype. So for sure that is the reason it came out so nice in Slacko 6.3 64.

But on the other hand, all i did was installing the pet provided. maybe first the file i downloaded by PM, was also with hostapd included?

Cause i am quite sure i did install the hostapd file, but i could have done it due to "lots of impatience"...

Never the less the others "tests" was done without and I need to redo them all. And I am sorry i made this mistake. Not my wish to be a timewaster...


atle
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2016, 15:45    Post subject:  

If your 32-bit Puppy already had an install of RouterMaker, you need to:

1. Either uninstall it or do a clean install of Puppy.
2. Install the Debian package of hostapd as described in the notes.
3. Install the WlanMaker PET.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1404
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 29 Feb 2016, 04:14    Post subject:  

What might it be done in order to share internet in slacko 6.3.0 or tahr 6.0.5? Using the precise hostapd which recognizes the Ralink RT73USB dongle (module rt73usb).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0657s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]