Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Nov 2017, 15:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
WlanMaker
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2016, 09:04    Post subject:  

watchdog wrote:
What might it be done in order to share internet in slacko 6.3.0 or tahr 6.0.5?

Quote:
WlanMaker is NOT an Internet sharing tool. It does NOT provide Internet access to client computers.

There are other Puppy projects that can provide Internet sharing.

Quote:
Using the precise hostapd which recognizes the Ralink RT73USB dongle (module rt73usb).

I don't have one of these. It may or may not be capable of switching to an access point. But you could test it yourself in WlanMaker and report.

Or are you stating that rt73usb CAN work as an AP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1492
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2016, 11:48    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:

I don't have one of these. It may or may not be capable of switching to an access point. But you could test it yourself in WlanMaker and report.

Or are you stating that rt73usb CAN work as an AP?


Yes, it does work as access point, I think. But I was not able to share the eth0 internet connection. I have success only in slacko 5.6. I'm a newbie about networking and I don't know much about LANs: the access point works in slacko 6.3.0 or tahr 6.0.5 as I can connect a wifi tablet (I read "connected") but there is not internet connection. I think shareinternet 2.2.4 or 2.2.6 needs some updates for recent puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2016, 12:06    Post subject:  

The problem that you are describing suggests that the kernel is at fault. It must be built with certain modules that provide internet sharing. They are part of iptables.

You should ask in the Slacko 630 or Tahrpup 605 threads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1492
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2016, 12:29    Post subject:  

Many thanks for the explanation. I'll stick with slacko 5.6 for the wifi hotspot job. No need to compile a new kernel for slacko 6.3.0. When I have time I'll try to switch kernels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1492
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Wed 02 Mar 2016, 14:20    Post subject:  

I have solved the sharing internet problem making a wifi hotspot switching in tahr 6.0.5 32 bit to the fatdog's 3.18.7 kernel which has full 32-64 bit support. Not tried wlanmaker but the SFR's HowTo worked for me.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87584
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2016, 12:27    Post subject:  

So then a experiment has been done...

I a fresh Lupu SuperLupu 004 (5.2.8.7)...

Messed around a bit trying to fit in the smaller Hiawatha 9.3, but ended at the XAMPP.SFS. The i installed Joomla to it... All worked very fine.

Then i installed the .db and your.pet. Made a name as GoTo:192.168.100.1

So that the user knows where to go with his browser and added a password. All fine... just some error messages, but no showstoppers.

Then i logged on from another laptop to the ready set up box.

And guess what... It just WORKED...

So what are we looking at here rcrsn51?

We are now looking at something very special as I can set up the Joomla to become almost whatever the world of web can offer.

Filesharing, FTP, chat, forums, and what else Joomla can do.

Have a look into the repo of Joomla plugins just to get an idea of what one can now turn a laptop into.

So my next move now, that will be offline, is to connect the laptop set up with xampp, joomla and Wlanmaker with wired internet and the see if my joomla can connect to that while the Wlan serve the other laptop.

This will be VERY exciting Smile

THANK FOR THIS GREAT JOB rcrsn51
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 04 Mar 2016, 12:47    Post subject:  

Well... that worked to...

The laptop xampp, joomla and what not is connected to the internet with wired connection while the joomla is served trough Wlanmaker.

This will also apply to mobile internet. And this is VERY interesting setup.

I changed the index.php in the root folder of the server so it now points straight to my jooma upon 192.168.100.1...

So the next big step now is to make this go automatic.

So once logged to the AP made, whatever you put into the browser, sends you straight to the joomla (192.168.100.1)

Wow I am so happy about this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2016, 09:54    Post subject:  

How do you stop wlanmaker from terminal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2016, 10:00    Post subject:  

Atle wrote:
How do you stop wlanmaker from terminal?


Ctrl-C. And maybe "killall hostapd".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar 2016, 14:17    Post subject:  

Thanks... Ctrl C does it...

I have tried to create a startup script by simply having this:

#!/bin/sh

# wlanmaker wlan0 nameofSSID Password

The thing is to have one "concept"... Could be "Puppy goes local" kind of server. maybe

wlanmaker wlan0 FreeLinuxNow none

But THAT did not work

Also a stop script i want for the desktop.

But before a startup script at least for FatDog WpaGui needs to be stopped first. I think i Slacko 64 that was not necessary(freesbee)

The sort of idea is that people will start and stop this many times, but changing the SSID and PW is something less often...
Untitled.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   89.69 KB
 Viewed   440 Time(s)

Untitled.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2016, 07:44    Post subject:  

Change line 30 of /usr/sbin/wlanmaker to
Code:
hostapd /tmp/hostapd.conf $4

Run it with
Code:
wlanmaker wlan0 ssid passphrase -B

The -B option sends everything into the background.

Now try running wlanmaker from inside a script.

Stop it with
Code:
killall udhcpd hostapd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2016, 08:35    Post subject:  

And that was just perfect. works like a charm...

Thanks rcrsn51

A preview is ready..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 1995
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2016, 09:07    Post subject:  

I had a problem running the routermaker as AP the solution was to load the nat_* module manually, by the way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11721
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 07 Mar 2016, 09:13    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
I had a problem running the routermaker as AP the solution was to load the nat_* module manually, by the way.

That was the problem with RouterMaker in many Puppies. To do internet sharing, you needed to mess around with the iptables modules.

Because WlanMaker does NOT do internet sharing, it's not an issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 598
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 20 Mar 2016, 07:10    Post subject:  

I think this post could be of interest to all viewers of this thread...

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106183
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [45 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0491s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]