Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 17 Nov 2017, 21:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
BIT METER OS 0.7.6 (stable) & 0.8.0 (experimental)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3131
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2015, 18:21    Post subject:  

@Geoffrey:-

Thanks for your xbitmeter tar.gz.


Quote:
I found that it needs an established network connection before /etc/init.d/bitmeter is run, that's why the script is in /root/Startup

See if this sorts it out for you.
Code:
#!/bin/sh

IFCONFIG="`ifconfig | grep '^[pwe]' | grep -v 'wmaster'`"
while [ "$IFCONFIG" != "" ]; do
sleep 1
ping -c 1 8.8.8.8
if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
break
else
ping -c 1 www.google.com
if [ $? -eq 0 ];then
break
fi
fi
done

/etc/init.d/bitmeter restart



Works a treat. What I did was un-install 0.7.6, delete the bitmeter directory in /root/.config, and re-booted. I then installed OscarTalks' .pet of the 0.8.0 version, as his starts the daemons, obviating a re-start. Started Chromium, and 'tabbed up' BitMeter; all working nicely.

Quit Chromium, and re-started it. As expected, the logs weren't updating... again. So; quit Chromium. Extracted your xbitmeter.tar.gz to /root/Startup. Checked with Geany...all present & correct.

Shut down, and re-booted. Back into Chromium, and re-started BitMeter; all behaving itself; logs now updating. Did a second shut-down, and re-boot (not strictly necessary, but I like to double-check things). Back into Chromium, and.....BitMeter 0.8.0 still working nicely! Excellent.

So; thanks for that. A nice, simple little 'workaround'; the best things usually are. Cheers, Geoffrey!

Appreciated.


Regards,

Mike. Very Happy

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Tue 12 May 2015, 06:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3131
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2015, 18:33    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
I am not a child of confusion Smile

Well I put it on the shelf fo a little while...but sounds like we are all getting some slightly erratic behaviour...I want to get to the bottom of the cause which may take a little time and head scratching.

Otherwise there should be no reason why this wont work on ANY pup...that is the beauty of it.

Mike



That's rather what I'm hoping, Michael. The basic concept is pretty simple.....and, as you say, there's no real reason why it shouldn't be able to work on all Pups, given a bit of thought.

It's not a particularly complex app, when all's said and done. A fair bit of 'window dressing', obviously; Rob's done a lovely job on it. But it's a very useful one.

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2015, 03:55    Post subject:  

What I use to detect a live network...
Code:
while [ "$SUBNET" = "" ]; do
   SUBNET=$(ifconfig | grep inet | grep -v 127.0.0.1 | awk '{print $2}' | cut -d ':' -f 2)
   sleep 20
done

could probably be simplified as thats looking for the subnet to check for live NFS shares.... but similar idea.

The non creation of the log was not caused by a lack of network though.

Back on dry land so will have another play unless we have a reproducible package now.
As mentioned its probably just messed up permissions during my tests.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3131
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2015, 06:40    Post subject:  

Now installed, and working nicely, in Slacko 5.7.0.....using OscarTalks' experimental 0.8.0 .pet, and employing Geoffrey's 'xbitmeter' start-up workaround (modified from mavrothal's original...thanks, mavrothal!)

And thanks to Geoffrey, too, for sharing.

Next up; to see if I can get it to work in ETP's OBPrecise 14.07.26 'ChromeBook' Pup. Precise is known for being a wee bit 'awkward'; watch this space.


Regards,

Mike. Smile

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2307
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2015, 07:21    Post subject:  

Mike,
I got it working in Vanguard, I stuffed up the libpcap link, here's a command that finds libpcap.so.x.x.x excluding symbolic links to create the libpcap.so.0.8 link for version 0.8.0
Code:
LIBPCAP=`find /usr/lib -type f -name 'libpcap.so.*'`
ln -s "$LIBPCAP" /usr/lib/libpcap.so.0.8


I don't know how to run this if the package is a sfs, a pet is easy enough using a pinstall.sh script.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3131
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2015, 09:51    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
Mike,
I got it working in Vanguard, I stuffed up the libpcap link.....


That's great, Geoffrey; excellent news. Well, you have at least had 5 years or so with Puppy.....and from the look of things, your scripting skills are certainly better than mine. I've had barely 6 months; 35 years of other OSs does not prepare you for the reality that is Linux, to say nothing of somewhat 'special' ones like Puppy.....but I already like it so much, I'll defend it to the death if necessary!

Quote:
I don't know how to run this if the package is a sfs, a pet is easy enough using a pinstall.sh script.


Like I said, I am in no sense a developer.....but I did want to bring this to people's attention. This is where we need folk like 666philb, 01micko, OscarTalks, rcrsn51, mavrothal, et al., to (hopefully) get interested enough to volunteer some of their skills for us!

Still, we know it will at least work with Tahrpup, Slacko 570, Carolina, and now Vanguard. 4 down.....and about 400 more to go. It is at least a start...


Regards,

Mike. Smile

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2015, 11:09    Post subject:  

Don't forget lucid and 412...indeed it would be odder if it did not work in everything .. Smile

Its also the most on topic thread so far Very Happy

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3131
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2015, 12:50    Post subject:  

Hah!

You just had to put that in, didn't you, Mike? Laughing

Yes, indeedy; it does make a change for me, I must say. Well, we have success in ETP's OBPrecise 14.07.26 'ChromeBook' Pup (V.2), too. So, if we now add Lucid & 412 into the mix (and D-Pup 'Wheezy', that Oscar originally tried 0.8.0 in), that makes 8 for definite we know it's working in.....which is a good start.

Obviously, we'll have to rely on various other individuals being prepared to try it out in their 'Pups' of choice. If I gave into it, it could well take me from now till Xmas to try it out in every Pup & Puplet out there; don't fancy it, somehow...

We really need some testers for the 64-bit versions. I know 0.7.6 (stable) works perfectly in 64-bit Ubuntu & its derivatives.....but I'm afraid the 'buntus are no longer enjoying my patronage, so I can't try it out on them any more.

Slow & steady, that's the best way.....

I think I need to a start a list in the OP that lists the Pups known to work with it; give new viewers a 'heads-up' from the beginning.


Mike. Very Happy

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Wed 13 May 2015, 17:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2015, 13:41    Post subject:  

Well perhaps i should have said it should be possible to make one pet that works for all.
I only knocked up the sfs for testing really.

And yes its my duty to rise from my tomb in the puppy basement and rattle a few chains now and then Wink

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2307
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 00:45    Post subject:  

Here is bitmeteros-0.8.0-i386.pet.

I've included a pinstall.sh that creates the needed libpcap.so.0.8 symbolic link,

Copies /var/lib/bitmeter/bitmeter.db.new to /var/lib/bitmeter/bitmeter.db, was mentioned the database wasn't being created.

Runs the bitmeterweb start and bitmeter start

I'm guessing it should work in any pup

As always, use at your own peril Wink

Edit: re-uploaded, changed so opens default browser created bitmeter.png so the icon shows in the menu with jwm, don't seem to like .ico.

Tested with Racy 5.2.9, Tahr 1.6.0.2, Wary 5.5, all work OOTB.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 03:45    Post subject:  

Ok quick test of the 0.8.0 pet....

libpcap is a funny one.... perhaps the older bitmeter had it statically compiled in since it seems to provide functions that are needed for monitoring...or perhaps there were too many to duplicated in the end Smile

As it happens 4.12 (thought I would test on that again) does not have it...debian etch provided the goods and even that has 0.8 as a symlink to 0.9.5! Actually Lucid does not have it (libpcap) either.

Ok those debian start up scipts will not work on 4.12 and lucid (and others?)...so tested from command line.
All works just fine so no problem there.
4.12 might not be considered but Lucid does still have quite a user base here.

Interestingly enough there is no log file generated that I can see...and since that seemed to be related to the problems I was having I will take that as a good thing Smile.

II also did not see any problems with the 0.8.0 build...the coding of the guy seems solid and yes the web inteface has those nice extras Smile

Just some feedback.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 04:44    Post subject:  

Just noticed the pet has everything as root.

The older package had all files as 1000:1000 ownership (actually on 4.12 it comes up as ftp:ftp and it behaved) which I am sure helped confuse matters so hopefully being all root makes life easier.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 06:29    Post subject:  

BM080 installed to 2 32bit PUP distros; namely X-Slacko2.1 and Puppex6.0.

In each case, it shows in the Menu>Network>BitMeter OS... Launching from the menu does not present itself in the browser. On X-Slacko's menu, it has an icon, but on Puppex, it does not.

What can I present which would be helpful?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2307
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 07:19    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
BM080 installed to 2 32bit PUP distros; namely X-Slacko2.1 and Puppex6.0.

In each case, it shows in the Menu>Network>BitMeter OS... Launching from the menu does not present itself in the browser. On X-Slacko's menu, it has an icon, but on Puppex, it does not.

What can I present which would be helpful?


ldd shows these library files
Code:
ldd bmcapture
   libpcap.so.0.8 => /usr/lib/libpcap.so.0.8 (0xb7753000)
   libsqlite3.so.0 => /usr/lib/libsqlite3.so.0 (0xb769e000)
   libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb7651000)
   libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb749b000)
   libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb747f000)
   libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb747a000)
   /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7780000)


Check the task manager, bmcaputure and bmws should be running

I've had the pet work on X-slacko 3 which is slacko 5.9.3 don't know what Puppex's window manager is?

The bitmeterweb.desktop I edited so the icon is a png instead of a ico, it should now show in any menu

Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Name=BitMeter OS Web Interface
GenericName=Bandwidth Monitor
Comment=Monitor your network speed using a web browser
Exec=/var/lib/bitmeter/runweb.sh
Type=Application
Icon=/var/www/bitmeter/bitmeter.png
Categories=Network;


You may have downloaded before I fixed the icon and changed the runweb.sh script, it now opens the default browser, download the pet again and try it.

You can try http://localhost:2605 in a browser and see if it's working

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 14:08    Post subject:  

Thanks @Geoffrey. I will download and replace 080.
Code:
URL ===> localhost:260
Works, prior to replacing.

I noticed that the utilty implies, by its name, a 32bit usage. Will there be a separate utility for 64bit PUPs or will the 32bit morph into 64bit as well?

Thanks for this very good tool for home data management use. And, thanks to everyone for addressing this understanding.

Edited: Replacing with the latest has resolved the issues reported earlier. Thx, again, Geoffrey! Cool

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Wed 13 May 2015, 15:36; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1018s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]