Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Jan 2020, 14:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EmSee-Tahr
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1636
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2015, 22:46    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, stemsee.
[...]

And of course I still prefer my CLI slocate wrapper over yours. Wink

[...]

musher0


musher, how can you change it so it by default spits out all its results?

thanks.

related to stemsee's offering--is there a possibility that the databases don't work if musher's is installed first--i think that' the situation i'm in...

(apologies for going off topic, since no one else ever seems to have had any difficulty with it and it appears to be a solid part of tahr...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14723
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2015, 22:55    Post subject:  

Hello, Puppus.

Answer 1) Nope. The slocate database is coded to be very compact. It
unfolds on-screen ok, but I'd have to reverse-engineer it to get straight
text and I don't know how.

Besides, slavvo7 probably has exactly what you need (browse that thread
and you'll find his implementation, based on find rather than slocate).

Answer 2) Yep. It's one or the other. Remove mine if you wish, I'm hard to offend! Wink

BFN.

musher0

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 1636
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2015, 23:05    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hello, Puppus.

Answer 1) Nope. The slocate database is coded to be very compact. It
unfolds on-screen ok, but I'd have to reverse-engineer it to get straight
text and I don't know how.

Besides, slavvo7 probably has exactly what you need (browse that thread
and you'll find his implementation, based on find rather than slocate).

Answer 2) Yep. It's one or the other. Remove mine if you wish, I'm hard to offend! Wink

BFN.

musher0


nope, find doesn't cut it.

your database-making and update scripts are appreciated.

thanks.
Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14723
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 19 May 2015, 23:47    Post subject:  

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
musher0 wrote:
Hello, Puppus.

Answer 1) Nope. The slocate database is coded to be very compact. It
unfolds on-screen ok, but I'd have to reverse-engineer it to get straight
text and I don't know how.

Besides, slavvo7 probably has exactly what you need (browse that thread
and you'll find his implementation, based on find rather than slocate).

Answer 2) Yep. It's one or the other. Remove mine if you wish, I'm hard to offend! Wink

BFN.

musher0


nope, find doesn't cut it.

your database-making and update scripts are appreciated.

thanks.
Very Happy


Sorry I couldn't be of more help...

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 04:33    Post subject:  

I am an extremely sensitive over-thinker, that's all! :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14723
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 20 May 2015, 05:28    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
I am an extremely sensitive over-thinker, that's all! :-/


Shucks. Another one. Rolling Eyes Laughing

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 14723
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Thu 21 May 2015, 21:39    Post subject:  

@PuppusDogfellow
In answer to your question at the top of this page:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=846966&sort=lastpost#846966
The total nope is not that total anymore. I found a way to extract partial
listings out of slocate db's.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Je suis né pour aimer et non pas pour haïr. (Sophocle) /
I was born to love and not to hate. (Sophocles)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 22 May 2015, 05:06    Post subject:  

There is an upgrade available through quickpet. It takes the distro from 6.01/2 to 6.0.3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2015, 10:46    Post subject:  

There are two tahr upgrades available via quickpet.

1) update of fixes.
2) kernel-4.0.4-pae by 666philb (noticeably faster in nearly all areas!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2015, 14:29    Post subject:  

Teamviewer 10 not working in Tahr! Anyone got any clues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2015, 16:47    Post subject:  

Will EmseeTahr become an 6.0.3 ISO with latest 4.0.4 at some point?

Additional Note:
The EmSeeTahr bootsplash reflects some selections for which nothing exist (at this time) for those selections. "Tahr" is merely a 32bit PUP distro. Would, when time permits, those other entries be remove to avoid user (including myself) confusion?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3519
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2015, 16:51    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
Teamviewer 10 not working in Tahr! Anyone got any clues?


having wine installed messes with teamviewer (as it has its own) ... grabbing wineserver from /usr/bin and dropping it into teamviewers /opt folder over writing its own one gets it fire up ... although not sure if everything still functions

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2015, 17:53    Post subject:  

In due time I will write a script to generate the correct entries for iso files, or the user can replace my generic ones with their own or original ones. Really how much confusion could there be? Try this one ... oh doesn't work. Try the other one ... oh it works. Are people walking around in a state of perpetual confusion because of it?? NO! It is a work in proogress.

Thanks @666philb I will try it. But 9 is doing a great job anyway. All other vnc servers now removed from my system. Tightvnc might have been ok, but couldn't get it to fire up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2015, 18:17    Post subject:  

Teamviewer 10 now working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2015, 05:23    Post subject:  

Spoke too soon!! It fires up but closes with an error when trying to connect to the pc with an android teamviewer client. Restored teamviewer 9 which works flawlessly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0660s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]