Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 10:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Loading wireless dhcpcd settings at boot. (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 20:25    Post subject:  Loading wireless dhcpcd settings at boot. (Solved)  

I want to automate my wlan0 internet connection, the connection
works just fine when I load them from the keyboard.

This is what the wiki said to do, but....


Next, you want to auto load the settings on boot.
Puppy has a file /etc/rc.d/rc.local that can be used to automate
the process. Just add the following values, corresponding to
your system. Using Rox, I added the following to rc.local;

modprobe ndiswrapper (loads the ndiswrapper module)
iwconfig wlan0 key open xxxxxxxxxx channel 6 essid default
dhcpcd wlan0


I can't seem to get past modpeobe ndiswrapper starting and waiting
for a manual inpuut from the keyboard.

I was thinking I need to create or edit another file for wireless.
I was reading some distros have a seperate config file for wifi.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 23:53    Post subject:  

Have confirmed beyond no reasonable doubt that ndiswrapper has loaded ?


Sometimes it pays to had a sleep 3 command btween loading the the driver and setting the parameters.....


But first manually load the driver and make sure that the driver has loaded and you have a wlan0 interface......This is abolutey required....

# cat /proc/net/dev
will tell the names of your network interfaces, if wlan0 does not come up the driver has not loaded
Back to top
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jul 2005, 23:56    Post subject:  

you may be taking the steps too literally.

Before adding any steps to rc.local you have to make sure that they work with your card.

For example, I don't need the modprobe instruction as the drivers that come with puppy already support my card.

You have to add to rc.local the commands that you use to bring it up manually.

For example, I only have the following:
Code:

iwconfig eth1 mode Managed
iwconfig eth1 key restricted FE1665AA85
iwconfig eth1 essid mynetwork
ifconfig eth1 up
rm /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-eth1.pid
dhcpcd eth1


The device (eth1) may be different depending on your card, for some it is ath0 for some wlan0 for some ra0 etc.

You need to know the parameters of your network.
You need to know for example:
- The mode. Mine is 'Managed'
- If the network has security enabled
- You need to know if the WEP key is 'restricted' or 'open'
- You need to know the actual WEP key
- If the access point broadcasts the essid, you need to know the essid of the network.

I prefer to start disabling security and making sure that I can connect, after that I enable security.

Also, something that may seem obvious but we never know: Don't type the comments included in the instructions.

For example, if you need ndiswrapper, you have to type

modprobe ndiswrapper

Without the comments in parentesis in the example.

I hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2005, 22:46    Post subject: how do i auto load ndiswrapper  

Here is my /etc/rc.d/rc.local


modprobe ndiswrapper
iwconfig wlan0 essid link******
ifconfig wlan0 up
dhcpcd wlan0

then i had to type in dhcpcd wlan0 to un hang it

then i entered #cat /proc/net/dev


I attached the output in a file

I figure it's something simple, but i'm not savy enough to figure it out.

I hope somebody can

Also how is the picture size compared to last time?
wlan0.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.46 KB
 Viewed   3089 Time(s)

wlan0.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10936
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jul 2005, 23:53    Post subject:  

You undershot this time. Laughing Crop it so just the text shows and make it about twice that size, and it will be just about perfect. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 02:20    Post subject:  

Stale files in /etc/dhcpd are the cause of you not getting an address......


delete everything except dhcpcd.exe....I'm sure this is mentioned in the wiki....


Try assigning an address first manually, google for ifconfig's manpage, to see if you have connectivity......

But ndiswrapper has loaded and the wlan0 interface is there.......

IF YOU ARE CONNECTING TO AN ACCESS POINT BE SURE TO BE SURE HAVE MANAGED MODE SET.......

YOU KNOW ALL YOUR WIRELESS PARAMETERS ? DON'T YOU [/b]
Back to top
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 05:47    Post subject:  

It looks like perhaps you did take the article too literally. I think that you used my article on wiki, which was written for Puppy 1.0.2. It may need to be updated.

The hang on boot is a syntax error somewhere in the command lines that you put in rc.local.

If you look at the article again, I gave a step by step explanation of each command and when each should be used.

You do not need ifconfig wlan0 up in the command sequence, just dhcpcd wlan0.

...and yes, you need to make sure that it works at the command line first, as the article explains.

The most important point is that you need to maker sure that you have an access point. This is where folks are speaking of the card needing open vs. restricted access, as well as if a wep key is needed.

Guys and gals, let me know if I need to change the article for Puppy 1.0.3 and I will do it promptly. I have not tried it totally with the new version of Puppy 1.0.3.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2005, 23:04    Post subject: wireless wlan0 info for thought  

I deleted all the lines I added to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Then I re-booted and here is the output:

Loading extra ethernet driver modules....
Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.27/modules.dep
modprobe: Can't locate module net8180


Then I type in this: # modprobe ndiswrapper
Then I get this: Note: /etc/modules.conf is more recent than /lib/modules/2.4.27/modules.dep
ndiswrapper version 0.11 loaded (preempt=no, smp=no)
# ndiswrapper: using irq 11
wlan0: ndiswrapper ethernet device 00.xx.xx.bc.xx.xx using driver net8180
wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP, WPA with TKIP, AES/CCMP
ndiswrapper: driver net8180 (Realtek,10/07/2004,5.173.1007.2004) added

Then the prompt is in a waiting mode so I type this:

dhcpcd wlan0

Then the card comes on line and I can access the net.

I know it's not encrypted but I live so far out in the sticks I'm not worried.
I'll fix the encription problem later.
I just want to fix the automation problem first.
Loading the driver and connecting to my router.
Also I exed out some of the numbers on the device ID.
I made copies of the module net8180 and put it in different locations hoping it could be found....but no go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 00:50    Post subject:  

THE NET8180 HAS TO BE IN /ETC/NDISWRAPPER/NET8180 DO NOT MOVE IT LEAVE IT WHERE IT IS


Put a sleep 5 between the loading of the module and running dhcpcd to give the module time to load everything, because in a script the dhcpcd command will start before the module finished loading.

Take any reference to ndiswrapper out of your modules.conf
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 00:55    Post subject:  

Do not try to modprobe net8180, you have to load ndiswrapper, did you put an entry to net8180 in modules.conf0 or modules.conf ?
Back to top
ezeze5000


Joined: 10 May 2005
Posts: 346
Location: Missouri U.S.A

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 09:38    Post subject: wlan0 automation update  

Well here I am posting this from my puppy laptop.

I finally got it automated, with a lot of help from the regulars on this forum.

Also I aquired some experiance using the VI editor Smile

This is what I edited in /etc/rc.d/rc.local

modprobe ndiswrapper
sleep 5
dhcpcd wlan0


This works, i'll have to work on the security now.

Thanks everybody.......and I hope I can help somebody else in return.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10936
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 10:23    Post subject: Re: wlan0 automation update  

ezeze5000 wrote:
Well here I am posting this from my puppy laptop.

I finally got it automated, with a lot of help from the regulars on this forum.
<snip>
Thanks everybody.......and I hope I can help somebody else in return.
You have, by telling us what you did that worked, in enough detail to be useful to someone else with the same problem. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2005, 15:10    Post subject:  

some distros only have vi to edit text when X is not running

Puppy also has mp, which is more user-friendly if you are not used to vi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0748s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]