Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Oct 2017, 15:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Is there Nvidia GT210 support for Puppy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2015, 12:07    Post subject:  Is there Nvidia GT210 support for Puppy?  

Hello

I'm needing a cheap replacement graphics card for my P4 box.

I've seen this one which seems to be based on the Nvidea GT210 processor and need to know if it will a) work and b) work well with Puppy Precise?

There seem to be some references to using this core with Ubuntu so I hoped there might be a chance but wanted to ask before buying.

Thanks for any help -- the more I try to read-up about Puppy graphics drivers the more confused I seem to get Smile

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1093
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jun 2015, 17:49    Post subject:  

I have the same Nvidia chip in my PC. Works a treat.

It will work with the default drivers, there are probably precompiled nvidia drivers for your puppy and you can compile the driver yourself easily.

All methods will work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jun 2015, 04:49    Post subject:  

I believe they were aimed at the profession graphics market so on windows you may get locked out unless you have the OEM driver...or something along those lines...the geoforces were the cheaper commersial releases of the same but with feature limited chips...again just a rough description.
This may be why they are cheaper...got stung by a ATI card like that but managed to hack the windows driver in the end.

On linux if you want full features (3D) you need nvidias proprietry driver... though nouveau is not too bad now.... hopefully there will be no such problems ...am posting as i am curious myself.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jun 2015, 11:49    Post subject:  

hello

Mike
The card I am looking at seems to be sold as a low-end deskto/home entertainment market product - it sells for ~£20 here in the UK. windows drivers seem to be available for XP up to 8.1 from the Asus website.

Anyone
I have now been able to confirm that I'm using (according to Hardinfo) Precise 5.7.1 with kernal 3.9.11.

Any other opinions on this graphics chip on this set up before I order?

Thanks
Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jun 2015, 12:55    Post subject:  

Hmm i might be getting mixed up with the (older) NVS range which go really cheap second hand...usually pulls from Business machines like those half height compaqs... so what you are after sounds like there will be no problem Smile

Strike my comment from the record and enjoy.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9388
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jun 2015, 16:24    Post subject:  

The cards specs say it needs PCI-Express 2.0 interface

Does your computer have that?

It will probably work OK if all you have is PCI-Express 1.0 interface.

PCIe 2.0 cards are also generally backward compatible with PCIe 1.x motherboards, using the available bandwidth of PCI Express 1.1

So, if you only have PCI-Express 1.0 interface. The card may not run at it's max bandwidth.

PCI Express Bandwidth
PCIe 1.0a, with a per-lane data rate of 250 MB/s and a transfer rate of 2.5 gigatransfers per second (GT/s).

2.0 standard doubles the transfer rate compared with PCIe 1.0 to 5 GT/s and the per-lane throughput rises from 250 MB/s to 500 MB/s.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6707
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jun 2015, 16:36    Post subject:  

I have 2 boxes running that card. The nouveau driver works fine in every Puppy version I've tried.The Nvidia driver is available for some Pups as well.

Pretty good low-budget card.

Code:
root# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: tahrpup, version 6.0

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nvidia
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse ramdac wfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1440x900 pixels (411x263 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jun 2015, 07:33    Post subject:  

Hello

James C:
Quote:
The nouveau driver works fine in every Puppy version I've tried.The Nvidia driver is available for some Pups as well.


That's what I needed to hear -- I've just ordered the part and will try to report back how it goes.

Bigpup:

I've looked into the interface question and realize I won't get the fullest performance from the new card on my PCIe 1.x mainboard but need to get the box running again so I'll try it. The suppliers say it should work with PCIe 1 and they take returns so it seems worth the risk Smile

Thank everyone

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkingmad

Joined: 21 Nov 2008
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jul 2015, 11:37    Post subject:  

Hello

I'm back, card installed and working -- Puppy came stright up and "just worked" - hows this look.

Quote:
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.7.1

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1280x1024
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse record shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes


I'm getting ~960 fps in glxgears too so unless I have any problems I'll leave well alone with drivers.

Thanks for the help.

William
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2082s ][ Queries: 13 (0.1042s) ][ GZIP on ]