Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 11:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha7 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
divisionmd


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2008, 05:16    Post subject:  Connecting to wireless network using Dingo
Subject description: WPA 1 using PSK passphrase
 

Hello,

Dont know if this bug is already reported in.

- Cant connect to a WPA 1 wireless network, using PSK passphrase.

This did not work in Alpha 1 or in Alpha 2.

- However using Puppy 2.17 it works like a clock and connects without anyproblem.

My access point is a Proxim Ap-2500M. Standard product when building large wireless networks (mesh).

Best regards,
Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 26 Mar 2008, 14:58    Post subject: Adding syndaemon and synclient  

Not directly a bug report but a request to add this support in order to better control the synaptics driver, f.e. to disable completely the touch pad.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 23:16    Post subject:  

EDIT - Ignore - that doesn't seem to be what fixed it after all...
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2008, 06:52    Post subject: Re: Connecting to wireless network using Dingo
Subject description: WPA 1 using PSK passphrase
 

divisionmd wrote:
Hello,

Dont know if this bug is already reported in.

- Cant connect to a WPA 1 wireless network, using PSK passphrase.

This did not work in Alpha 1 or in Alpha 2.

- However using Puppy 2.17 it works like a clock and connects without anyproblem.

My access point is a Proxim Ap-2500M. Standard product when building large wireless networks (mesh).

Best regards,
Johan

Yes this IS already known but it is hardware dependent, and is why Barry is abandonning the latest kernel which has "retired" certain Modules and replaced them. For example IPW3945 was replaced by IPL3945 which has WEP but not WPA encryption.

I don't know about your specific hardware (forum member Tempestuous will be able to help with that if you get really stuck), but you could try one of the "Retro kernel" versions of Dingo and see if that cures your problem.

I believe that the first Beta is due over the weekend and will be on the retro kernel, so you could try that out when it is launched.

Good luck.

_________________
Nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2008, 07:50    Post subject:  

What level of hardware is Puppy compiled for now?
I copied my main (non-Dingo) setup onto an older PC with a 350Mhz Pentium 2 processor. This setup has the Dingo Mplayer and ffmpeg packages installed. Mplayer crashes with
Code:
MPlayer interrupted by signal 4 in module: unknown
- MPlayer crashed by an 'Illegal Instruction'.
  It usually happens when you run it on a CPU different than the one it was
  compiled/optimized for.
  Verify this!
- MPlayer crashed by bad usage of CPU/FPU/RAM.
  Recompile MPlayer with --enable-debug and make a 'gdb' backtrace and
  disassembly. Details in DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports_what.html#bugreports_crash.
- MPlayer crashed. This shouldn't happen.
  It can be a bug in the MPlayer code _or_ in your drivers _or_ in your
  gcc version. If you think it's MPlayer's fault, please read
  DOCS/HTML/en/bugreports.html and follow the instructions there. We can't and
  won't help unless you provide this information when reporting a possible bug.

I hope xine/gxine in Dingo doesn't have the same problem!
Also, I could have sworn I saw a page on puppylinux.com where Barry explained how he compiled Mplayer with shared ffmpeg, but I can't for the life of me find it now. Maybe it was on the forum and was someone else, but all I can find now is one little part on the puppy-from-scratch page. Does anyone know where to find this information?... because I could never find it anywhere else. If I remember correctly, using shared ffmpeg isn't "supported" anymore, but it's worked perfectly for everything on my other machine for months now.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2008, 08:55    Post subject:  

A week ago (bit of a time lag here!) I used to Petget package manager to download and install the GIMP 2.4.0-rc3 package. It was supposed to be a 16MB download, but only 6MB downloaded. I let it install, but got a list of missing dependencies that went off the bottom of the screen- presumably the missing 10MB?

So I suppose Dingo is ok- the bug must be in the PET package? Or is it fixed already?

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Joshas

Joined: 21 Jan 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2008, 10:53    Post subject:  

Not sure if this counts as a real bug, but I have problem with Xorg locking up on hardware probing, while running Puppy in QEMU. Xvesa works correctly. Any way to debug it? Tried using loglevel=7, but as far as I see it worked only until video selection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2008, 19:53    Post subject:  

Full HD install. en_GB, UK keyboard configured.

Keyboard oddity:
keys do not "repeat" & I have to press a key repeatedly to get repeated characters.

Esoteric keyboard oddity:
When running x11vnc from an Acer 5610 laptop to the HD dingo, the keymapping is incorrect as I cannot obtain a "pipe" sign or a "Pound sterling" sign (latter produces just "3" , former produces backslash -- i.e. they aren't "shifted") ; Key repeats however work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
capoverde


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 233
Location: Sanremo (Italy) with fine seaview

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2008, 04:32    Post subject: Double file entries.  

With alpha7, when saving or loading a file from an application, sometimes all file entries appear twice in the file selector window. This gets back to normal by going to the "parent" directory then re-entering the "child".

Found no other report of this, and it seems odd. Is it happening only to me?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2008, 11:24    Post subject:  

disciple wrote:
Also, I could have sworn I saw a page on puppylinux.com where Barry explained how he compiled Mplayer with shared ffmpeg, but I can't for the life of me find it now. Maybe it was on the forum and was someone else, but all I can find now is one little part on the puppy-from-scratch page. Does anyone know where to find this information?... because I could never find it anywhere else. If I remember correctly, using shared ffmpeg isn't "supported" anymore, but it's worked perfectly for everything on my other machine for months now.

Yes, I remember posting it somewhere. It isn't in my blog, so it must have been the forum.
I got it to compile in the T2 project, and if you download the package that I placed on ibiblio ...somewhere... its about 600MB I think, open that up and look in the there you will find the information, but it does need a bit of familiarity with T2 to be able to extract the info you need.

Hmm, I should be a bit more helpful than that. I have looked in the T2, got out the relevant file, mplayer.conf. Some of the relevant stuff in it:

# BK...
var_append confopt " " " --enable-menu \
--with-extraincdir=/usr/include/libpng \
--enable-fbdev --enable-largefiles"

# TODO: used system avformat and postprocess ... BK...
pkginstalled ffmpeg && var_append confopt " " "--disable-libavcodec_a --disable-libavformat_a --disable-libavutil_a --disable-libpostproc_a"
pkginstalled xmms && var_append confopt " " "--enable-xmms"
pkginstalled xmms && var_append confopt " " "--with-xmmslibdir=`pkgprefix libdir xmms`"
pkginstalled directfb && var_append confopt " " "--enable-directfb"
var_append confopt " " "--enable-tv-v4l1 --enable-tv-v4l2"

If I recall right, those options in bold are the key. They disable mplayer's inbuilt libs and cause to use the system ffmpeg libs, which must already be installed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2008, 19:37    Post subject: Pxset
Subject description: May be a replacement for gxset
 

Hi to all

I have been trying to make a replacement for gxset. This time I may have made enough headway for it to be at least a working start. There is one problem, with gxset still installed it will reset the xsetting on each reboot. But I have been able to reset most of the setting untill I reboot. I had it to where it would reopen the main window but the same line of code all at once stopped working. I will try and find out why.

Berry I hope this will work as a replacement for gxset and mite make it into puppylinux.

So please someone give it a try and give me some feed back.
Pxset02.tar.gz
Description  Pxset replacement
gz

 Download 
Filename  Pxset02.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.6 KB 
Downloaded  408 Time(s) 

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2008, 06:08    Post subject:  

Thanks, Barry...

I'm using Puppy 3.96, but plan to burn 4.00.BETA.

I just did both Full and Frugal installs on a
1997 Gateway 2000, Pentium MMX 200 MHz, 64 MB, 2 GB.
(The local 12 MAR 2008 ad said: FREE GATEWAY COMPUTER
with monitor and keyboard. As is.)
I'm using the Full installation ATM to compose this.

1. Please: Could NEWGRUBTEXT be put in the
Frugal install directory?

2. When unused, but running, Puppy seems to be accessing the HD
every few seconds. This is very bad for HD longevity.

Could the HD be left alone, not accessed,
and Powered Down, please,
when Puppy is unused, but running,
for minutes/hours/days at a time?

The screen blanks after the 12 minutes I selected in the BIOS Setup,
but the HD stays active.

3. Very much need a way to access WebDAV directories/"Folders".
I do not know what options you have, but providing an
Official PET of "cadaver" might help for now:
http://webdav.org/cadaver/

Thank you, and the all volunteer crew, very much,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2008, 07:00    Post subject:  

wingruntled wrote:
Mr. Barry
Not only are ALL ports open on your home (personal) system but you have left everybody running Puppy WIDE open.

I missed this post earlier, prehistoric has communicated with wingruntled and it seems that that issue is I was running the Ayttm IRC client without a firewall. My apologies, it wasn't for very long. In future I'll be extra careful to put up the firewall first before going online.
I'm always building new Puppy systems, so it's an extra step I'll have to discipline myself to do.
To others reading this, having visible ports does not mean that I can be compromised. But it is better to be hidden.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2008, 16:27    Post subject: mount: unknown filesystem type 'davfs'  

Using Puppy 3.96:

# cd /
# cd mnt
# mkdir dav0
# mount -t davfs "http://..." dav0
mount: unknown filesystem type 'davfs'

Barry, I need webDAV access. So, can this be fixed, please?

An official PET of "cadaver", as mentioned before, would also be nice, for flexibility, but, fixing "mount -t davfs" is a "must". Ok?

Thanks very much,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2008, 21:41    Post subject:  

Thanks for that mplayer information Barry.

Does anybody know if there is a good reason for the userChrome.css hack that prevents the Seamonkey gui from obeying GTK font settings? Because if I remove it, then Seamonkey still appears to work fine, and it actually matches everything else (except JWM - I changed the font preferences in every config file I could find, and it still doesn't work:cry: Rolling Eyes )

Now if only I could fix a couple of the other annoying things about seamonkey...

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1148s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0365s) ][ GZIP on ]