Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 23:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Grub4DosConfig
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 23 [333 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4108
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 05:13    Post subject: Drive 1 is dead. Can GRUB4DOS bail me out?  

I've lost the 1st (main) HDD on a 2 HDD system.
Tthe system has always been a MS configured system with an XP built MBR. All HDDs and I/O devices are IDE class.

Drive 1 - The main drive's MBR pointed to Partition 1 (a hidden parttiton) containing a samll Windows bootable backup partiton with the PC's boot.ini file for all bootable OS. Now that this drive1 is dead, theere is no valid MBR + boot.ini to get the system booted.

Drive 2 is a larger drive with freespace (enough to accommodate all of drive 1's partitions). And drive 2 has all of the running OSes in their own partitions here.

The way the system used to work before drive 1 crashed, today, is the system would boot, the boot.ini on drive 1-partition 1 would be invoked and the MS Boot Manager would display. If no selection was made, the system would proceed to boot a Windows which physically is on drive 2.

Here's my question as I think GRUB4DOS may be a blessing in this situation. Assuming I remove Drive 1 from the system.
  • Can I use GRUB4DOS, either via your CD or via a boot diskette to start the OS on the remaining system drive (drive2)?
  • Can I instruct GRUB4DOS to search the remaining drives for OSs? I know I can use a running QuickSEt to see the partitions by mounting drive2.
  • If I get QuickSet or GRUB4DOS diskette to get to the GRUB4DOS menu, can I hit esc, type "e" or "c" and enter a couple of commands to manually kick the system to boot? This assumes I know the partition number(s) I want to boot
    .
  • Do you have an example somewhere?
All OSs on the HDDs in this system are XP class OSes.

Thanks in advance for your insights

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 06:52    Post subject: Re: Drive 1 is dead. Can GRUB4DOS bail me out?  

gcmartin wrote:
[*]Can I instruct GRUB4DOS to search the remaining drives for OSs? I know I can use a running QuickSEt to see the partitions by mounting drive2.

Then, you cannot mount or look inside the drive1 now, right?

If so, remove the drive 1 and set the drive 2 as the master.
Then run some live CD which contains the Grub4Dos (most of all Puppy 5.x).
Run the Grub4Dos config and reply 'OK' for all the dialog. That is all.

If you can mount the drive1 and look inside the partitions, there is a chance to rescue it with the LupQ-511 live CD or Wary-500m06.
wary_boot.png
 Description   If you can mount the drive1 and look inside the partiton, the LupQ-511 live CD or Wary-500m05 may be able to boot up the Windows.
 Filesize   6.97 KB
 Viewed   1673 Time(s)

wary_boot.png


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4108
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 16:02    Post subject:  

Double post: User (me) error.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Wed 02 Feb 2011, 18:24; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4108
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 17:48    Post subject: Re: Drive 1 is dead. Can GRUB4DOS bail me out?  

shinobar wrote:
Then, you cannot mount or look inside the drive1 now, right?
Correct. The drive is dead and removed from the PC.
shinobar wrote:
If so, remove the drive 1 and set the drive 2 as the master. Then run some live CD which contains the Grub4Dos (most of all Puppy 5.x). Run the Grub4Dos config and reply 'OK' for all the dialog. That is all. ...
By doing this, it wil install GRUB$DOS onto the existing harddrive, Right? Why is there a need to do this if I just use the startup QuicSET LiveCD wiich has an operational running GRUB4DOS all ready when started. Is this a reasonalble approach or am I missing something?

P.S. @Shinobar, See your PM

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 20:42    Post subject: Re: Drive 1 is dead. Can GRUB4DOS bail me out?  

gcmartin wrote:
shinobar wrote:
If so, remove the drive 1 and set the drive 2 as the master. Then run some live CD which contains the Grub4Dos (most of all Puppy 5.x). Run the Grub4Dos config and reply 'OK' for all the dialog. That is all. ...
By doing this, it wil install GRUB4DOS onto the existing harddrive, Right? Why is there a need to do this if I just use the startup QuicSET LiveCD wiich has an operational running GRUB4DOS all ready when started. Is this a reasonalble approach or am I missing something?

Why not install new gurub4dos on the new HDD? It must be easier.

Well, all the files which was on the damaged HDD is backed up on the new HDD?
If so, the Quickset Live CD can directly boot up the windows.

The new quickset, multilingual wary-500m06 Live CD can boot up also another OS if there used be installed any of grub(legacy, grub4dos or grub2).
But you get success only if the partition layout is the same as before. Otherwise, you need to edit the old menu.list.
Grub4Dos and grub2 can manage the partition UID's. If the old system was using the partition UID, using the old menu.list must fail because the partition UID must be different from the old ones.

If you install new gurub4dos, the correction is made automatically.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 22:02    Post subject: Grub4DosConfig v1.7  

UPDATE: Grub4DosConfig v1.7
# 10feb11 v1.7: sort the probepart result, install on internal or removable drives, fix typo at checking boot_part

Must be more stable Wink

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5000
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 03:06    Post subject:  

I am not seeing V1.7 on the download site.
http://182.164.208.91/puppy/pup4/opt/pets/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 03:25    Post subject: Downloads  

[quote="bigpup"]I am not seeing V1.7 on the download site.
Ops, sorry. Now it is there:
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5000
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 14:56    Post subject:  

Not sure if you know about this:
Grub24dos
http://grub24dos.sourceforge.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 15:55    Post subject:  

BigPup that was a good find. Hope someone do a pet or sfs of that one.

They tell so little but the good thing would be that one get the features of grub2 in a well known grub4dos format of how to set it all up?

Thanks indeed for telling us. I longed for something this for a long time but I know too little to handle scripts.

here is a link to screenshots of how it works?
http://sourceforge.net/project/screenshots.php?group_id=379924

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 15 Feb 2011, 19:10    Post subject: Grub24dos  

bigpup wrote:
Not sure if you know about this:
Grub24dos
http://grub24dos.sourceforge.net/

Thanks bigpup for the interesting information.

It is quite interesting, seems sophiscated and so large (same as the original grub2 it self) that i do not follow up for now.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5000
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Mar 2011, 00:05    Post subject:  

Hope you are safe!!!!!

Could this be done with Grub4dos?
How to give your Grub menu a password
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58860
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2598
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 22 Mar 2011, 21:42    Post subject: How to give your Grub menu a password  

Thanks bigpup, me and my family are all safe and fine.
bigpup wrote:
How to give your Grub menu a password

Grub4Dos config > Grub4Dos Guide > Password Protecting Boot Options

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4108
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 21:06    Post subject:  

Are there any similar instructions for GRUB4DOS to boot an ISO?

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4108
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 28 Apr 2011, 21:08    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Are there any similar instructions for GRUB4DOS to boot an ISO?
Is there a GRUB4DOS config that can be posted?

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 23 [333 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1232s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0437s) ][ GZIP on ]