Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 02:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary and Racy 5.3 final
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 05:50    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
aarf wrote:
seamonkey already running but not in lxtask or pprocess so i cant kill it. not in bottom tray. reboot, run seamonkey in terminal, gives same message.


Yes your not the first nor the last to experience this mystery.
I've had it too and also with Firefox and it is very annoying.

Sadly I don't remember if somebody came up with a solution.
We talked about it in threads some time ago.

Maybe the search engine in my signature can find these and
see if anybody know the easiest way to get it going when it lock up.

You knowing linux way better than me maybe can get a hang
on what is needed based on all the reports about it. I am too lazy
and not bright enough to get what is going on. I solved it by using
Opera each time that it happens Smile


Did you try

# killall seamonkey-bin

in a terminal

And maybe also this for recent SeaMonkeys:

# killall plugin-container

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 20:04    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
devil os !

while make snapmergepuppy is running

Code:
# diff /initrd/pup_ro2/sbin/pup_event_frontend_d /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d
783c783
<  [ "`echo "$RUNPS" | grep -E 'xorriso|xorrecord|xine|petget|wget|axel|dotpup|mplayer|gcurl|gimv|burniso2cd|growisofs|cdrecord|pcdripper|xfmedia|xmms|ripoff|pdvdrsab|pburn|mhwaveedit|installpkg\.sh|downloadpkgs\.sh|removepreview\.sh'`" != "" ] && continue
---
>  [ "`echo "$RUNPS" | grep -E 'make|gcc|cc|cmake|imake|xorriso|xorrecord|xine|petget|wget|axel|dotpup|mplayer|gcurl|gimv|burniso2cd|growisofs|cdrecord|pcdripper|xfmedia|xmms|ripoff|pdvdrsab|pburn|mhwaveedit|installpkg\.sh|downloadpkgs\.sh|removepreview\.sh'`" != "" ] && continue


OK, I have added "make|cc|new2dir|".

That also catches "cmake", "gcc", etc.

The potential problem is that it will also catch any other application with those strings in the name.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 20:14    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
The corner tags appeared again, now seems to trace them back to

/root/.jwm/themes/DeepBlueBold-jwmrc :

Code:
# diff /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.jwm/themes/DeepBlueBold-jwmrc /root/.jwm/themes/DeepBlueBold-jwmrc
10d9
<        <Corner>#4A5966</Corner>
16d14
<        <Corner>#DCDAD5</Corner>


The new theme seems to be the only one in /root/.jwm/themes/ directory that still have them . Could not find them in the older theme-jwmrc files or they are commented out .


Thanks, I have updated the PET, it will now be 'jwm_theme_deepbluebold-1-1.pet', when it is uploaded.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 21:01    Post subject: Re: /usr/sbin/shutdownconfig  

rodin.s wrote:
In script /usr/sbin/shutdownconfig some gettext should be added to line 629:
Code:
pupdialog --background '#FFFF80' --colors --title "$T_canceltitle" --backtitle "$T_title" --timeout 240 --countdown "$T_countdown" --extra-button --ok-label "$(gettext 'SAVE TO FILE')"  --extra-label "$(gettext 'SAVE TO CD')" --cancel-label "$T_notsave" --yesno "$yesno" 0 0 >/dev/console


Thanks. I also found two lines above that needed the --no-label added.
Fix will be in next Woof commit.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 11 May 2012, 23:04    Post subject: Re: unrar?
Subject description: capability to unrar files in Racy 5.3?
 

kommisar wrote:
I can't seem to unrar some archive using the "zip" icon on the desktop. The application apparently doesn't work with rar files. Is there any easy way to add this functionality to Racy 5.3?


Thanks for reminding me about this. Fixed, see my blog post:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02828

if you want to apply the fix to your current Puppy, grab the new /usr/local/bin/pupzip out of the online Woof repository, and install the 'unrar' PET.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2012, 04:38    Post subject:
Subject description: Wallpaper Setter alters images
 

vtpup wrote:
It looks like the new Puppy wallpaper setter actually alters image files in /Usr/share/backgrounds/.

I put an image in there, and running the wallpaper setter actually cropped the image and saved the new file over the old one!


The original image is still there, in /usr/share/backgrounds_original.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2012, 05:07    Post subject: Re: remaster and remove builtin packages  

scsijon wrote:
Have found two / three problems.

Remaster needs updating (thanks to mick) http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=623475#623475


Thanks, fixed:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02829

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2012, 05:09    Post subject: Re: remaster and remove builtin packages  

scsijon wrote:
And a newly found one is that the default /root/.packages/woof-installed-packages has the DEV packages listed. Means they don't appear in PPM with the extra boxes ticked, even though not installed, so you can't install them from it.


That's because they are in the 'devx' sfs file, so don't need to be installed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2012, 17:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
The potential problem is that it will also catch any other application with those strings in the name.


grep -w option might be of interest .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 12 May 2012, 22:18    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
Quote:
The potential problem is that it will also catch any other application with those strings in the name.


grep -w option might be of interest .


Ahem, yes, of course. Embarassed Done.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 13 May 2012, 05:43    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:


Did you try

# killall seamonkey-bin

in a terminal

And maybe also this for recent SeaMonkeys:

# killall plugin-container

Thanks Barry,
I did try killall firefox and killall firefox-bin

but did not know of
# killall plugin-container

So I will add that to my toolbox of fixes. Smile Much appreciated you cared.
This error has not happen laterst weeks so not sure what that means.
But good to know there is something one can try. it is annoying when
it does happen and one find no way to get FF going.

I trust it is the seam monkey thing that makes me refuse to use Wary or Racy. No offense just a personal quirk I have. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shariebeth

Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 271
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 09:06    Post subject: included rtl8192cu driver did not work properly  

Love Racy. It's like a modern 431.

A problem I had and solution:
(frugal install)

I use a wireless dongle with the rtl8188cus chip, which uses the rtl8192cu driver. However the rtl8192cu driver included in Racy would not connect. So following advice, I downloaded and installed the newest driver directly from the Realtek site, compiled it, and installed it with success.
(You can see my progress here if interested: http://puppylinux.info/topic/racy-53-kernel-3025-rtl8192cu-driver-needed )

Steps:
Installed:
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/racy-5.3/devx_racy_5.3.sfs
http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/sfs/kernel_src-3.0.25-patched.sfs
Typed bootmanager into terminal and moved these two sfs files "over to the right".

Downloaded:
This linux driver version 3.4.2_3727 from here:
http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/downloadsView.aspx?Langid=1&PFid=48&Level=5&Conn=4&ProdID=274&DownTypeID=3&GetDown=false&Downloads=true#2772

Note the installer included did not work for me, but cd'ing directly into the /root/my-documents/RTL8188C_8192C_8192D_USB_linux_v3.4.2_3727.20120404/driver/rtl8188C_8192C_8192D_usb_linux_v3.4.2_3727.20120404/ directory where it was downloaded to then running make and make install from there worked a charm.

It installed into /lib/modules/3.0.25/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/8192cu.ko (which is a different path than the original rtl8192cu driver was in, which is curious to me).

A side note, my WPA2 key does not save in the SNS for some reason upon reboot. The profile is saved but it's not connecting. It does connect when I re-enter it though. Will need to look into that next.

edit: Also sorry if it's my post that messed up the thread format but I can't seem to fix it. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2012, 10:20    Post subject: Re: thread format  

shariebeth wrote:
...
edit: Also sorry if it's my post that messed up the thread format but I can't seem to fix it. Embarassed

It is not your post, see: starting page with your post
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 759
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 11:58    Post subject: Racy/Wary: Upgrade glibc/gcc  

Last year Barry discussed the possibility of upgrading the versions of glibc and gcc in Wary/Racy:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02372

At that time he decided to stick with the existing versions and I supported this view because of the risk of breaking older programs. However, things have moved on. I think it is now time to reconsider because Lucid and Precise have later versions and some recent programs now require them.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 167
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 May 2012, 12:48    Post subject: urxvt: dmesg
Subject description: last line shows a 'segfault' error
 

I have tried different puppy versions on my 32-bit PC's and keep getting the same error:

'segfault'

as last line of urxvt: dmesg
urxvt_dmesg shows a segfault.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  urxvt_dmesg shows a segfault.png 
Filesize  79.1 KB 
Downloaded  268 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1006s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]